You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 6:22 AM Title: Chapter 6

Lovely!

 

Reviewer: Bi trekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2013 6:21 AM Title: Chapter 3

I am waiting for how picatd meet and fell in love with a Q named Q

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 1:01 AM Title: Chapter 6

Reading this story again is like meeting a beloved friend after a long separation.  It's wonderful from the very first word.

 All relationships are joyous, loving and the humor is just lovely.  The love-making is off the scale.  

Highly recommend this series, this author.

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2013 2:45 PM Title: Chapter 6

I wanted to take my time reading the whole series and finally managed a day off to read.

I read this part twice because it was so moving, so beautiful, I just wanted to read it again.

"Generations" was the one movie that never made sense to me - somewhere in the comments on this archive, a few readers agreed that it is simply not canon, because Spock would have gone after Jim and gotten him out. I still think he would have! :-)

However, I loved this story so much. I loved that Jim was younger, that he was only old enough to spend the rest of his lifetime wiht Spock. I loved that Spock wrote a book about what REALLY happened in those first five years (and wouln`t I like to read that!) I loved how Picard was so gentle with Jim, understanding his confusion and being kind and understanding. I even loved the pon farr, despite its violence.

And I loved that they decided not to stay in StarFleet.

You caught their voices so well, everyone`s voice in the whole story, and in my head it now really happened like this.

Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for responding. I'm sorry it took me so long to reply. I loved Spock's book, too - I'd like to write it. You have really made my day with this review.

Best

Rae

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2013 1:01 AM Title: Chapter 6

Incredible reunion.

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Rae

Reviewer: Jenna Hilary Sinclair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2013 5:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

Yep, read this story last night too.  Like a visit with an old, comfortable, but still so-enlightening friend.  Out of the Big Black as a series is excellent, but for me this first story is the most rewarding. I love how Spock going into pon farr is so darn logical!  And the line where Kirk says it's the first time he's gone through pon farr without lube.... I mean, really, who could not love that line?  Cracks me up every time. Thanks for posting these stories to the archive!



Author's Response:

I can't thank you enough for reading and enjoying them again. It's very different, posting like this to an archive, rather than being part of a living community (well, of course, we're all living, but ASCEM back whenever had a communal energy that I have kind of missed... perhaps it's still out there somewhere? If anyone knows, I could use a point-me).

I'm always grateful that you saw Black and it's bruise-coloured cousins as fit to print in print.

Best always

Rae

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2013 1:38 PM Title: Chapter 6

Great story. I do hope you'll post the sequels.



Author's Response:

Thank you, WendyPlains - I shall. I plan to spend this coming weekend editing at least Blue and maybe Grey. I guess I'd best put up Emerald between them as they came in the 'zine.. look, I'm actually rambling at you! So sorry. But yes, I do intend to post them.

Best, Rae

Reviewer: Amanda Warrington Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2013 4:08 PM Title: Chapter 1

My review of this story published in the K/S Press #193

Out of the Big Black is a crossover with Star Trek TNG, featuring Picard and his lover, Q. Set a hundred years after Captain Kirk disappears into the Nexus, the story takes place after the events in the movie Generations (which the author freely admits to hating). Q finds Kirk asleep in a pod, having regressed to the age he was when he took command of the Enterprise. Fearing a trick by the Continuum, the Federation dispatches Ambassador Spock to verify the Kirk that Picard has found is his bondmate.

The story details Kirk's awakening in the new time, his difficulties in understanding the new technology, wondering what place he could possibly have in this 'new world', and more than anything, fearing his meeting with Spock.

There are some lighter moments, too, such as Kirk's reaction to Worf, and his delicate questions to Dr. Crusher to find out to what extent people are monitored in their quarters, afraid that if he jerks off, she'll know!

This story does come with a 'caveat lector': Spock on becoming reacquainted with his bondmate goes unexpectedly into spontaneous pon farr, and the author doesn't pull any punches in how brutal the encounter is. That scene is not for the faint-hearted or squeamish.

I found it wasn't necessary to know anything about TNG to appreciate this story. The narrative moves nicely, the dialogue is sharp, and I thought the characterisations particularly of Kirk, Spock and Picard were strong and three-dimensional. It was interesting to see Kirk, for once out of his depth and feeling very insecure about his connection with Spock after a century apart.  

