Reviews For The Vanguard
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: 4dogshome Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/13/2015 6:49 PM Title: The Continuing Voyages

Wow!  Amazing trilogy!  This SO needs to be a series of movies, or better yet, a mini series on HBO, with sexy times included!  Thanks for your on-spot characters; so many people tend to do the newer Kirk/Spock as rather silly and juvenile. Pretty sure that wouldn't fly very well in almost any universe. And thank you for a most pleasant weekend's reading! 



Author's Response:

Hi!  I'm sorry it took so long for me to reply-thank you so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm so happy that you enjoyed it, and your comments made my day!  I was going for the on-screen feeling and I'm glad it took you there!  :)  -Cate

Reviewer: ayameshimitsu Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2014 3:58 PM Title: A Broken Link, And A Mind Remade

So I managed to finish all three stories in 2 days. I have forgone sleep and food to finish the trilogy. It was really good.  The writing was excellent. I semi disagreed with McCoy's almost accusing and slightly over the top personality then I remembered this was the ne mcCoy and not the older one. The new one alays seems angry if you ask me. Oh well. I hope you write more stories in the future.



Author's Response:

Wow!  Thanks so much for your interest!  I'm glad you enjoyed the trilogy!  Yes, TOS Bones and Nu!Bones seem to be somewhat different, and you did indeed pick up on that, although I would agree that Bones did seem (especially in parts one and two) to be very accusing and negative towards Spock.  Hopefully, he redeemed himself in part three!  Thank you so much for reading and reviewing, and I've got a new story in progress and posting right now!  -C

Reviewer: The Sherlockian Vulcan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2014 1:03 AM Title: The Continuing Voyages

These stories are absolutely amazing! Fast paced and exciting pieces that are beautifully written! I hope you plan on writing something like this again soon because this was sinply amazing!!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and for your kind review!  I had so much fun writing this trilogy, and I would love to try something just as sweeping again as soon as inspiration hits!  So happy you enjoyed it!  -C  

Reviewer: ghost5576 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2014 2:20 PM Title: The Continuing Voyages

Thank you so much for sharing the amazing gift you have for words and story and characters. I find myself completely in love with all of it ... and probably with you, too, at this point.  I read quite a lot of fanfiction but I have to say that yours is some of the best I've ever read, in any fandom. The sheer brilliance of the plot you can weave is astounding...and you give good characterization, too. You really are amazing. The whole story is brilliant, but there's one line that I adore above all others-"As he slowly slipped into sleep, listening to his mate’s gentle breathing and feeling the bondspace expand and embrace their minds, he considered that a ‘defining’ friendship was the most brilliant understatement he’d ever heard.".  This one got me...tears, laughter, all of it.  It's a great example of just how gifted you are.  Thank you for sharing that with us.  I look forward to reading anything you write in the future.  And if you ever go pro (you're beyond good enough for that), let us know.  I'll be first in line to buy your novels.



Author's Response:

Thank you so very much!  Your words are so kind, and made me smile!  This story (and the two others in this trilogy) were especially fun to write, and I really felt deeply about the characters (even the "bad" guys!).  I've begun to think of trying my hand at writing "in real life", and your lovely comments do bolster my confidence.  Maybe I'll give it a try.  In any case, I will let you know.  Thank you again for your review, and for taking the time to read my stories!  -C

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2014 3:29 PM Title: The Continuing Voyages

Very fine. I love it. ;-)

Author's Response:

Vielen Dank!  And I dare not go beyond that with the online translator.  :)  -C

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/05/2014 1:21 AM Title: The Continuing Voyages

I'm so so so so so so sad to see it end, but, my heart feels warm and fullfilled after reading it. Amazing amazing job! God I love everything you write!! I cannot wait to see your next fic, because let's be real here...you'll have one pretty soon....right? hahahaha



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing, as always!  In fact, I am working on something right now, and am trying to feel it out as it goes.  It's kind of hard to intersperse a planetary invasion with a burgeoning romance!  :)  Heh.  Anyway, I'm so glad you enjoyed this one.  I'm working on making them longer-I think I'm a little impatient myself.  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2014 1:27 AM Title: I Will Follow You Into The Dark

