You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mythrissa Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2018 9:03 PM Title: Complete Story

ThIs is an utterly plausible take on Vulcan sexuality. I appreciate how you avoid moralizing.

Reviewer: TheLastDragon Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2014 2:25 AM Title: Complete Story

 

"Jim," Amanda said softly, "Once you go Vulcan, you never go back." I spite out my juice at that.

Author's Response:

*smile*  I really enjoyed writing that line, so I'm SO glad you noticed it!

And really, it seems likely, doesn't it? :-)

 

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/09/2013 12:00 PM Title: Complete Story

Great Oneshot. Really enjoyed the explanation.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it.

 

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2013 2:43 PM Title: Complete Story

This is great.  Wonderful concept and well written and just plain fun.  I just wish I knew what came next and what SPOCK would think of his mother having this conversation wtih Kirk.



Author's Response:

Thanks for your review!

Arranged marriages are the norm on Vulcan, so I think Spock would be okay with Amanda's approaching Jim.  I think he would have been embarrassed if he'd had to witness the conversation :-), but since he didn't, I imagine he'll be glad that it happened.  And after all, what could be more logical than that the successful human spouse of one Vulcan give some pointers to the future human spouse of another? ;-)

 

 

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2013 4:51 PM Title: Complete Story

Cool, fun story



Author's Response:

Thank you!

 

Reviewer: Sera Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2013 4:39 PM Title: Complete Story

Awww. Your story doesn't leave my mind.
I imagine the next step of the both in my head... and it make me a lot of fun. ... :-) Like:


Jim found Spock by the books.
He stepped slowly to the Vulcan.
"Hey Spock. You wanted to know why your mother invited me. Now I can tell you, if you want!"
Spock lifted only his eyebrow and looked at his Commanding Officer.
Something was in his look, so Jim started: "She wanted to know why I'm your friend." Jim made a break.
Now Spock was very curious. "What did you answer?"
Jim hesitated a bit but he said:"I told her, that you are brave, smart and very loyal." The next little break bevor Jim said the next words a little bit quieter, "and that I like the way you move and your great heart." Jim looked down.
"And what did my mother said then?"
"She asked me, why we are not married." Jims voice was only a whisper.
"And why are we not married?" Spock was so close now, that Jim could feel Spocks breath on his cheek.
"I dont know." Jims voice was so quiet, but Spock heared it. "Then we should marry." Spocks voice was also so quiet.
Jim lifted his head and looked in Spocks eyes. "Yes. Yes!" And there was a big, bright smile in Jims face and also in Spocks eyes and a little twinkle on his lips.
And they came closer.

End. ;-)

I'm sorry for my english. It isn't my native language.

Author's Response:

I'm glad you found my story interesting enough that it inspired you to write a follow-up! :-)

 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2013 4:48 AM Title: Complete Story

You know there are, like, 100 TOS books, right? I think you would enjoy them. The ones from the mid 1980s to early 1990s were the best, although there are a few good ones from before and after. A lot of people start with Diane Duane. "Doctor's Orders" and "My Enemy, My Ally". I personally really enjoyed Jean Lorrah's books (which are Vulcan heavy) when I was first getting into TOS. (I think she wrote K/S under another name.) And I personally liked Diane Carey and John Vornhold's books, but YMMV. If you want something meatier (or deeper) there's John Ford's "The Final Reflection" and Maas' underappreciated "Pawns and Symbols".



Author's Response:

Thanks for the book recommendations!  I do know that such books exist, but I have only read a few of them.  Some friends recommended Diane Duane's Spock's World in the strongest possible terms, so I got it from the library and read it.  I loved Duane's non-Star Trek books The Door Into Fire and The Door Into Shadow, and I think all things Vulcan are interesting, so I expected to adore Spock's World.  I hated it.  The present-day plot annoyed me so deeply that I only managed to avoid throwing the book across the room by reminding myself that it belonged to the library, not to me. :-)  I thought having the whole plot hiinge on T'Pring's pique was pretty stupid, but I could probably have suspended disbelief that far.  But then Duane had Spock tell T'Pring that what she had done was "flawlessly logical," and all my circuit breakers tripped, and I was furious.  T'Pring was totally insane and not logical at all, and having Spock tell her that she was ... just broke the whole thing for me.