The story comes with four more sequels which Rae promises she'll be posting on the K/S Archive in the coming months. Having seen the calibre of her writing I, for one, can't wait for more!



Author's Response:

Amanda!

Blush.

Blush blush blush. Yes I promise.

Warmest regards,

Rae



Author's Response:

Amanda!

Blush.

Blush blush blush. Yes I promise.

Warmest regards,

Rae

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/24/2013 9:14 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, just beautiful! Thanks so much for posting this. I'm eagerly looking forward to the sequels! AND you've made me a fan of P/Q, tho not anywhere near K/S! I've been enjoying Varaneeka's P/Q stories thanks to you.

And yes, Generations sucked big time! Thank you for correcting that! (Bill did the same in his pro books, but they're not nearly as much fun as your story - *wink*)

PS: If you need any help editing the sequels, I love doing beta work!

 



Author's Response:

Wow back! Thanks! I'm especially pleased that you looked up Varoneeka's stories. That could keep you in reading material for a few weeks - she did a lovely arc in P/Q world.

I'm ashamed to say that I haven't read any of Bill's pro-fic, but bookstores are rare in the middle east, and book stores with any kind of SF collection are even rarer. Can't even download to Kindle, thanks to censorship laws. (VPNs don't help because you have to have a legal billing address, blast them!)  But one day I'll be back in the west, and then... then... I shall read!

Thanks for your offer on the beta work. I've put your name in my notes! But Bacchus is still enjoying that task, at least for now.


Best, Rae

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2013 11:20 AM Title: Chapter 6

Thanks so much for posting this story. It was a wonderful read, just loved the reunion between them, even though the pon farr was a bit violent, but Jim couldn't deny Spock what he needed... later though they made love, which was so romantic and damn hot...Can't wait til you post the other stories. Thanks for sharing your work. Well done.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much. Years after, I have trouble reading that violent pon farr scene too. I  hope you enjoy where I sent the boys after that. You might enjoy the other story I put up, "Another Country Beckons", which is much more thoughtful... although much less sexy. Thanks again for responding.

Reviewer: salable_mystic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2013 12:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh, this was lovely. And I want to know what happens Next!!!

And, yes, bah, Generations.



Author's Response:

Thank you! Glad to know that others think Generations was the bottom. Even ST: The Movie had more going for it... okay, not, the effects were amazing for the time, and the sound was awesome... digresion complete. Next, in order, comes Blue, Emerald (in print before), Grey and Azure... and I will work very hard to edit them and get them up. I have the sad reality of becoming a real-life editor AFTER having written a goodly amount of fiction.

But I'd do it all again for comments like 'Lovely'. Thank you.

Rae

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2013 12:34 AM Title: Chapter 6

So happy to see this here. One of the earliest k/s stories I ever read. I hope you will post all in the series including "Beside the Emerald Sea" which I couldn't find online. This story was also an inspiration to one of my own. Thanks again for sharing it here.



Author's Response:

Hey!

Emerald Sea was print-only published with the 'zine of the other four stories, so it never did appear online. But it can, and will, now. I hope to get all the other four of that arc up soon. And I thank you for your comments, and for having read and responded.

Best, Rae

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 8:36 PM Title: Chapter 1

Lol: Two things to instantly like about this fic. Q and Kirk in a space pod in the TNG timeline. :P Off to read more later, but I definitely love where this is going. Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

Rofl! Thanks, hope it doesn't disappoint!

Rae

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 6:59 PM Title: Chapter 6

Oh wow. So wonderful. Thank you for sharing.

Author's Response:

You encourage me to put up the sequels! Thanks for responding.

Best, Rae

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 4:20 PM Title: Chapter 6

I thoroughly enjoyed reading this. Well done! xoxo



Author's Response:

Thanks! It seems like a million years since I wrote this... I plan on posting the 3 sequels and the integral sometime in the next month or so.

Best

Rae

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2013 1:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

JTKa292;18 years olda311;

OLOa292;18 or 81a292;he always is the gold one.

Thank very much for your work.



Author's Response:

Hmmm, guess I'm too old to understand your review. Except for the gold stars! Thanks for those.

rae

You must login (register) to review.