I'm reading the last three chapters in one go, but I still want to comment on each one as I read it. This one is again full of unexpected turns (like the revelation that Sarhen is Siforit's and Karik's father) - which in a lesser writer might disturb the reader's suspension of disbelieve - and stunningly graphic descriptions that make us shout: a movie, yeah! (One for all: Jim turning and catching between the surrounding bodies just a glimps of Spock's eyes). I much like the scene between Sarek and Brisker, his inability to see beyond his grief the possibility to still snatch them back to life and her doing it in his stead...and more than anything I liked his humble realisation that "perhaps she was right" in accusing him of not knowing Spock and his bondmate at all.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your comments.  The introduction of Sarhen as Siforit's (and Karik's) father was done after a lot of thought, and I was worried that it might seem a little too (in Jim's words) convenient.  However, I had always considered the RSV to be a very family-run business; with the limited numbers, and the migratory living arrangments, it seemed as if a family structure (and family feuds) would be important.  And Siforit and Karik were in positions of high influence within the organization, so it would make sense that their father would be as well.  Also, to be in a position to come forward and broker peace after the complete breakdown of their hopes and dreams would take some degree of humility and introspection, and an adherence to a code of honor that seemed to be somewhat lacking in some of the other RSV soldiers we've encountered.  So, such qualities would probably have been taught to Siforit by someone else, such as his father.

Additionally, I thought that the inclusion of Sarhen here would be an interesting counterpoint to Sarek.  Sarhen having recently faced the collapse of his family and organization, and Sarek facing his own internal collapse, and then, immediately, the potential loss of his own son.  Both are having to face weaknesses in themselves (ambition and some degree of arrogance in Sarhen, and failure to contend with grief for Sarek), and both are having to face difficult situations for the sake of thier people.  My regret here is that I couldn't expand on this more, but given the focus on Jim and Spock's relationship, I thought that doing so would be considered a tangent.

I'm glad you enjoyed this chapter.  Thanks for reading!  -C 

Reviewer: imho Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2014 12:58 AM Title: The Continuing Voyages

BRAVO! take a bow :)



Author's Response:

Hehe.  *bows*  *blushes*  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm so glad you liked it!  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 8:25 PM Title: The Continuing Voyages

"Wonderful, wonderful, it's so wonderful" [as sung by Johnny Mathis :) ] I am so going to miss this and the anticipation / little thrill I got from each update. THANK YOU!



Author's Response:

I was so happy to have your thoughtful reviews of each chapter, and I'm so glad you enjoyed it!  I will miss this "universe", too.  Thanks so much for being a faithful and supportive reader.  See you next time!  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 7:49 PM Title: Brave New World

I CANNOT imagine how you wrote this chapter, it so emotioanlly dense, by the end it must've been draining (in a good way). Every piece of it is great, you nicely dealt with a lot of the threads, the ending is perfect, but my favorite line is the myriad feelings that go into this line "Please talk to me.  I need you."



Author's Response:

It underwent a lot of revision-there was a lot of complexity that needed to be addressed, and I didn't want to rush anything.  It was a bit draining, actually, but, like you say, in a very good way.  I also wanted to bring in some of the lines from "NWS", and to move into the final section with a sense of completion.  I'm glad you enjoyed it!  Thanks for reading and for your thoughtful reviews!  -C

Reviewer: riekel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 6:59 AM Title: The Continuing Voyages

It's been a fantastic ride! Thank you so much for sharing and I hope to see more of your stories soon!



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and reviewing!  I'm getting some thoughts together for another story as I write this!  See you next time!  -C

Reviewer: DivaPammy Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 3:23 AM Title: The Continuing Voyages

Perfect! Absolutely perfect! I have enjoyed this entire trilogy of yours so much! You took us through a journey of self discovery for so many people. Spock and Jim. McCoy and his friends relationship. Spock and Sarek and dealing with the loss of Amanda.

With each crossroad you brought them to, you gave then a choice to turn. And we all cheered and cried and screamed for them to make the right choice. 

And we cheered and cried and screamed with you, for you and yes even AT you through out the entire journey. 

Thank you for sharing your gift with us. It has been amazing and agonizing and tremendous fun! I have loved each moment. Each kiss. Each freaking cliff hanger. 

Lord Jesus in a tu-tu! I am already missing this!



