Reviews For Broken Gifts
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Romanse Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2017 4:56 AM Title: Chapter I

So far, been enjoying this story alot.  Slightly disappointed though when the surgery that Jim was supposed to have got forgotten about.  Some nice H/C that for Jim that readers will never get. 

Reviewer: FanficTrekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/14/2015 6:58 PM Title: Chapter V

Love this story!  So original :-)  One small possible error in this chapter though.  You mention slave Kirks hands are cuffed/tied behind his back in the usual fashion (attached to chains connected to genitalia) but you say that the slave picked up the velvet cloak and I don't see how he cld do that at all.  Later when he is cowered in corner after Spock slapped him it again mentions his hands being tied.  Just a tiny thing but I guess am a sucker for details. :-)  Hope you don't mind.

Reviewer: FanficTrekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/13/2015 8:21 PM Title: Chapter V

Love this story!  So original :-)  One small possible error in this chapter though.  You mention slave Kirks hands are cuffed/tied behind his back in the usual fashion (attached to chains connected to genitalia) but you say that the slave picked up the velvet cloak and I don't see how he cld do that at all.  Later when he is cowered in corner after Spock slapped him it again mentions his hands being tied.  Just a tiny thing but I guess am a sucker for details. :-)  Hope you don't mind.

Reviewer: Aaliyah1963 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/16/2015 8:55 AM Title: Chapter IX

Another fantastic read. You manage to deal with dark and difficult material that I normally would not read in a way that keeps me engaged enough to get to all the resolutions. I have not been disappointed yet!

LLL&P //_

Aaliyah



Author's Response:

Ah good! I'm glad you managed to stick with it. Broken Gifts has proven one of the most popular of my stories... including with me! It's one I return to.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2014 3:18 AM Title: Chapter IX

This AU story is a painful reading, dealing with the issues of slavery and torture, rape, sadistic cruelty. You surely know how to raise an issue, and keep us interested and emotionally involved in it by making our favourite boys actors in the drama. You make our hearts bleed for Jim and your end of the chapter comment makes sure that they bleed for all the real life victims of slavery as well. And then you make sure that your reader is left with an ending that takes away most of the bitterness, where the power of mercy and dedication and love that is willing to sacrifice itself wins in the end over the dark. I much liked the figure of Sarek here and Solon whose fatherly love for Spock is so strong that he willingly gives his life for him. And then - last but not least - this story contains one of the most beautiful and tender sex scenes I have read in this archive so far. Very well done, powerful writing as as usual!



Author's Response:

Awwww shucks, angelocustode. It was another story I felt compelled to write, and which in many ways wrote itself. It consistently shocks me that slavery is alive and well, even here (potentiall) in my suburb. Or that little 8yr old girls can be married and die on their wedding night because they've been so badly torn and bled out. *shudder* We are obliged to do all we can to stop injustice and slavery and oppression, and restore human dignity.

Reviewer: iorekbyrnison Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/05/2014 9:18 PM Title: Chapter IX

Aw Man. I love literally everything you write. You're prose is awesome, very detailed and sensual. Even the depictions of rape and violence are tastefully done. Thanks for the good read. ( I am supposed to be preparing for school, but instead I am reading fanfiction. Shame on me.) Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you iorekbyrnison for your review and your comments. You wouldn't be the only one who's successfully procrastinated thanks to the K/S Archive!!

Reviewer: Roger786 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2013 10:57 PM Title: Chapter IX

Very well written...I had to skipped some hard parts (really some of it was hard) but  i am happy i went futher it is a great story !



Author's Response:

I'm really glad you stuck with it, Roger786. Glad you found it worthwhile.

Reviewer: plaktow Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/02/2013 5:12 AM Title: Chapter IX

I started to read a story, and finished reading a movie script...

Your story has an excellent structure. You weave the story well using the perspectives of Jim, Spock and Stonn. Instead of focusing to just one or two characters,  you've created a whole cast of people with their own histories, hopes, fears and characteristicss. This, to me, is the absolutely best part of your story. There are multiple plots in one. Experts might call these the arches of your story - the way little things happen in the background while the whole big plot advances little by little. And the way you alternate between horrible, painful tortures and incredibly sweet and caring scenes is simply magical!

The beginning of the story seemed a bit unfinished compared to the last chapters. Maybe it was due to the plot, Jim being a slave and all, but it was much more broken. A little bit of this, a little of that, without a clear path or line connecting all the bits and pieces. But ever since you took Spock to the story and brought him and Jim together, the story really took wing. You have real talent with words - never forget that!

I was pleased to see how you didn't make Jim heal too fast and easy. It may not have been an easy choice to leave him broken by the end of the story, but I think it was the right thing to do. The world is open to them, they have a story of their own to write now, and Jim is well on his way to healing.

