You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: burning_spirit Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/29/2017 3:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

I've only just joined the site, but this story is by far one of my favorite fics ever!!  It makes my heart so happy... thank you for writing it. :) :) :)



Author's Response:

Aw, thank you!  I'm thrilled that you enjoyed the story, and thanks so much for taking the time to tell me so. ♥

 

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2016 3:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh dear, look, I'm truly not trying to do anything in my further comments but give you some *constructive* criticism ok? You did see neither Fugitive or myself left a star rating - because we didn't want to dent your author record? We're not trying to 'give you any flak' and we have read other stories out there that we've disliked aspects of, but the only one we're reviewing here is this one.

Do you know what 'hoist in your own petard' means? It means to get blown up by the bomb you were laying for someone else. I think that's what happened here. You were so anxious to blow the idea that it is illogical for vulcans to life-bond with anyone other than someone with whom they can produce children that you ended up having your principle protagonist own the offensive thought concept for himself. Just so you could have Spock say, no that's not what Vulcans believe.

And that's what hoist you; having Jim own those words.

What you set out to do was thoroughly laudable. But you were hoist in your own petard.

To fix it, all you needed to do was have Jim not own that sentiment when he stated it.

All you needed to do was add a few extra words.
For example:

  Spock sat up. "You refer to the myth that Vulcans are capable of sexual activity only during pon farr?"

  "No," Kirk said, "I knew that wasn't true. ... I was referring to the popular myth that Vulcans consider homosexual relationships to be illogical, since they don't produce children."

and voila! you've blown the whole kit and caboodle out of the water and "it's a parade!" and everyone's throwing confetti and streamers and hallelluia the MYTH has been decried as just that, by James T Kirk. Instead of owning the statement as truth, he's now blowing it out of the water.

You see the difference? Surely?

LLAP.

One final point, I've only ever seen this issue raised in the context of setting up a new vulcan home world after the destruction of Vulcan itself in the JJ Abrams nu-trek universe. Never in TOS, which is where your story is set? Vulcan's history in TOS is one fundamentally based on the validity of homosexual pairings; witness, the T'hy'la pon farr battlefield bond.

Are we having fun yet? :) <3

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2016 10:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

Perhaps the reason we're reading it that way is because you have Jim Kirk - of all people - the most inclusive and open minded primary positive protagonist within the entire Star Trek TOS franchise - saying, "I thought Vulcans would consider homosexual relationships to be illogical, since they don't produce children" as if that were a perfectly acceptable, valid, and logical (which it's not) thing to say.  And you have Spock receive that premise also without batting an eyelid - internal or otherwise.

What would make Jim Kirk ever say that? Under what circumstances would he voluntarily utter those words? The answer is simple; he just wouldn't. 

I do understand what you were trying to do but ...  ((big hug)) you kinda got hoist with your own petard.



Author's Response:

You must not have read the stories that I've read, because I have read DOZENS of stories -- not just one or two, but DOZENS -- that have Kirk afraid (as if Kirk is EVER afraid) to confess his love for Spock because he "knows" that Vulcans will see homosexuality as illogical.  I was stunned that SO MANY authors were putting this out there as if it made sense, and it seemed as if no one but me was reacting negatively to it.

So I'm shocked that I'M getting the flak, when I'm the only one who's ever gone on record as saying that this attitude is WRONG.  The stories I've read that have put this idea forth seriously -- and have put it forth as either belonging to broad-minded Kirk or wonderfully logical Spock, when the idea is neither broad-minded NOR logical -- are getting only laudatory comments.

I realize that shooting the messenger is human nature ... but it's still illogical.

 

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2016 4:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

I have to admit, i'm wholly with Fugitive on this one and am at a bit of a loss to know what to say, really. Non-breeding relationships are less logical? Um, yea. Ok. Wow. Me and the other non-breeders will just let ourselves out now we've been devalued. Ouch. Time to get off this ship.



Author's Response:

As I said in the author's notes, this story was reacting to a TON of fanfics already out there that had the Vulcans saying that homosexuality was illogical because it couldn't produce children.  This story is arguing AGAINST that proposition, because I think that idea is foolish and pernicious and wrong.

I don't have children, myself, and it always made me angry when fanfics said that having children was the only reason for Vulcans to mate.  I'm astonished to find that a story arguing AGAINST that idea is somehow twisted in readers' minds to argue for it!

 

Reviewer: WriterPam4 Signed half-star [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2016 8:16 AM Title: Chapter 1

I see no logic in your statement, from Jim's mouth "I thought Vulcans would consider homosexual relationships to be illogical, since they don't produce children"

What would prompt Jim to make such an illogical, upsetting, insensible remark? At what point did the production of children become the sole logic and raison d'etre of a relationship?

