Reviews For Angels and Demons
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: kitbaker123 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/28/2014 5:23 PM Title: Prologue

...And then I read this sequel.  More absolutely glorious writing.  I am pretty much lost for words! Thank you and, now.... I am going to read your latest!  It's quite thrilling, really, to read something so spellbinding and I thank you for that! :-)



Author's Response:

Thanks again for your lovely review!  I'm so glad you liked it and am working on another sequel.  Happy to have you reading!  :)  -C

Reviewer: 321liftoff Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2014 2:13 PM Title: Prologue

I just looked up the name 'Arredondo' and saw he was a peace activist. The irony is delicious, just like your stories. Thanks for the great writing!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and reviewing!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it!  -C

Reviewer: vixis Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2014 1:55 PM Title: Fearlessly

Definitely needs more!



Author's Response:

I hear you!  I wrote the first part without really thinking about a sequel until the very end, but I have to admit that a third part was on my mind for practically the entire process of part two.  Too much suspense?  We'll be heading out into unexplored space soon!  ;)  -C  

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/22/2014 8:53 PM Title: Prologue

Thanks so much for your explanation.  Makes perfect sense!  I will await part 3 with anticipation.

Reviewer: riekel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/22/2014 7:42 PM Title: Fearlessly

The recent few days were turbulent and I'm so glad to catch up and read the final chapters of this wonderful story. Yay, Bones, for being such a great friend. So happy that he accepted the bond at last against all odds And hope that Sarek will eventually too. You are definitely one of my favorite authors. you are just awesome. Please continue to write and yeah, can't wait for the third part!!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and for the reviews!  Third part is in the works!  -C

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/22/2014 2:28 PM Title: Fearlessly

Really great story, thank you for that.  I enjoyed it just like I enjoyed Part 1 and I sure hope a Part 3 is in the works.  Too many questions were left hanging.

Also, not sure what is going on with Sarek.  First he says this:

            The ambassador raised his chin slightly, “If such a scenario comes to pass, Captain, or if you find yourself of a mind to leave the Fleet for an alternative reason, I hope you will consider the possibility of a position in this office.  You are a citizen of New Vulcan and a member of my House, as a consequence of your bond with my son.  Your performance today indicates that you possess a certain degree of diplomatic skill.”

and then he proceeds to ignore them and continues to disapprove of the bond?  Got a little confused there, lol!  So, see?  That certainly needs clearing up!  ;)   I will look forward to the next segment or to any other story you write.  You are very talented.

Author's Response:

Yes, I can see how that would be confusing.  Here's what I was trying to have going on...Sarek initially did not approve, or even accept the bond, seeing it as yet another act of defiance by his son.  After he learned that they were t'hy'la, however, he did accept it as logical, and, as an extension of that reluctant acceptance, must acknowledge Jim as a member of his House and a New Vulcan citizen.  In this part, he still is hanging on that reluctant acceptance, but without approval; hence the avoidance of communication and the lack of a ceremony.  I though that this made sense, drawing on TOS Sarek's refusal to even speak to Spock for years, and that was over one perceived slight AND despite Amanda's influence.  But, he still wants to protect his son, and therefore the cryptic offer of a job to Jim, after Sarek hears whispers about higher-ups using the bond as an excuse to send Jim and Spock into harm's way.  He, in an obtuse way, wanted to assure Jim and Spock that they had other options besides just following possibly corrupt orders.  But, he will continue to avoid unnecessary communication or express any approval because he is "stubborn".  Too bad Amanda can't hit him over the head this time.  Anyway, that's what I was thinking.  :)  I am currently working on a third part where this, and the other loose ends will be resolved.  Thanks so much for the review and I'm so glad you enjoyed it!  -C

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2014 3:43 PM Title: Fearlessly

I have read your story breathless in one time. Very good. :-)

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading, and for the review!  So glad you liked it!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2014 5:27 AM Title: Fearlessly

