You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: CarminaVulcana Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/17/2017 3:57 PM Title: XIV. O Magnum Mysterium - III

This was an insanely tough chapter to read. The aftermath of rape is almost worse than the rape itself. Dealing with memories, forgiving someone; it is all so difficult. You write so well. But I am going to take a break, I guess. I will return to your story in a few days. 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2016 3:39 AM Title: XIX. All Poor Men and Humble

When this amazing tale is finished I might have to read it all over again. This Vulcan you have created is just so vibrantly alive, so dense with its history and its struggles, the characters so intensely credible,  yet with an underlying symbolic dimension. I thoroughly admire this story and I want to see it finished and don't want to see it finished at the same time. :)



Author's Response:

Awww! Yes, definitely worth another read, given how slowly it's being produced. It feels to me like a huge juggernaut, and while I know the dimensions of it, can see it, right now I'm only looking at a very small part and the rest has receded into the background. Maybe I will have to read it again when I'm done!

Thank you, as always, for leaving your reflections, dear angelocustode.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2016 6:34 PM Title: XIX. All Poor Men and Humble

Great.
I'm so happy about the new chapter.

There are surely dark times but there is also a light.

I wish you a good time.
Sera

Author's Response:

Thanks Sera! 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2016 10:28 AM Title: XVIII. This little babe so few days old

Here I was aching for an update of this awesome story and now that the new chapter is up I realise that I had missed this one. I love it despite the pain and uncertainty it contains. The final twist is just one more of the unexpected turns you do so well. Nothing is ever lost, no situation so hopeless that a rising from the depths is not possible. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for your review, angelocustode, and for your thoughts. Hopefully there won't be such a wait for the next chapter...

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/07/2016 12:17 AM Title: XIX. All Poor Men and Humble

I'm thrilled to see this new update!  And wow, this was so intense.  It's a trying time for both Spock and Jim, but I hope they'll get through it together.



Author's Response:

They will! Thanks for patiently waiting; hopefully the next chapter will be up in a shorter time than this took to post!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2015 10:04 PM Title: XVIII. This little babe so few days old

Now I have read it all. It was to much to read it in one.

Wow. In which hell do they live?
What a pain. Which deep needs.
I hope they find a way with Selek.

Author's Response:

Yes, indeed, to all the above, Sera. Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2015 3:49 PM Title: XVIII. This little babe so few days old

An other great chapter. Painful and tender, both together.

Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2015 1:18 AM Title: XVIII. This little babe so few days old

I'm absolutely thrilled to see this new chapter.  :)  I love this fic so much so yeah, I'm definitely looking forward to what will happen next.



Author's Response:

The next chapter should be up in the next couple of weeks. I'm glad you're enjoying this fic! Thanks for commenting; it loans a writer that much more incentive to keep going...

Reviewer: JoeAnn Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2015 10:12 PM Title: I. A child is born

Yay!  I'm so happy to see an update for this story!  I'd been thinking about it recently, wondering how it was going to turn out.  I really love your characterizations of Kirk and Spock and the alternate world-building.  Life has been rough for them, especially poor Spock.  It's nice to see their traumas haven't been glossed over, to see struggling to make a new normal for themselves and their relationship.  That said, I'm sure they will come to a happier resting place.  

As for Vulcan at large I'm somewhat skeptical of their plans to overthrow the Terran regime.  Vulcans were pacifists to begin with and now their plan is to be pacifist even harder?  What good is a philosophy if it leads you to extinction?  Eh, I dunno... I eagerly await to see how it all plays out!  Nogura and his soldiers all need to be dropped into a deep, deep hole and covered with a mountain of lava.  

Thank you for posting this story, Ashaya TReldie.  You're a fabulous writer with a real gift for creating vivid narrative and sharply drawn characters.  :o)

 



Author's Response:

Hi JoeAnn, it's very affirming to think that someone out there thinks about my stories as I think and wonder about how other people's stories are going to end! Thank you for your encouragement.

And thank you, too, for raising that point about pacifist Vulcans. Hopefully they will learn from having been walkovers 500 years previously...

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2015 7:40 PM Title: XVIII. This little babe so few days old

It's so good to read a new chapter of this amazing tale. I appreciate both your and your beta's efforts in getting on with this story. The difficulties Jim and Spock face are not resolved by bonding and I wouldn't have expected them to be, knowing your deep sense of realism where difficult relationships are concerned. I hope that this last outbreak has finally signed the beginning of a new (and old) way of being together, where what they were to each other in the beginning can arise from the ashes, in a new, mature and powerfully stable form.
 



Author's Response:

Indeed. We'll see more of their journey to wholeness in the next chapter. Thanks for commenting, angelocustode! 

Reviewer: Sera Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2015 5:16 PM Title: I. A child is born

Hi Ashaya,
thats good to know.
I wish you better times.
;-)

liebe Gre
Sera

Author's Response:

Thanks, Sera. Now that Easter's out of the way, I've got a bit more mojo... We'll see.

