Reviews For Not Quite Yours
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2014 6:30 AM Title: Chapter 6

SQUEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/18/2013 4:28 AM Title: Buried Emotions

Such a good short focused vignette that says it all.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/17/2013 3:49 AM Title: Chapter 6

Incredible!  The last chapter was the best, really had more punch to it than it would as a stand-alone, because of the development in the MU.

I'm okay with destroying Gol.  Nasty place.

~AKO



Author's Response:

Awwwwwww thank you.  I have never felt such deep approval from people about blowing stuff up, as I have after writing of my deep-seated desire to blow up Gol LOL.

 

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 3:17 PM Title: Chapter 6

My my my my my.  Oh this was wonderful.  So, effective!  I was completely drawn into the AU and the way you transitioned the Spock and Jim there from antagonists not knowing each other, to antagonists who found it difficult to be antagonists when they knew came to know each other.  Completely mind-blowing sex and mind-melding sex ... wow.  And what courage or recklessness (not sure which to call it!) that 'our' Spock had there in the 'lost and then found' chapter.  I won't forget this story.  It was fantastic and your writing unbelievably good.  Thank you so much for posting it.



Author's Response:

Oh, wow oh wow, thank you, such a wonderful review from such a wonderful writer as yourself.... made my Monday morning, which was looking a bit daunting until I read this!  Thank you so much!

 

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2013 4:31 PM Title: Chapter 6

Any morw lost chapters lying around? XD



Author's Response:

LOL not for this story, no...  Thanks for asking..:)

 

 

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2013 1:53 PM Title: Chapter 6

Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwweeeeeeeeeeeee. *happy sigh* Spock is my hero. Lovely dialogue. Great job!



Author's Response:

LOL thank you!

 

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/17/2013 6:38 AM Title: Living in Chains

HAHAHA! Ten seconds and then knocked it back!

Love this! Escpecially that deep bond.



Author's Response:

Thank you, I was hoping someone would comment on that line.  If you count out ten seconds in your head, you will see how long it is.... LOL.  Oh, Spock,  you fool!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2013 12:33 AM Title: Buried Emotions

GOL MUST DIE!!!!!



Author's Response:

Why does the title 'Spock Must Die' leap to my mind?  Was there a novel called that?

I agree.  I think that is why JJ Abrams blew up Vulcan.  That and the childhood bullying of Spock.  But JJ Abrams does go a little over the top.

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 8:18 PM Title: Buried Emotions

"because honestly if I wrote that seriously, who would be interested?"

Half the damn planet, Sam. Half the damn planet. If AC Crispen, D Duane, et al can get theirs licenced  and published, so can YOU. Because you have not just a formidable talent but, i also feel, a CALLING to do this. xoxo



Author's Response:

Oh, fuck it, okay, you're on.  I'll give it a shot.  It may take a year.  Can I have some opinions, who wants slash and who would rather have subtext.  Bear in mind that it's me writing here.  Patricia, put it up as a challenge for me please and tell me IN DETAIL what you want and I will write it.  If nobody reads it, on your head be it!  And do you want TOS or Mirrorverse?  And how long?

I still want to blow up GOL.  I have wanted to blow up GOL since 1979.  (Sulks).  But I am guessing you want dead serious, intense, descriptive writing and no blowing up of GOL?

You do realise that if this ever gets published the one thing I am going to do is dedicate it to all of you as 'The aliens who made me do this!'?  Particularly to  you, Patricia!  (Stomps off to find a spare quill and new roll of parchment).

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 7:47 PM Title: Buried Emotions

This first chapter is brilliant. Spock fighting so hard to get rid of his emotions. Love the description of Vulcan...the sandstone. Your words, are just so poetic. Jim is really causing problems for Spock....surely Spock wonders how he manages to get under his skin..and I love the last line...

Spock should have read the fine print...lol..shall read more soon.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  I am having worries about this story now, let me know what you think of the remaining four chapters.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 3:32 PM Title: Living in Chains

Incredible. Totally, absolutely incredible. The ever-deeper mind meld and your inventiveness somehow remind me of your techy stuff which always fascinates me. I'm not sure I can explain that though--maybe the esthetic pleasure of the intensity of intricacy? (sounds good, anyway)

In any case, wonderful.

Also, I do love to be surprised (in stories)--and when Jim blew up Gol..that surprised me. I kinda liked it, too.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much.  Not quite sure what you mean in that first paragraph, but thank you.

LOL and the thing about Gol... wouldn't Mirror Jim do that?  I've been longing to write that for years.

Reviewer: ivycross Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 3:15 PM Title: Buried Emotions

That was perfect, savage and sweet in a mirrorverse-y way. Brilliantly done.



Author's Response:

Awww, thank you so much.

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 2:51 PM Title: Buried Emotions

I just finished reading Not Quite Yours on the Archive.

You know i love you, right? And that i love everything you write?

Please hold those two thoughts are the forefront of your mind, now.

It's an awesome story. And incredibly hot. You have a way with all words and it's honestly without compare, imo.

But when i moved from Chapter 1 into the hotness that is Chapter 2 ... i also felt ... cheated.

Sam, the way you write is .. captivating. Chapter 1 is easily on a par with the very very best commercially published Trek. (I think of AC Crispen's 'Sarek' plus, maybe, some of the works of Diane Duane and perhaps a few, assorted others.)

