Reviews For Problem Child
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2013 8:46 AM Title: Chapter 13

Wow, the summary doesn't do justice to this fantastic story, it was even better than I'd expected.  Thank you so up,uch for sharing it.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you enjoyed.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/23/2013 6:03 PM Title: Chapter 13

Damn if that isn't one of the SWEETEST stories on the Archive!

Thank you!

~AKO

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2013 3:42 AM Title: Chapter 13

I passed up reading this story once, because of the subject matter.  For some reason tonight decided to read it anyway.  Good decision on my part.  I really loved how you worked through all the conflicts, and how beautifully you introduced David and integrated him into their lives.  I should have stopped reading hours ago but couldn't make myself quit until I'd read it all.  You are a wonderful writing and I thoroughly enjoyed this story.  Thank you for sharing it.

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2013 1:48 AM Title: Chapter 1: Impossible

This was beautiful - I loved it!! Sad to see it end though!

 

And I love the decision to send David with Judy - first because it slams the door on any possible notion that Judy is just some evil witch who stole Jim's sperm, and second, because I also agree that Jim's Enterprise isn't an adequate place to raise a child.  I also liked that Jim was forced to seriously consider whether to prioritize fatherhood or career - his decision to place his career first was completely in character, I think. Frankly, I can't really buy into other fanfiction stories where he does the opposite!

 

 

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2013 11:06 PM Title: Chapter 13

And I love this story, thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2013 3:53 PM Title: Chapter 12

Oh, lovely.   I loved the decision to share custody with Judy.  I think that David was very relieved to know that he would be spending time with his Mama but would still see Jim and spend time with him.  I loved the wedding and I really loved that the entire crew presented them to be married - I got weepy.  I loved Jim's (and Spock's) concerns about the bond.  I was glad that the Vulcan he turned to was more than willing, and understanding enough, to settle his concerns.  I can't wait to see where else this story takes us.  :)

 

Thanks so much!



Author's Response:

Thank you!

I decided that needed to be a Vulcan wedding tradition-- an elder acting as confidant to the groom- (or bride-) to-be.

I'm glad the whole crew giving them away went over so well!  That was utter mushiness on my part :-)

Thank you for commenting!

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2013 3:46 PM Title: Chapter 12

I was hoping that they'd be able to find a way to keep their little family together on The Enterprise.  At least David was able to be at his dad's wedding.  Did I miss Spock's decision on what David could call him?  I loved the part where David put his hand in Sarek's and I almost wish that David had moved in with him on New Vulcan.  I hope Jim and Spock's bonding and honeymoon go well.  I look forward to the next chapter and thank you for sharing!



Author's Response:

No, you didn't miss the decision.  It's coming up in the next chapter.

I really tried to figure out a way to keep David on the Enterprise but I just couldn't do it.  I guess that reflects my own prejudices, but I do believe that a Starship is no place to raise a family (unless you're 100 years later and there are lots of families)

I really did toy with the idea of sending David to live with Sarek, and I toyed with the idea of sending him to live with Winona... but I just couldn't see keeping him apart from his other mother.  

Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2013 3:24 PM Title: Chapter 11

I just finished re-reading this.  I wanted to be fresh on the details so that I could read the newly posted chapted.  This fic is really wonderful, I have to say.  I'm finding it really interesting how much Jim and Spock are learning about themselves and about each other as a result of David's arrival.  I'm a total sucker for kid!fic, too, so you had me from the start!

 

Thanks so much!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you've enjoyed it!

Reviewer: mi17 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/19/2013 1:03 PM Title: Chapter 12

This is such a lovely story about relationships. When I first saw the summary I was thinking it'd be a kidfic, but this is so much more than that and it's wonderfully so. 

I also have to add that this is the most beautiful wedding ceremony I've ever read. It wasn't the vows, nor the descriptions of how good they looked, it was the emotions you were able to portray through the simple things like the "We do" and the talk with Sumil. 

Thank you for sharing this.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I fretted and fretted over the ceremony, first trying to decide what kind of ceremony (I'm actually the one who liked those traditional vows in this scenario. it was four words-- 'from this day forward'-- that sold me on this traditional western ceremony because that's what the whole story was about... what happened when.)  Then I fretted over the details, and trying to figure out what would change over the course of two hundred years and what would stay the same, etc.  I discarded several versions of the giving away...  In short, I wrote and rewrote the wedding scene, then discarded it and wrote it again.  Probably five weeks of my eight-week delay was because of those stupid vows.  So I'm really relieved it hit the right notes!

