Reviews For Key Holder
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2017 2:17 AM Title: Chapter 1

I just read this tonight after KiScon as I found your comments quite insightful.  It was very interesting.  Not necessarily what I normally read but the dynamic was quite interesting.  I'll be back for more. 



Author's Response:

Thanks!

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2014 8:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

So anders,

so gut,

danke

einfach toll!



Author's Response:

danke!

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/04/2014 3:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

Ich würde  sooo gerne mehr von dir lesen!

Die 4 Geschichten sind einfach nicht genug.

Bitte mehr, du gibst mir mit deiner Fantasie und Schreibstil eine so gute Zeit und schenkst Erholung und Freude.

Ich danke dir

 

Ulla



Author's Response:

Danke! Es wird mehr sein. :)

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/23/2014 4:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

Toll!

 

Danke



Author's Response:

danke!

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2014 5:33 PM Title: Chapter 1

I echo the reviewers with the praise for a different approach. I'm not 100% sure that Starfleet would have allowed somebody as messed up about women as this Kirk to command a starship, but that's the fun of fan fiction; you can push the boundaries. Nice job.



Author's Response:

Thank you! :)

I like to think that most of his problems around women are internalized and are more about his own identity than theirs. There is some definite objectification going on here with his use of them, but I don't see his treatment of them (one night stands) as being much different than many of the women I knew in high school and college. I think a lot of people are just like that about sex. :- I also like to think it wouldn't effect his interactions with women on a professional level, and that his weird sex/gender issues are relatively compartmentalized.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2014 2:15 PM Title: Chapter 1

Really interesting concept, well executed. Still wondering what you think tantra is. ;) It's a different take on the whole Lester thing too, but it works for this story.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your comment! :) I really enjoyed trying to do something different. I am glad it more or less worked out.

 

As for tantra, I understand that a lot of it has to do with slowing things down, breathing in certain ways, etc. in order to have a closer connection during sex. I did try to do some research. Some of the sources link it to mysticism and it gets a little more new-agey seeming. Some sources it's just more about being more present in the moment. I have heard of tantric sexual massages which are meant to release repressed emotions, and was angling for that sort of experience here. I also did watch some tantric gay porn as 'research' (no, really! kind of...) for this to get some idea of what I was talking about. But admittedly, tantra is not really something I'm very well versed in, and I might be way off the mark and totally making things up. Thank god for the Vulcan aspect, so I can just hand wave it away. :)

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2014 9:33 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is lovely and well written; I always enjoy seeing Spock be wise and caring and loyal.  The anti-woman stuff disturbed me, but I'm assuming that this is part of the problem that Spock is helping Jim to be rid of.

I love this exchange; Kirk's final line is perfect:

“She made me... less than a man.”

 “Jim.” Spock nearly whispered, his voice an aural caress. “How could any being make you less?”

“In the same way that you make me more.”

 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing. I am glad you liked it! :) Those lines were some of my favourite to write as well.


As for the anti-woman stuff, I think that this particular incarnation of Jim, with his history of sexual abuse, just has a messed up kind of interaction with sex and gender in general. I think it would be pretty understandable that someone would get all kinds of weird problems and associations, although I cannot (thankfully) speak from experience. I imagine that by the end of the story Jim would already have a much healthier perspective on everything, but I also imagine it could take years to totally undo all of his neuroses.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2014 8:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

I also enjoyed this story. Love your explanation of t'hy'la. Well done.



Author's Response:

I am glad you liked it! :) I was a bit worried about this version of t'hy'la being a bit too "we're not really gay", but at the same time I wanted to walk that line of whether it is just homosexuality or could be something else entirely.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2014 9:44 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was a wonderful reading!....     Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thank you for your review!

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2014 6:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nice story with a different approach than I have previously seen to Kirk's incessant womanizing.  I liked it very well.



Author's Response:

Thank you for your review! I'm glad you liked it. When trying something new, I'm never sure how it's going to go.

You must login (register) to review.