Reviews For A Different Corner
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/14/2015 5:44 PM Title: Chapter 26

When I came to this chapter and read that they were getting married my first reaction was, wait WHAT?!?! I'm with Bones here. Jim is really acting rash. Did he not forget that Spock left because he cheated on him? Sure he may want to commit to Spock now but dies he really have the ability to sublimate his own needs for someone else's? 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/18/2015 12:01 PM Title: Chapter 28

Leave it to Lori to ruin everything!!



Author's Response:

Oh, that woman! :)

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/18/2015 2:15 AM Title: Chapter 14

Kirk is really being a dick heel here. I can't help but feel like he's using Spock as this off the shelf partner he can do what he wants with. Does he not remember that he rejected Spock and not the other way around? I couldn't help but wonder is Kirk deliberately screwing with him or is he so selfish he doesn't even consider what he's doing to Spock? I don't know if you got the memo Kirk but no means no!



Author's Response:

Like a lot of men, especially alpha men, he feels entitled to have his cake and eat it too! 

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/18/2015 1:50 AM Title: Chapter 12

YAY TAS! Very under appreciated!!!!!!



Author's Response:

Ah, I see you found your way to my little story, Ms Moxie!  :)  Yeah, TAS was cheaply made, but the stories weren't half bad!  I actually read the "Star Trek Logs" based on TAS long before I saw TAS, so I don't see them as awful as most people do, I'm sure! 

 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2014 9:40 AM Title: Chapter 37

“For years, Jim Kirk was Spock’s superior officer, an authority figure.  A proxy father, if you want to get Freudian.  Jim gave Spock the approval you withheld from him for so many years.  Spock’s had stars in his eyes ever since.”

 

Exactly.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2014 5:51 AM Title: Chapter 38

This story is captivating. I continued to have this uneasy fealing that this relationship is not quite right, too much dependence and subterfuge and focus on physical joining and pleasure. I was actually glad when with the crisis of Spock missing the fic made a kind of somersault and the problematics all came out, not to drive them apart, but to unite them really in depth. Well done indeed, thanks for writing and sharing!



Author's Response:

I've always been fascinated by stories of love that turn into obsession - just had to write one.  I've always been intrigued by how one's emotional wounds and unresolved conflicts can affect one's life for many years.    Thanks for reading and commenting!  Dee.

Reviewer: stardrop Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2014 3:43 PM Title: Chapter 38

Again, WOW! This was such an interesting alternative history of the course of the boys' lives. Earlier in the story, I bitched about the change in perspective from 3rd person to 1st person, but having read the whole thing, the style does add texture and depth to what the characters are experiencing. Crazy Spock (who caught it from Sarek! Love Bones' turn of phrase) is almost inevitable, but of course the power of KS love overcomes all. In a manner that is as messy and complicated and painful as real life.

Very satisfying read.

Author's Response:

In a manner that is as messy and complicated and painful as real life.

 

Yes indeed!  Glad you enjoyed and thanks for commenting! d.

Reviewer: stardrop Signed starstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2014 4:20 PM Title: Chapter 19

First off: wow! What a roller coaster.

I do have a niggle, though: why the mid story change to first person Spock?

You've got me hooked and it's not enough to stop me wanting to see how Spock's Stepford Wife dream and Jim's commitment phobia collide, but it is jarring.

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/12/2014 10:00 PM Title: Chapter 1

I got an account just to say how good this story was!  Talk about an emotional rollercoaster man.  Thank you.  :D  <3



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  So kind of you to do so!  You made my day - thanks!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2013 9:50 AM Title: Chapter 34

Sarek can sure be a bully sometimes. I do wonder who Jim has in mind. It will not be that easy to get rid of Jim, Sarek. He'll find a way to convince you, that he is perfect for your son.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2013 9:42 AM Title: Chapter 33

OMG..I can't believe what Sarek just said. I know that from an outsiders point of view, it may look like their relationship is rocky, but it seems that Sarek doesn't want to hear anything else Jim has to say, only the negative.

Knowing Jim, it won't be their last goodbye, and Spock will sure have a say in this.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2013 8:30 PM Title: Chapter 31

I'm sorry I haven't had the chance to finish this story, but now I'm back on it...plus I see you wrote a new one...

Getting back to this story, I was getting worried like the rest of them...where could Spock have gone....Now, we know he was on the Enterprise...

Spock is at the Fleet Hospital....hope he's okay...

Nail biting suspense...Well done.

Shall read more as soon as I can..

Reviewer: Dunyazad Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/31/2013 2:49 PM Title: Chapter 38

A very satisfying ending, and a lovely ceremony. This has been an intense and emotional journey. It is interesting that the Sarek's belated acceptance of the fact that he could not control his son has led to resolution of the other serious conflicts in this story. The insight you had McCoy articulate was right on --- that part of the reason Spock became so hopelessly drawn to Kirk was that Kirk was an authority figure who, unlike his father, accepted him for who he is. Sarek's insistence on controlling and dictating to Spock seems to have been the keystone of the dysfunctional edifice that you've portrayed in this story, and once it crumbled, other conflicts could be resolved.

I am hoping that now that Kirk and Spock are settled in civilian life, they can volunteer some of their time for Disability RIghts Interplanetary, challenging places like the psych ward that Spock unfortunately was forced to send time in.

Thank you for an enjoyable ride and for keeping us on the edge of our seats. Take the rest you've earned, but be back soon!



Author's Response:

Yes, daddy issues invariably lead to relationship issues from what I can see.

Thank you for your comments over the past months! I've enjoyed all your feedback - you always have some extremely insightful observations!  D

Reviewer: Roger786 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/31/2013 5:18 AM Title: Chapter 38

Beautiful ! Thank you !

Reviewer: Naughtytrekker Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/31/2013 2:47 AM Title: Chapter 38

Loved it. 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2013 10:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for so many pleasurable chapters and a redemptive finale.



Author's Response:

My pleasure!  D.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2013 9:59 PM Title: Chapter 38

Yay!!! This was perfect. I couldn't imagine a better ending. Your sharing of your gift has thrilled and inspired me. Thank you so much. I hope to see your work again soon.

Author's Response:

And thank you!  You were my little cheerleader and you helped keep me going! 

Yours truly - D.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2013 10:10 AM Title: Chapter 37

Oh bravo! Is that it? It could end there and I'd be happy. Of course I want more always, but that's just because I crave good stories. What a wonderful tale. Thanks so much.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2013 3:26 AM Title: Chapter 37

McCoy's moving to Savannah? Well, shit. :D I could say more on this subject but this is a family blog. Website. Whatever.

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2013 12:28 AM Title: Chapter 37

Lived in Savannah ... beautiful, but hot and humid as hell.  I think it's the last place Sarek would pop into for a vaca.  Now that Jim and Spock are back together and Sarek has changed his mind, maybe it's time he and Amanda had a reconciliation of their own.  Enjoyed it as always!

You must login (register) to review.