Actually, I think you have it within you to eclipse them all.

I know your 'contents' listed this as a MU story but honestly, Ch 1 is pure TOS. I had forgotten your premise as i read it. Ch 1 captures 'our' Spock and 'our' Kirk perfectly.

Chapter 1 of this story is pure Art. High Art. Literary accomplishment of the highest order.

When it moved to Ch 2 and "then pulled him close to stop him from getting at the knife he always keeps at his belt" provoked an awareness that i was in MU ... ok, that was still cool. It seemed we were still with 'our' boys, not their MU counterparts ... and then, "He may be only human, but this one is not stupid" tells me these are not our boys after all ... and then the hotness begins.....

Now, you know i love hotness and you know i love you, and 'your hotness' is particularly good. So, why did i feel cheated?

It's because you have it within you to be way better than that. Sam, you have it within you to write THE 'blow all other authors to Kingdom Come' DEFINITIVE star trek novel, exploring our boys psyche, exploring in particular, 'the gap years'. THAT's how good your Chapter 1 was; i thought i was reading the beginning of THE book that's missing from Canon.

You have it within you to write it. And i caught a glimpse of it burning, yearning to 'get out'.

Ch2-6 are great. But they're (god this is going to sound 'off') not what you're capable of. Many people can write hotness. Some can even do it well indeed. But no one else has your inner voice, your words .. what oft was thought, but ne'er so well expressed ... spilt, ink-black, on to paper (or 'screen' in this case).

Now, go write me some Canon ;)

I love you.
xoxoxoxo



Author's Response:

Thank you.  Your faith in my ability is very uplifting, and right now I really need that.

I'm sorry you felt cheated.  I wrote this to cheer myself up, because I do love Mirror Jim and Spock, in that sort of... 'god don't you love them and what if they were wicked as well, wouldn't that be hot?' kind of way.  I was trying to convey how they would be in serious denial and how the meld would keep undermining that, and making them realise their feelings for each other.  And how Jim in particular would feign indifference to Spock (the reading is an example) but his actions would bely that (blowing up Gol so Spock could not leave him).

I am beyond flattered by your assertion that I can write so well, but at this point I was simply trying to write a mirror Kolinahr fic given a few days enforced inactivity.  I am always forcing myself to write less depth, less length, because I am afraid that if I really get into writing K/S I will forget about the real world, my other novels, etc and lose myself in the world of these two for many months.  And no-one would read it, because honestly if I wrote that seriously, who would be interested?

 

 

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 12:39 PM Title: Buried Emotions

CHAPTER 1, FINAL JOTTINGS (lol)

   "You called it lust. I called it blood lust." 
i call it WORD LUST. i love your words!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

“You turn to me and say softly, ‘So how pissed off exactly are you, with me?’”
squeee! Waves of perfection!! Seriously. You could have taken several pages describing their relationship but you neatly and perfectly encapsulated it in 16 words. A portrait in ink.

 

   "That is when I decide that I really need to ask the masters at Gol for my money back."
more squeee!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

You need to come to Australia.  It is like the land of Mirror Vulcans.  You would love it, we all speak like this.

LOL I am loving how much you enjoy my stories.

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 12:26 PM Title: Buried Emotions

ok, i'm going to clog the system dammit but you just destroyed me with these words:

    Even me.

    I left, before you ate through me.

That went into my solar plexus like a well aimed fist. BRAVO!!



Author's Response:

Thank you.  BTW, you just nailed the visceral response that your pet pictures evince in me... 'went into my solar plexus like a well aimed fist' is EXACTLY what those pics do.  Can't help it.

Which is obviously, something that an unemotional vulcan should not allow themselves to feel.  (Faceplants).  LOL

Reviewer: spock2U Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/12/2013 12:21 PM Title: Buried Emotions

damn you sam taylor! i am but 2 sentences in. i LOVE your prose style! (a more considered review will follow in due course, lol)



Author's Response:

Thank you!  You are channelling my 'curse you, Red Baron!' comment from earlier, no doubt?  LOL thanks, means a lot to have reviews.

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/11/2013 3:24 PM Title: Living in Chains

LOOLOLOLOLOL! Oh my God. I don't think I can say enough pleasant, wonderful praising things about this fic. I just love it all. My favorite thing about your Mirror, is that you are much more lax with Mirror-Spock's emotions. I find it so much fun to read and to delve into his own deviousness and how well it plays off of Mirror Jim! Glad you posted this all together. :) It's says 5 stars, but really it's a place marker for 500 stars, lol.



Author's Response:

Awwwww, thanks, you have cheered me up after a difficult week.  I tried writing this from Spock's point of view so that I could show that he does have emotions, even if we can't see them.  Writing it from Spock's point of view and a lot of it in the privacy of Jim's quarters give me the leeway to show his emotions.  From the outside, he looks impassive and impassive doesn't give me much material to write about.  I am so glad you think I got it right, thank you.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/11/2013 2:51 PM Title: Burning Bridges

‘You blew up Gol.’!!!!

LOL, the only ward I can say is "Wow! Wow!" 

Enjoy the flic , it is a  mess of savage love. 



Author's Response:

Thank you.  I though Mirror Jim would come up with an original solution like this.

Glad you loved the fic.

You must login (register) to review.