Reviewer: Sera Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2015 9:15 PM Title: I. A child is born

Dear Ashaya,

How are you?

I realy miss this story and I hope you continue it soon.

LLAP Sera

Author's Response:

Hi Sera, it's been a difficult year so far for me healthwise (mentally and physically), and my beta reader is also unwell. I've completely lacked the mojo to continue this - I have begun the next chapter, but it's going to be awhile before it's posted here. Hold in there; I'm the sort of person who finishes projects once I've begun, even it if takes a long time!

Reviewer: Sera Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2015 10:37 PM Title: I. A child is born

Happy new year, Ashaya.
I hope you are well and I hope you continue this story.... soon... I miss it.

but: Take the time you need for it. ;-)
LLAP Sera ;-)

Author's Response:

Bless you, Sera! And a happy new year to you, too.

Rest assure, this story is in the pipeline. I am waiting to hear back from plyushka on the outline for the next three chapters... We had to tweak things, because we're now in the home straight (if you can call another 30000 words the "home straight"!), and I am anxious a) that all relevant threads get tied up, b) that the story doesn't flag or sag, and c) there are some themes that still require careful handling and it's important to get it right!

I'd like to have this story finished around the anniversary of its beginning! But we'll see.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2014 7:10 AM Title: XV. Wexford Carol

I love a good au and certainly this is one. I am a bit confused about the the titles (which I love) and perhaps you have already explained their significance and I missed it?



Author's Response:

I'm glad you're enjoying this AU. Each of the titles of the chapters is a Christmas Carol (my favourites). Usually the music or the words have something to do with the content of the chapter... So the last chapter featured Three Kings From Persian lands afar (which is, strictly, an Epiphany carol, rather than a Christmas carol, but hey, semantics). I love that carol - the last bit of it is all about giving the whole of yourself/giving the whole of your heart... Hence the context of the healing and wholeness Spock and Jim find in the chapter as they give the whole of themselves to each other.

The idea of a Ceremony of Carols is taken from Benjamin Britten's work of the same name.

I hope that helps!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/12/2014 7:45 PM Title: XVII. Three kings from Persian lands afar (offer thy heart)

My dear Ashaya,

this was so incredible wonderful.
Seldom I read a pon farr part with so much tenderness and understanding, care and love. Very beautiful. Thank you.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2014 9:56 PM Title: XVII. Three kings from Persian lands afar (offer thy heart)

Ahh! This chapter was absolutely, perfectly marvelous, very satisfying. ;) I so much loved Jim's intelligent understanding of his mates problems, the way he looked for and found a way around the barriers, the fear. I adore his decision to open himself completely, baring all his thoughts, holding back nothing (not that one could in such a meld, I think) and accepting Spock in every darkest corner of his memories. And how this deep honesty brings healing to both of them - that's Ashaya at her very best! Thank you so much for sharing!



Author's Response:

:) Thank you, angelocustode, for your thoughts. Thank you for being a devoted reader!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2014 4:09 PM Title: XVII. Three kings from Persian lands afar (offer thy heart)

It was a little hard to read this chapter as it was very pon farr oriented. It was just a little much for me. But it was a good chapter. Your writing is very excellent and I give kudos to you and your beta. Wonderful job. Thanks for the update.

Author's Response:

I'm sorry that the pon farr was a bit of a turn off for you, ForgottenOne. I hope you can appreciate that, with all the violence and horror of the first part of the story, something was needed to balance that...

Thank you for sticking with the story! Bless you!

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2014 9:56 AM Title: XVII. Three kings from Persian lands afar (offer thy heart)

Um, I'm not sure why there is a '1' in my review lol. I didn't put it there 

Reviewer: missBAMF Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2014 9:38 AM Title: XVII. Three kings from Persian lands afar (offer thy heart)


  1. I adored this chapter! One thing that really makes it so engrossing is how the journey both of these characters have taken has been so hard, and yet, they find this beauty and love in one another. Excellent and brilliant update. I love when a wait is long, and the chapters are doubly so! 



Author's Response:

Thanks, missBAMF. Glad you enjoyed it. Similar patterns as in some of your stories (well, I hope, anyway! Still waiting eagerly for the restoration in Perdition... ;-) ). I'm a fan of long chapters...

Reviewer: Raven Knight Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/11/2014 4:13 AM Title: XVII. Three kings from Persian lands afar (offer thy heart)

Please forgive my woefully inadquate response to this intensly emotional and incredibly lengthy installment by my inability to say anything actually useful other than this: This chapter was worth the long delay and wait in every way!  Really no better way for these two to come together than to truly reveal everything of themselves to the other like this. 

 

Yes, most definitely and assuredly worth the wait!  Thank you for this chapter and this story! ~ RK



Author's Response:

*laughs* You are most welcome, Raven Knight!

You must login (register) to review.