I'm so glad that Jim and Bones finally had a talk and things to be in the clear between them and Spock.  Also, I love the blessing Scotty gave them.  Wonderful chapter!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and for the reviews!  I went looking for an appropriate Scottish blessing, and that one was perfect!  See you for part three...in the works. -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2014 1:40 AM Title: Fearlessly

Thank you so much for a better than good read! It is a perfect mixture of action plot and romance with just the right amount of hot erotic scenes, well timed, well balanced, thoroughly enjoyable. Taking advantage of the complexity of the characters and situations in Abrams' universe, this story has the flavour of TOS at its best with the addition of interestingly original new elements and characters.

I AM looking foreward to a third part and thank you for having been such a faithful updater!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and for the lovely reviews.  Third part is in the works!  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2014 1:47 AM Title: Enemy Of My Enemy

The Ren shat'var seem to have much more resources than anyone would have suspected!

I love Scotty's reaction on overhearing about their bond. ;)



Author's Response:

Yes, I was smiling when I wrote Scotty's reaction.  And I think the RSV reasources will be a topic for a third part.  :)  Thanks for reading!  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2014 5:16 PM Title: Enemy Of My Enemy

intrigued re plot  - but that last part .... whoa, baby that was hot!  Should come w a don't read @ work warning ;)



Author's Response:

Oops! Sorry.  But not really...  :)  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2014 2:48 AM Title: ...And Then There's Family

Finally an Admiral who isn't creepy and isn't a week follower either, Sarek who has a tiny opening towards towards his son's bondmate even if not towards his son. Bones is being his usual grumpy self even if I don't think he usually tramples on other peoples' sensitivities. His problem is that he doesn't believe Spock has feelings that can be hurt - so he doesn't care. I hope he'll come around eventually, I always thought of him as compassionate and supportive. Probably he has to overcome his irrational jealousy and to stop trying to protect Jim from what he doesn't understand and therefore perceives as a threat.



Author's Response:

This chapter was actually the hardest yet to write.  The relationships between Sarek and Spock and McCoy and Spock are both very complex, and especially between McCoy and Spock lately.  You are right on that Bones is trying to be Jim's best friend, and his doctor, and trying to protect him and look out for his best interests.  Lately though, he feels quite helpless, and a lot of his frustration and anger comes out here.  I think he knows that Spock has feelings, but considers that the fact that he has been raised to control and suppress them can't be good for a relationship with a human, especially his best friend.  And most of what has gone on between Jim and Spock through the bond is difficult, or impossible, to explain or demonstrate to anyone else.  TOS Bones always seemed to get a bit out of control wth his responses towards Spock when Jim wasn't there to provide a middle ground, and I brought some of that into this chapter.  Bones *is* fundamentally compassionate and supportive, and I tried to convey that he felt a bit guilty about his rant to Spock.  Plus, who hasn't flown off the deep end a bit at a bar when confronted about unconfortable topics by your best friend's significant other, whom you might not completely be on board with?  (Totally never happened to me...heh)  There are two more chapters coming, and Jim and Bones will get a chance to hash things out again.  Thanks for reading!  :)    -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2014 11:48 PM Title: ...And Then There's Family

Awww, I got a little teary eyed towards the end.  I love seeing Jim being protective of Spock and defending him.  I also love that these two remain strong and stick together when other people and other forces try to break them down.  Bones means well and I know that but I wanted to smack him on the side of the head!



Author's Response:

Yes, Bones stepped a bit over the line in this chapter.  This interaction was hard to write, for me, but I wanted to demonstrate Bones' frustration and helpless feelings on the tail-end of all that's happened coming out.  TOS Bones could be very abrasive to Spock when Jim wasn't there, and I tried to put hints of that here.  Two more chapters to go overall, and Jim and Bones will have another chance to talk before the ending!  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2014 9:17 PM Title: ...And Then There's Family

Another excellent chapter!  I love how you write their bond and feel as long as they have that they'll be ok. But please don't test them too badly and give them a happy ending  [real not bittersweet] please :). 