As for Sumil and 'the talk', it just occurred to me that 'the talk', in one manifestation or another, must be practically universal.  I liked the idea that the Vulcans were just expecting to answer the anxieties of the betrothed ;-)

 

Thank you for reviewing!

Reviewer: riekel Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2013 7:24 PM Title: Chapter 11

Please update soon!! I loved your story! Everybody's so in character - emotional, but responsible and professional Kirk (as he is becoming in AOS and as he was in TOS); Spock - rational, devoted, but somewhat conflicted deep inside, and McCoy with his heart of gold, it is really such a pleasure to read. 

David is his father's son, oh yeah, little brat :)

And this parralles in relationships: Judy/Carol and Spock/Kirk, that was a pretty strong part, very cool.

All in all this is one of the best fics I've ever read.



Author's Response:

I know I'm overdue for an update...  I'm trying to wrangle the last chapter into submission.  So far, I think it's winning.

Reviewer: M E Carter Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/15/2013 2:18 AM Title: Chapter 11

It's long past time that I let you know how much I love your writing, so thought I would start with this wonderful story. There is so much to admire: believable plot, emotional complexity, and a writing style that's straightforward and yet perfectly descriptive. I also think your command of these characters is flawless, which makes reading a genuine pleasure. Thanks, and I look forward to more!



Author's Response:

Thank you for the praise.  I really appreciate it.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2013 3:30 PM Title: Chapter 11

*grumbling*  I wish I weren't so invested in this damned story!

(PLEASE update soon!)

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thanks for commenting.  I'm sorry I'm not updating more regularly.  I really need to not kid myself about WiPs.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2013 9:00 AM Title: Chapter 1: Impossible

One thing about this fic is that it is realistic. The journey to forgiveness is slow and painful rather than lovey dovey. But you have also covered the differences between warships and exploratory diplomatic misson designed vessels of the later Starfleet era. i do laugh though this is SO JT Kirk's son!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you're enjoying.  And I'm glad you think it's realistic.  I consider that a great compliment.

Reviewer: SparklyLala Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2013 5:08 AM Title: Chapter 10

Bones, I love you but you are an ass...although he is right, and I think that they grew stronger for it :D. Great, great story...everything fits so perfectly together and you had me at the edge of my seat couple of times. Just, great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you're enjoying!

Reviewer: Winterrose Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2013 2:58 PM Title: Chapter 10

Wonderful chapter! sooo glad at least a couple things are on the way to being sorted.

thanks very much



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you're enjoying

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2013 6:12 AM Title: Chapter 10

I dearly love this story!

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: pintospirk Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2013 2:57 AM Title: Chapter 10

Oh boy. Well things are looking up at least. I want David to call Spock Samekh. That would be cool.



Author's Response:

I will take that into consideration ;-).  Thank you!

Reviewer: Arcadii Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/09/2013 2:52 AM Title: Chapter 10

I think Jim has a reason for feeling optimistic, he's growing into a good dad as well as a responsible lover.  Spock and Jim aren't the only ones in a state of aniticipation and I also can't wait to find out what Spock thinks David should call him.  Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you're enjoying!

Reviewer: geniusfollower Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2013 10:14 AM Title: Chapter 9

This story is very very good. I like that you have not made one party completely innocent and the other party the mean one. Pretty awesome :)



Author's Response:

Thank you!  That's an ongoing theme in my writing.  I just don't believe in black and white.

Reviewer: BatsNBirds Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2013 3:55 AM Title: Chapter 9

Oh man I hate it when Jim's an asshole in stpries ;w; I really do. Hopefully, he won't continue to justify it to himself, and he will apologize and mean it. And better understand Spock.

I loved when Spock said that he'd been working for ten years, and Jim'd always thought it was easy. That was awesome. And McCoy is doing a pretty great job as a friend. I understand his reluctance to play mmmy in this dispute, though I think things could get back to happy life if he would take a more active role. It's better for everyone if he doesn't. Prolly. I can't tell the future.

Thank you for the update! I'm very excited to see where this will go. I haven't forgotten about David either. I'm anxious about how this "Mama" is going to effect everyone. Truthfully I probably won't be too kind to her for abandonning David like that without good reasons to change my mind. Anyways, thanks again!



Author's Response:

Aww.  See, I like a very human Jim who makes mistakes.  Especially if he owns up to them.  Thanks for commenting!

You must login (register) to review.