Thank you for writing this, and for sharing it with us.

Dif-tor heh smusma!



Author's Response:

Hi plaktow, thanks so much for your thorough review! I went out on a bit of a limb with this story, and I think it paid dividends. The beginning was deliberately fragmented and patchy - I'm glad you picked up on the structures and nuances!

 

Sochya eh dif!

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/18/2013 11:00 PM Title: Chapter IX

Perfect ending! I enjoyed this so much. And guess what? You finished this just in time for me to enjoy it on my birthday. So happy birthday to me, and thank you!



Author's Response:

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you, happy birthday T'Purr, happy birthday to you!

 

Thanks for your feedback!

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2013 11:27 PM Title: Chapter IX

I enjoyed this quite a bit.  Thank you for sharing this story.



Author's Response:

You're welcome! Thanks for following the story!

Reviewer: Vulcan Eyebrows Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2013 9:21 PM Title: Chapter IX

PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT ENDING!! I simply couldn't wait for this chapter!! I really can't wait to read more of your work in the future. Thank you so much for writing this amazing story.



Author's Response:

Awwww! Thanks Vulcan Eyebrows for your enthusiasm! Glad you appreciated the story.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2013 6:35 PM Title: Chapter IX

Wonderful
Thank you for this story.

Author's Response:

You're most welcome, Sera. Thanks for being a fan!

Reviewer: DivaPammy Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2013 2:47 PM Title: Chapter IX

I cried! This ending was perfect. They are together and they will face the universe and all it holds hand in hand. Heart in heart. Mind in mind.

Thank you for writing such an engrossing and sometimes difficult story. My hatred for Stonn was always strong but this put it over the edge. Such evil.

Thank you for the gift of this story and I look forward to sharing more of your talent!

 



Author's Response:

Stonn is an evil bastard, eh. And it has to end with our boys sailing into the deep black together... ;) Thanks for stopping by!

Reviewer: Sentarla Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2013 1:14 PM Title: Chapter IX

Awesome story. Thanks!



Author's Response:

You're welcome! Thanks for leaving a review!

Reviewer: bellavoyager Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2013 11:38 AM Title: Chapter IX

Fantastic story. Loved that they got to go to the stars after all. Great work



Author's Response:

Thanks bellavoyager, and I'm glad you stuck with it til the end!

Reviewer: Vulcan Eyebrows Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2013 3:18 PM Title: Chapter VIII

I've read the end of this chapter five times over since yesterday. It's perfectly executed. PERFECTLY. So many feelings! I can't even begin to tell you how much I love the part where Kirk feels Spock is caressing him as if he's precious and fragile. The bond itself would help him differentiate the feeling of sexual contact with Spock versus Stonn's abuse, but I feel that scene hit that point home flawlessly. Like I said in my last review, you make this so realistic. You're an extremely talented writer.

I'm sad the next chapter will the last one but I'm really looking forward to seeing how this story wraps up, and your future work! Kudos!



Author's Response:

Awwww! Thanks Vulcan Eyebrows! Thanks so much for your feedback.

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2013 1:19 PM Title: Chapter VIII

They create their bonding. Good.

Reviewer: Vulcan Eyebrows Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/01/2013 12:43 AM Title: Chapter I

I have a huge addiction to hurt/healing stories, so I'm really enjoying this. I love how you've developed the relationship between Kirk and Spock in such a real manner. It's clear that after such an ordeal Kirk wouldn't trust anyone, but it could certainly grow as it has with the respect and consideration Spock treats him with. In particular, I really liked the nightmare scene; found it quite touching how Spock took Kirk back to bed and fought off what was hurting him.

This fic really pulls on the empathy strings... It's impossible to not feel pity for Kirk enduring so much abuse but it's equally refreshing to see Spock's attempts to heal and save him.


Thank you so much for this great read! I can't wait for the next chapter.



Author's Response:

Hi Vulcan Eyebrows, thanks for your review, and for your valuable feedback. I'm glad this is giving you enjoyment! I hope that the next chapter is just as enjoyable!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2013 8:10 PM Title: Chapter VII

Oh oh, Jim, please don't leave, or take Spock with you...

Author's Response:

Never fear, Jim's not leaving without his Spock.

Reviewer: mi17 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2013 9:09 PM Title: Chapter VI

I am happy for the two of them, but I worry. There is still the bond, of how they became bonded, and Stonn. Hopefully this calm before the storm will last a bit yet. Thanks for this.



Author's Response:

You're welcome! And thanks for leaving a note... You're right to worry - those are the very things that need to be resolved. And never fear, Stonn's going to get what's coming to him...

You must login (register) to review.