Author's Response:

Two more chapters to go, and there will be a happy ending.  I think it would be impossible for me to write anything else.  :)  Thanks so much for reading!  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2014 1:54 AM Title: There's The Job...

Mmmm, I like it when Jim is so grounded and sure of himself and what he does - Spock has amazing ways to bring him back into this state when he is loosing himself in (self)doubts!



Author's Response:

Yes, he does!  ;)  Thanks for reading!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2014 12:45 AM Title: There's The Job...

This was a great chapter and I do love it when Jim stands up for what he believes in.



Author's Response:

Thanks again for the review!  I'm so glad to hear that you guys are enjoying it!  -C

Reviewer: Wing Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2014 8:05 PM Title: Prologue

Logged in after forever just to post this...

Thank You.

Thank you God! Finally! A story that had me convinced that I was 'reading' a movie. It has all the elements in the right portions and balance. The action, one liners, drama all spaced and executed perfectly fitting the reboot universe! Many fail to encompass the correct blend and proportions all of Jim attributes – his stubbornness, fear, childishness, dark humor, emotional defensiveness and most importantly, he doesn’t go looking for trouble it’s his luck that it finds him! You have done it brilliantly. I have binged read the first epic story and now this one. It has been a long time since any story has grabbed me and convinced me this could be legitimately cannon without major retweaking.

Thank you for the wonderful dialog. Not just between our heroes, but between all the cast (SHOCK! There are more people in Starfleet then the Boys, Bones, and Uhura!). It provides the much needed break and breath of fresh air between the action and drama. And the action! My god! How wonderfully written! It’s clean, concise and makes sense. It is something that is so hard to do, something that is hard to find on here, and even harder to find done right!

The story line is just supurb. It really feels like a TV episode of three hour movie. The mystery that hooks you, the side drama going on while the world falls apart around you and the feeling of soldering on is very convincing! It love that you made me feel just as exhausted as the boys did and then the sudden realization that it all went down in three days! Holy crap!  Bravo on the way all the loose ends get tied up, and YES! The fall out! It is believable fall out, and all within cannon.

I wish that I wasn’t just one more reviewer, that I could somehow make others see this and read it, because it needs to be read. To remind others that THIS. This is what the fandom can do. How it can be! And we should all have standers this high, and this much attention to detail, and understanding of the Boys. They are people to. And make mistakes, and own them.

Hot Damn, Thank You, for making me feel that wading through all the sub par stuff out in the wide web is worth it to find a gem like this.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your amazing words!!  There's always a bit of fear between writing down what's in my head and waiting to see if anyone else enjoys reading it.  I grew up loving TOS, and especially our boys, and am happy to have the reboot universe to play in.  Thanks again for the truly lovely review and I hope you enjoy the rest of the story!  -C

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2014 6:15 PM Title: There's The Job...

I'm joining the applause both for the speech and the chapter!  You do Roddenberry  proud.  We need that mindset w the current political mess and as we near midterm US elections.

Great chapter all around & what a treat 2 in one day!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  I was always so impressed by Jim's speeches in TOS, and wanted to capture some of his skill and inspirational ability here.  -C

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2014 2:01 AM Title: Once More Unto The Breach

I love it when occasionally one of the villains shows some insight. Hope Jim's intuition is right and Toeffler is being sincere.



Author's Response:

Yes, I thought it would bring some added complexity to show that the weaknesses in the admiralty weren't just from the power-mad guys, but also from those who were more passive; sitting back and embracing their own agendas despite the corruption they see around them.  I always saw Jim as having the ability to inspire others-now he's going to use it!  -C

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2014 1:40 AM Title: Once More Unto The Breach

I'm so glad that Spock wasn't hurt too badly!  I also can't help but love Jim calling Spock by little pet names.  :)  Wonderful chapter.



Author's Response:

Thanks again for the review!  I love the pet names, too!  ;)  -C

You must login (register) to review.