Reviews For Phoenix
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/24/2018 12:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

Fantastic story! Of course, I suspected Sylak from the beginning, just for the way he treated Jim, but I never saw Janice Lester coming!! Wow! Epic use of a canon antagonist, there. Well done.

Loved the old, married couple theme, loved the way they complemented each other. Loved that Bones is always there for them. Loved Sarek’s acceptance of their relationship. I’ll definitely come back to this story. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: rosebud Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2018 1:53 AM Title: Chapter 1

I have never cried at a fic before now. This made me experience emotions I didn't even know I had! Excellent. Heart-wrenching. Truly human. A+

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/23/2014 3:53 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is terrific. You did a great job with it and I love that you referenced one of the animated episodes. They're greatly under appreciated. 

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2014 1:34 PM Title: Chapter 1

- nur wunder, wunder schön! Mit Inhalt und voller Fantasie.  Stilvoll und edel.

 

Danke,

Mehr als nur schön

Tiefer dank

Gruß aus köln

Ulla

-

Reviewer: ryokoyuy Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2014 6:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

FABULOUS <3

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/02/2014 10:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

Loved this................ there are so many layers to your writing, some more subtle than others - totally didn't see Lester coming!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm glad the ending came as a surprise. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed this story. 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2013 8:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is lovely, so full of tenderness, but then also multicoloured, with lots of suspense and some trait of "smallvillishness".

At a certain point I feared you would let them die on me...in the healing trance I was lead to a calm and serene acceptance. Masterly done!

Two words hold a powerful message - MELD ME. He can't do it by himself, he can only ask for it and welcome it. I sometimes think: how much more complete would our lovemaking be, if we could meld more than our bodies in that way!

I'd galdly give it a rating over 10 if I could.



Author's Response:

I can't thank you enough for such a lovely review. I have a soft spot for this story. It was the first TOS piece I attempted, and I spent months on it. I'm so happy that you enjoyed it. Again, thank you. 

Reviewer: Farfalla Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2013 7:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

I'm glad I'm not the only one who has conversations (usually with myself) about what I'm reading. 

When you have a married couple who met through K/S reading K/S in the same room, conversations are inevitable. :P



Author's Response:

I envy you! My husband doesn't even like Star Trek. 

Reviewer: Farfalla Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2013 4:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

:) Nice job!

Some conversation from my household I must transcribe--

Me: Don't tell me it's going to be the space potatoes Jim was cooking.
Hypatia: Space potatoes? What?
(later)
Me: OHHH, it wasn't the space potatoes, it was the space apricots.

....and then: "OMG! Lester?! That came out of lefteenth field."

But anyway, good solid story from beginning to end!



Author's Response:

Hahahaha! I'm glad I'm not the only one who has conversations (usually with myself) about what I'm reading. You made me laugh! Thanks so much for reading. 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/03/2013 10:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

added to favorites. love the old Kirk and Spock. Generations was a dumb movie. I thought Sylak's antipathy and poisoning was pretty obvious but I didn't see that Lester thing coming. Bones is hilarious as always.



Author's Response:

I admit, I don't have the guts to watch Generations! I'm so glad you enjoyed this enough to add it to your favorites. Thank you so much for reading!

Reviewer: missfae Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2013 6:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoyed this story.  What a wonderful for me to come back to after being off the board for so long.  Thank you forposting.  hugs



Author's Response:

Thank you so, so much for reading! I had a long day at work, and your comment gave me the biggest smile when I got home. Hugs! 

Reviewer: Vulcan Eyebrows Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/18/2013 2:12 AM Title: Chapter 1

I loved this story so much that I had to create an account here just to tell you that!!!! I LOVE LOVE LOVE how you've explored the depth of Kirk and Spock's long-lasting marriage and how each expressed his adoration for the other. One of the parts that really sticks out is when Kirk carried Spock in the bath when he was really sick.

Your portrayal of everyone was perfect and how you wove in characters and events from different parts of the TOS timeline made this story that much more enjoyable.

Thank you so much for this amazing read!!



Author's Response:

I am so flattered you actually made an account just to leave this comment! Thank you a million times. I'm happy you felt everyone was in character, but I'm especially  glad that you liked Jim carrying him to the bath. That made me so sad to write, and I considered taking it out, wondering if people would consider it TMI...but I left it, so it's awesome to know that scene stuck out in your head. Thank you again!  