Author's Response:

I am just getting such a kick out of your review!  Thanks so much for reading and for your comments.  I'm so happy that you enjoyed all three stories and that they flowed well.  I am smiling so much right now!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 12:07 AM Title: The Continuing Voyages

This was such a wonderful ending!  I enjoyed reading each and every chapter so much.  :)



Author's Response:

Yay!  Thanks so much for reading, and for your reviews of every chapter!!  I really appreciated each and every one!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 12:05 AM Title: Brave New World

This chapter was so warm and loving.  :)  It's beautiful the way Spock and Jim's love for each other just pours out and it's like I can really feel it.



Author's Response:

I really enjoyed writing this chapter.  I felt like they deserved it, and readers did, too!  :)  A lot of this series involved stolen moments, or rushed or intense conversations in the middle of action and danger, and I wanted to slow it down, finally.  Thanks for reading!  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 7:58 PM Title: I Will Follow You Into The Dark

Another action packed chapter where I'm just "wow" and "whoa" at the end! So much to it - I think mainly I like forceful Spock and we're finally seeing true Jim devotion, but also that Jim-ness, I think you alluded to it a few chapters back, that has determination to survive together and to get them through it. Spock is great at self-sacrificing and getting Jim to safety, but Jim will die if he has to, but would prefer for both of them to live - that's my take on his development. He still has all the wonder and bravado of young Jim, I've always felt he was a responsible captain, but now has a lot more maturity that comes w/being truly devoted to someone.

On another note, I really like your OCs - the villains are multifaceted and different types, not caricatures. And there are other good, decent people of different species and genders out there. I wasn't sure where you going to Brisker but I'm glad she turned out to be a good guy :)



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your comments!  Yeah, Spock had had about enough at that point.  :)  I'm glad the character development of Jim is coming through.  I tried to build on it over the entire trilogy, and now, you're right, the maturity that comes with this kind of relationship is being seen.  Thanks for reading!  -C

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 7:08 PM Title: A Broken Link, And A Mind Remade

ummm....I meant to say Death Cab for THE Cutie...God how embarrasing.



Author's Response:

Haha!  Pretty sure it's Death Cab for Cutie, but iTunes will find it either way.  :)  -C

Reviewer: riekel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 2:13 PM Title: Brave New World

So, fluff and domesticity after the ordeal? Hell yeah, they deserve it! You write fluff just as well as action ;)



Author's Response:

Well, I figured that they (and the readers) had been through quite enough already.  :)  Glad you enjoyed it.  Thanks for reading and reviewing, as always!  -C

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2014 10:40 AM Title: A Broken Link, And A Mind Remade

Love death cab for a cutie :) Glad to know I'm not the only one who names chapters after songs ahahaha. That's one thing us fan fic authors get to do that published ones dont, and thats name our shit after songs hahahaha. This chapter, as always, was amazing. And, I absolutely LOOOVE how long it is. I'm a huge sucker for long fics, especially when they are as well-written as yours. Every chapter keeps me on the edge of my seat and keeps me coming back for more. *bows down* how may I serve you almighty one!



Author's Response:

Yes, sometimes certain chapters are just perfectly fit by a song, or a lyric, and I do like the kind of flexibility that allows us to express that.  I always worry with a longer fic that readers might lose interest, but I hope this one had enough excitement to get everyone through.  Maybe I'll even try for longer next time, but it's hard to keep up with the one post per day rate.  Whew!

Hmmm...how to serve?  I'll never say no to a diet coke.  :)  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C 

Reviewer: riekel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2014 6:20 PM Title: I Will Follow You Into The Dark

Well, that was great, so intense, so fast, so much action! Even Jim has to bite his tongue when Spock is really angry :D And oh, I love it, Jim saved Spock again (because Spock saves the day almost always, so it's nice to see him being saved for a change). I very much enjoy your perception of Jim - his stubbornness, determination, bravery and maturity. Honestly, I don't know why so many authors portray him as a manchild, he is anything but or he couldn't have been a captain. Maybe it's because of the way he's shown in the Reboot movies, but in STID he did began to grow up. And I believe that a logical development for his character is just as you describe him - a reliable leader with boyish charm - like TOS Kirk.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your comments.  I did want to try to bridge the gap a bit between the Jim of the Reboot movies (especially STID) and TOS Jim-glad it seemed to work out.  It was about time for Jim to do some saving.  :)  Thanks for reading!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/30/2014 3:16 PM Title: I Will Follow You Into The Dark

Oh wow, I didn't realize I was holding my breath until the end when I let my breath out!  Excellent chapter!



Author's Response:

Breathe, breathe!  :)  Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  -C

You must login (register) to review.