To put forward such an argument it would be necessary to also believe the following two things:

1) That homosexual relationships would be 'logical' if they produce children.

2) That heterosexual relationships would be 'illogical' if they did not produce children.

As a corollary of (2) it is also to state that 
(2a) every infertile couple's relationship is illogical and they should part and the one that is capable of reproduction should find a new fertile partner.
(2b) it is logical that every post-fertile partner should be replaced by a fertile one as fertility and child production is the only logic behind a relationship.
(2c) every 'childfree' couple's relationship is illogical and without worth. That their choice to not have children is selfish and illogical.

I ask you, where has this strange thought in your story that breeding is the sole 'logic' of a relationship come from? What of love, sex, companionship, fellowship? These are as nothing to you? Only 'to breed' has any value? Any logic?

I have never read words so unlikely to eminate from James Kirk's mouth. Such an offensive concept, so insulting to LBGT community and to many CIS people too.

For this gross inconsistency of characterisation, 1 star.



Author's Response:

You have COMPLETELY MISUNDERSTOOD this story.  I think perhaps English is not your first language.

As I said in the author's notes, this story was reacting to a TON of fanfics already out there that had the Vulcans saying that homosexuality was illogical because it couldn't produce children.  This story is arguing AGAINST that proposition, because I think that idea is foolish and pernicious and wrong.

I don't have children, myself, and it always made me angry when fanfics said that having children was the only reason for Vulcans to mate.  I'm astonished to find that a story arguing AGAINST that idea is somehow twisted in readers' minds to argue for it!

Reviewer: Fugitive Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2016 6:49 AM Title: Chapter 1

You don't think that in all their logic they could see other reasons to accept homosexuality?  Or other childless couples?  The 'It's okay because you're not going to breed' reasoning?  Really?  Sorry, I can't get on board with this one.



Author's Response:

As I said in the author's notes, this story was reacting to a TON of fanfics already out there that had the Vulcans saying that homosexuality was illogical because it couldn't produce children.  This story is arguing AGAINST that proposition, because I think that idea is foolish and pernicious and wrong.

I don't have children, myself, and it always made me angry when fanfics said that having children was the only reason for Vulcans to mate.  I'm astonished to find that a story arguing AGAINST that idea is somehow twisted in readers' minds to argue for it!

Reviewer: Darya Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2015 1:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

It's so logical and brilliant, that I feel a strong urge to translate it into Russian (my mother language) and publish wherever I can. If you don't mind, I shall. Actually, I'm pretty sure no one has really thought about this little issue. 



Author's Response:

I would be flattered and delighted if you translated this story into Russian! 

Please do include a link with your translation to my version of the story.  (A link to the AO3 version might work better than one to the K/S Archive version, since AO3 doesn't have the but-this-is-an-adult-story pop-ups; you can find the AO3 version at http://archiveofourown.org/works/1126971).

Thank you!

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2014 4:31 AM Title: Chapter 1

Never thought about that before. Makes sense. Great little ficlet.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2014 1:43 AM Title: Chapter 1

Weird Little, I regard "flawlessly logical" as the highest form of praise.  I hope your logical approach to the issue of same-sex bonding becomes widespread in Trek fandom.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2014 3:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

Yes, very logical. :-)

Author's Response:

And Spock has conditioned all of us to like logic, right? :-)

 

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2014 2:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Like this a lot. :)



Author's Response:

*smile*  Thank you!  I'm pleased that a writer of your caliber chose to read my little story. &hearts;

 

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2014 12:31 PM Title: Chapter 1

Hope my 2nd time of trying to leave feedback works! Brilliant stuff! Well done xx



Author's Response:

Thank you!

 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2014 2:18 AM Title: Chapter 1

Mmh then there is logic in and AU premature Pon Farr to ensure the bond connections are available  to ensure optimum mental health by replacing lost bonding links as soon as possible. 

Also in pre Surakian Vuclan there would be a logic in warrior bonds. No same sex bonds would mean a loss of fighting forces. Also male male boned people with telepathic links would be valued as these soldiers would survive longer than non telepathic fighters. Leads to interesting thought that post Surakian peace would mean that telepathic individuals represented a throwback reminding people of violent past and therefore would be despised. (premise in Enterprise episodes) Wonder if there are any evolutionists or logic experts. 

I like this story you can just see them sitting in  Bed debating these thoughts until Jim gets to the logic pojic lets Fuck position.

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2014 2:00 AM Title: Chapter 1

Flawlessly logical! I have always hated the meme that Vulcans insist on relationships that can produce offspring via the old-fashioned method. So I am really glad you wrote this!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Constant exposure to Spock has made me regard "Flawlessly logical" as a serious compliment. :-)


Glad I'm not the only one who thinks that some people may have underestimated the extent of Vulcan logic. :-D

 

You must login (register) to review.