Reviews For Onto the Deep Blue
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 10:46 PM Title: Chapter 1

What a wonderfully clever idea for a new life for Kirk and Spock!  It suits them beautifully; I'm thrilled that you thought of this.  I wish the people who'd written the movies had your imagination!

 

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 2:13 AM Title: Chapter 2

This was every bit as good as the first story and even more exciting because we can see them begin their new life.  This is a wonderful idea - the two of them on a sailing ship in this new career with whales (nice tie in to the movie).  Sigh.  This is lovely.  I see a long night ahead of me as I read each story all over again (I find new things every time I read).  Chris

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2013 2:49 PM Title: Chapter 2

I loved this part just as much as the first one.

The way you created all the original characters, gave them voices and faces, I admire you for that. They truly came alive for me, and the fit so well into the story.

This was delightful reading. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thanks again! Original characters are always a stretch in fanfiction, and I try to write them so that they work well with our favourites. Love getting your reviews!

Best

Rae

Reviewer: Zzickle Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/24/2013 3:28 AM Title: Chapter 1

Interesting. Not a second-career choice I would've thought of, but I like it.



Author's Response:

I'm pleased that you do like it. I had the full star trek exposure as a child and teen, which included multiple references to Kirk as a sea-going fella - and it just felt right when I wrote it.

If you do choose to read the sequels (and prequel, if you missed Out of the Big Black) I hope you enjoy.

Best,, Rae

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2013 5:51 AM Title: Chapter 1

I didn't read the three in order, but I'm drooling for the remaining two.

The second chance is amazing and wonderful and I'm damn near crying in happiness for Kirk and Spock.

~AKO



Author's Response:

I'm so GLAD that you're enjoying it! I'm hoping to have a chance to look at grey and azure this weekend and get them out there. Thank you for replying!

Rae

Reviewer: Jenna Hilary Sinclair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2013 5:32 PM Title: Chapter 1

I couldn't read Out of the Big Black without immediately following with this story, the sequel.  I know I could just pull out the zine and read the whole thing in print form, but there's something special in reading from the archive and knowing that the stories are available to everyone.  (I know you'll be posting the remaining three stories soon.) 

I've always thought your introduction of the new characters in this story was so well done.  Love the gay ship!  Love Demi too, heck, even though she's hetero, LOL! 

Something that occurred to me after reading both Big Black and Deep Blue is how our attitudes toward homosexuality have changed since these stories were written. It struck me that Kirk's fear of his relationship with Spock being revealed seemed perfectly understandable from the perspective of the late 1990s or early 2000s.  It seemed reasonable for the reader to understand that Starfleet in Kirk's time might be homophobic to some extent.  And how enlightened Starfleet became by Picard's time!  Now, though, through the lens of all the progress we've made for LGBTQ rights, this seems like a quaint perspective.  My own work surely shows this same interesting and out-dated perspective.  It's a revelation of progress, and thank the stars for it! 



Author's Response:

Jenna!

Boy-howdy! LOL. But I think about that too, and living now in a more be-nighted part of the world, I think it's even more interesting than that. I think that we, us, were part of the solution.

We/us, made it better and more acceptable. We/us, made 'don't ask don't tell' simply unacceptable.

I think treksmut helped change the world as we know it for gays, just as trek itself helped change the world for people of colour (as they used to be known) and for science itself.

Smile.

Rae.

Reviewer: Kiwigirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2013 3:15 AM Title: Chapter 2

This is wonderful. They conqured the skies now they are set to conquer the seas. Update soon please. Love it.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. I hope to have the other three parts up soon.

Best-  Rae

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2013 9:24 PM Title: Chapter 2

Hey you,
I really, really like your storys and I'm eager to read the others of this series.
Jim and Spock are so cute and I can really imagine your words in pictures... Great.

Author's Response:

Thanks! I hope to get the other three up here soon. It's wonderful to hear from people who enjoy the stories.

Best - Rae

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2013 2:59 PM Title: Chapter 1

 He was horrified to find his mother's farm turned into a museum and shrine, 

LOL,he deserved it, Jim boy.

This is a exciting flic and full of vitality. Two chapters is too short.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you! Originally, it wasn't two chapters, but two independant stories, of course. When they were posted they were quite long for the fashion of the time... but there did end up being five of them. And I plan to put them all up, so I hope you enjoy them all!

Best - Rae

You must login (register) to review.