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2013 4:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

What a marvelous story! Everything about it feels right: the characterizations, the premise, the excellent writing. The balance between hurt/comfort and the whodunit plot elements is perfect. I especially loved the scenes of Spock’s first hospitalization; the tenderness between them is just lovely and absolutely in character. I also like the idea that being bonded does not guarantee perfect communication or preclude the possibility of misunderstandings. While this helped advance the plot, it also added depth to your portrayal of their longstanding relationship.

As for the villain, I was feeling more and more uneasy about Sylak as the story progressed, but then was completely surprised by the revelation that “he” actually was Janice Lester. A great plot twist! Thanks for sharing a real keeper.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading! I was nervous writing this, because it was my first TOS story of any length, so I'm thrilled you liked the characterizations. I watched the TOS films in depth to try and get the voices right! Initially, I had delusions of this being an infidelity story; but as I got writing, it seemed more plausible that they might simply grow apart (or believe themselves to have grown apart). That way, everything could be mended, but it still allowed an exploration into the limitations of being bonded, that proper communication was still necessary for their relationship to be successful.

I'm so happy the plot twist wasn't a total cliche! I feared it had been done to death, but I loved the idea of using her as the villain. When I first outlined this, I still had a few episodes of TOS to watch. I had a blank space in the outline for Sylak's identity, and then I watched Turnabout Intruder. My jaw dropped, and this happened.

Thanks again -- your comment just made my day! 

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/10/2013 8:50 PM Title: Chapter 1

Absolutely brilliant! I did think Sylak (obviously) but was thinking along the lines of a possible Romulan Commander's son..Janice Lester? Never. And yet it's so..logical. ;) Obsessions like that are so long-lived.

More,please!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading! I'm so happy that you enjoyed it. I love the idea of Sylak having been the Romulan Commander's son -- that would have been a great twist! 

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2013 11:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a fantastic read!  This was such a perfect balance of h/c, suspense/mystery and love/romance . . . you hit all of my ooh and ahh spots perfectly!  Kudos, a ten, and a standing ovation (even if you can't see it) all wrapped up in one!  Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you so, so much for reading! I'm thrilled that you enjoyed it. 

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/09/2013 5:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

I started reading this at 11 thinking I would read part and finish tomorrow.  Oh well, its worth the lack of sleep.  This story rolls gently along so full of affection between and for the characters.  I loved the twist in the end and the angst and romance.  My favorite part because I am a geek was the descriptions of Vulcan architecture.  I saw each building clearly.  I respectfully request that you consider writing a fic about how they got together.  The brief description was, uh, thrilling.  Great story!



Author's Response:

Awww, I'm really sorry about the lack of sleep, but I'm so happy you liked it enough to stay up and finish! I hadn't considered writing the story of how they got together, but...actually, that would be really fun. Maybe after big bang season ends! Thank you so much for reading. Drink lots of coffee today!

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 6:35 PM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoyed this very much indeed. Very well plotted, very well written and the characters were perfectly represented. An excellent read, a great emotional connection a little hot bed action but not over done. A little suspense, especially early on, I really could not be sure where you were taking this. Such a treat. 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading! I spent months on this, so I'm gratified that you felt everyone was in character. Thank you again -- you made my afternoon! 

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 5:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow! What a great story! Loved the mystery, the suspense, the characterizations and the texture of the guys' lives together. It warmed my heart to see Kirk reading old-fashioned paper books -- and cooking! What a treat to end the story with a trip to Ardana and to find that Vanna has become High Advisor. You go girl!

Thanks for a whomping good read.



Author's Response:

A couple months ago, I ran across a photograph of William Shatner leaning over a stove, blowing on something he was cooking. Ever since that day, I've had it in my head that Kirk is an at-home gourmet. I'm so, so happy you enjoyed this. Thank you very much for reading! 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 4:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

I am always so pleased to see mature fiction posted on the archives.  For some of us, going at it like bunnies is not the attraction to K/S.  It's the relationship between these two men that is so interesting.  So kudos to you for creating what is all too much overlooked - a story about Kirk and Spock as they age with just a hint of spice to make it nicer.  Well done.



Author's Response:

I'm so touched by your comment. I love the dynamic between them, the way they interact and co-exist, and it was exhilarating exploring that. I'm so happy you enjoyed this. Thank you very much for reading! 

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 12:37 PM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful.  Definitely a keeper.  Janice Lester.  Like, the LAST person I would have expected.  Awesome thriller; I can't wait to read it again!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm relieved you honestly didn't suspect her -- the entire time I wrote this, I wondered if it would be painfully obvious or cliche, but I couldn't think of anyone else batty enough to use as a villain. I'm thrilled you liked it enough to re-read. Thanks again! 

You must login (register) to review.