Reviews For Getting To Know
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Mythrissa Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2018 10:41 AM Title: Chapter 2

Among the many things that bug me about our beloved show is McCoy's sanctioned racism/xenophobia. And let's not mention the sexism. You've managed to making a heart warming, hot little fic that tackles serious issues head on. Well done!

Reviewer: sundara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/06/2015 8:28 PM Title: Chapter 2

How have I missed this gem?? Why don't more people write Spock as alien?? Because he certainly is, and you've captured that so very, very well. Thank you!!

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2014 12:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Doofes, Ende

ansonstrn wirklich, wirklich schön

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 4:19 AM Title: Chapter 1

Yay!  Thanks for having Kirk call McCoy on his xenophobia; McCoy's attitudes have horrified me for years.

 

Reviewer: Bedwench Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/09/2013 9:45 PM Title: Chapter 1

Loved this story. The dynamic between Spock and Kirk is fab.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I love hearing from readers, it's such a nice treat!

Rae

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/01/2013 5:46 PM Title: Chapter 2

I really liked the dressing down Jim gave Bones. And I laughed out loud at Jim`s version of "write 50 times: I will never again needle the resident Vulcan".

But the love story was extraordinarily beautiful. Jim confessing his feelings during that first conversation and then the shower scene and then the love-making... I sat here sighing and a little teary-eyed and grinning like mad - sometimes all at once.

Thank you for sharing this.



Author's Response:

Your review made me smile. You hit a lot of my own favourite highlights and it's fun to remember writing them. Bones' homework was a great treat to invent, as was his whole revelation thing.

Thanks for writing back.

Rae

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 11:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoyed this story as well. Love how you wrote Spock being completely oblivious for his feelings of Jim. Only when he decides to take things in hand...(pun intended) does he realize how much Jim has been affecting him, all this time. It was hiding behind a Vulcan wall, all these feelings for his commander. That wall starts to crumble, and he accepts the truth. Spock is in love...and decides Jim is the logical choice. Great job, this was hot...yum

Author's Response:

Thank you! It was really fun to try writing from a Vulcan point of view. I am not a Vulcan, by any stretch, so it was fun to try getting into the man's head. I'm glad that you got that.

Best, Rae

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 7:10 AM Title: Chapter 2

Wonderful developement! I loved McCoy's reactions! thanks for sharing



Author's Response:

Thank you for the very nice comments. I loved putting McCoy through the same hoops that Jim had gone through much earlier, and alone!

Rae

Reviewer: Kiwigirl Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 3:13 AM Title: Chapter 2

Im glad to see Bones has apologised to Spock, and so he should.  Jim and Spock are  so hot and sexy together. Great job lol.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!

Rae

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 1:43 AM Title: Chapter 2

I always did think that McCoy was a very obnoxious out-of-the-closet bigot where Spock was concerned (I think it stemmed from jealousy, but I'm not sure if he was more resentful of Kirk's relationship with Spock or Spock's relationship with Kirk).  Everyone else seemed to get a free pass, but the needles came out rather sharply where the first officer was concerned and I never bought into that being the way he demonstrated friendship - if that was true, then he must not have liked anyone else on the ship, because he never called them a racial slur or denigrated them in any way.  I loved the way you had Jim very publicly put him in his place and require him to do some 'homework' to get his butt out of the doghouse, although you did let him have the last word, but thankfully they were happy ones.  I loved it and thank you for sharing!

p.s. where is the happy couple going to be honeymooning?



Author's Response:

Thank you! Yes, McCoy's bigotry was always something I disliked about him. We have to look at the times, of course - in the sixties that was perfectly okay, and actually sort of the 'done thing' among us, to make fun of those different from us. It wasn't even classed as racism or bullying. But I wanted to fix that in this story, and not allow it to enter my K/S future.

Glad you liked it.

Rae

PS - I'll post my first fic, The Vacation, next week and you can tell where I would send them on a honeymoon.

Rae

Reviewer: Kiwigirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/25/2013 1:09 AM Title: Chapter 1

Way to go Captain Kirk. Bout time someone pulled McCoy up on his continued Vulcan bashing,



Author's Response:

You bet your arse it was! That was one of my favourite parts.

Thanks!

Rae

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/24/2013 9:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very fine. I love it. Well done.

Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response:

Chuckle. Thanks. I'm grinning

Rae

You must login (register) to review.