So I've been skeptical about other TOS books and have been reading fan fiction instead.  If fan fiction is bad, I can discount it because it's "only" fan fiction, and when fan fiction is good, I find that it has a deeper understanding of the characters than the "official" published work I've read so far.  But given your strong recommendation, I suppose I'll try again.  Thanks!

 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2013 4:44 AM Title: Complete Story

So do we get to see what happens next--?


I agree with your end notes. I would say that ENTERPRISE out of all the other Trek series dwells on Vulcans a lot but they're so out of character compared to oh, all of the rest of Star Trek that it's hard to reconcile the two views. There was an attempt in the last seasons to try to 'fix' things, but it's almost easier never to bother. Terrible show, anyway. If you're really into Vulcans I would recommend maybe some Tuvok heavy episodes of Voyager. It's not the best show ever but it's a far sight better than ENT and the way Vulcans are portrayed in that show is in line with the Original Series, TNG, and the books.



Author's Response:

Well, what happens next is what always happens next -- we have thousands of stories that go THERE. ;-)  I wanted to do something a little different.

Thanks for the information about Enterprise vs. Voyager; that's good to know!  I'll certainly refrain from watching Enterprise, so as not to have my view of Vulcans spoiled.  Of course, it'll take me awhile to get through all seven seasons of TNG, so I can even begin to think about another show, but people tell me that TNG will be quite a treat, so I'm looking forward to it.  Of course, it's hard for me to imagine a Star Trek without Spock in it -- I do adore that character -- but presumably there'll be some interesting aliens in TNG, too. :-)

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 7:44 PM Title: Complete Story

I can just imagine Jim choking on his lemonade when Amanda asked him that question.

Loved how Jim went on and on about how amazing Spock is.

Finally, we know why Amanda wanted to discuss things with Jim in private.

I think Jim will take her advice.

Great job with this story.

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.

*smile*  I'm glad you could see Jim choking on his lemonade, since I could see that very clearly in my own mind while I was writing.  And yeah, part of the fun of writing this story was getting to rhapsodize about how wonderful Spock is. :-D


You're right; Jim WILL take Amanda's advice.  Thinking that he and Spock would be sexually incompatible was the only thing holding Jim back, and now that he knows that's NOT true, well, that's why Jim went to talk to Spock at the end of the story. ;-)

Thanks for taking the time to leave a detailed comment!

 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 5:00 PM Title: Complete Story

This is absolutely brilliant concept and fits with the Droxine comments quite well too. It would also fit well with kirk noticing half the universe but Spock noticing only Kirk. But what happens later. Did Spock know what Amanda was going to say .....



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm very glad that you enjoyed the story.  Spock did NOT know what Amanda was going to do; he was telling the truth when he said that he was curious about whyy his mother had invited Jim to accompany him.  I think he'll be a lot more enthusiastic about his mother's attempts to find him a mate than he was with his father's signing him up for T'Pring, though. :-)

 

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 4:28 PM Title: Complete Story

Very fine.
I enjoyed it very much.
I love your Amanda.

;-)

Author's Response:

*smile*  Thank you!

 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 4:06 PM Title: Complete Story

I love this. It is so well-written. Kirk is so in character, and every word he says about Spock rings true. I like the portrayal of Amanda, matchmaker and all. I do hope you are considering a sequel ...



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Kirk and I both love Spock, so Kirk is easy to write when he's loving Spock. :-D


No plans for a sequel right now, but I appreciate your asking for one.  To me, characters' motivations are always more interesting than their actions, so now that I've got Jim over his misconceptions, I don't need to SEE them get together to know that they have.  I apologize if that make me annoying. ;-)

 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 4:06 PM Title: Complete Story

I love this. It is so well-written. Kirk is so in character, and every word he says about Spock rings true. I like the portrayal of Amanda, matchmaker and all. I do hope you are considering a sequel ...

You must login (register) to review.