You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2014 6:09 PM Title: Chapter 1

s fic that deserves many more reviews than it has. Of all the episodes this has the best hung ending Reminding us that real life doesn't rap up easily. It's full of struggles and sometimes there is no easy answer sometimes you don't know if the answer is right. I'd not really thought of there being only one chance to choose. I like very much Spock looking at logic versus love and feeling at see. I like Bones coming to terms with how his personality gets him into a rant before brain is engaged. I also like rehabilitated Christine. And yes tge perspective works very well. Almost feels as if Spock is dissociated 

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/27/2013 6:40 AM Title: Chapter 1

Beautifully written.

And haunting.

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thank you - this episode has always haunted me so glad my attempt at a coda is haunting you.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2012 7:58 AM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoyed your story, your exposition of the characters feelings. I even enjoyed Chapel's boldness!

Yet, I feel this story needs a sequel...

thanks for sharing, good work!



Author's Response:

Apologies for my tardiness in responding to your review. Thank you for taking the time. You're not the first person to suggest a sequel since I'm suggesting this was a turning point in the relationship between Spock and Chapel. But I find myself more drawn to Kirk-Spock friendship writing, (and occasionally to Kirk-Chapel). Never say never though.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2012 9:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

Um, love. it.


I thought the Christine elements were good except for her explosion in the mess, which doesn't seem like her although I could understand if the situation with McCoy was really stressing her out. There also seems to be a bit of nurse partisanship going on in this story. I'm not in the medical field so I don't know what to make of it, but, hey, CC deserves to have a SuperNurse! storyline some time, why not now?

The whole thing with Kirk and Spock both overthinking things really worked just as a story in a generic sense no matter who the characters were and specifically with them because they're both pretty cerebral and they were under real emotional stress.


McCoy entrapping Spock was an obvious gambit although I was questioning if he was trapping Spock or in earnest about the captain during the dialogue.

2nd person worked well. It usually does not so that is quite extraordinary.

You sucked me in well. I was going to put it aside to get some work done and it reeled me back in.

Well done.



Author's Response:

Oh dear, just realised I never responded to your lovely and thoughtful review. I lost sight of this website for a while over the xmas holidays. Glad you loved it and thanks for your feedback. I've always suspected that offscreen CC was actually pretty feisty. And could easily see a Kirk-Spock failure to communicate scenario when faced with such an emotional experience. Neither of them cope well with emotions for different reasons and that's what makes their dynamic so interesting.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2012 6:14 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow...this is great

It felt so painful when all of their problems came to a head and they were so vulnerable. Edith was doomed to die. No timeline can convince me otherwise.

Christine was amazing as well. Seeing her so strong and confident was a treat



Author's Response:

Thank you for this. Yes, I agree, Edith had to die. But our starship captain doesn't believe in the 'no win scenario' so I found it easy to imagine he would search desperately for a way out. I enjoyed writing this cos I love this episode. I think Chapel has great potential for those of us searching for a strong female character in TOS   . I never liked her in the series but then read some great Chapel stories by Djinn and became a complete convert.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 5:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

Well I think this was just great :D

I'm not a fan of Spock/Christine, which you implied this was meant to be...  I think they have an understandiing, but are certainly not lovers in my my view.  Anyway, I liked the fact that this fic was open-ended and could easily be K/S if we wanted it to be (and it is K/Sarchive, after all :p ).  But more than that, I love the sensitivity of your writing, the emotiveness, the way in which you have delved into their psyches and explored things which the TV series barely touched on.  So much Kirk-Spock-McCoy holy trinity brotherlyness as well.  I think it was wonderful!



Author's Response:

It started as a challenge to write Spock/Christine but that just got me going. I always knew this was really about the K/S friendship but needed a third party (apart from McCoy)  for the story dynamic. I started from the premise that Spock would feel guilty about his inability to fully support his friend through such an emotional trauma. But, interestingly, I only realised exactly why he felt so guilty when I wrote that counselling scene -- I arrived at the realisation at the same time as he did. The muse is a wonderful thing.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 6:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

on parts--I've come to like having works posted in chapters so I can read them piecemeal if I don't have a lot of time. Maybe 3000 word chunks or so. Of course, I know splitting stories up can be a pain. We used to have to post in parts when we posted on Usenet because some people's servers would just truncate posts over a certain length. But it's gone from annoyance to convenience for me as a reader.



Author's Response:

It certainly seems easier to navigate chapters on this site than on fanfiction. Will consider for future postings.

Reviewer: Nejasna Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/12/2012 3:33 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was very difficult to read, you write about Kirk's feelings in much greater detail than people usually do when it comes to this episode and him dealing with Edith dying. I'm often left feeling like people believe it wouldn't have affected him much at all and he forgets about her so fast. Would you write a sequel to this? I'm interested in knowing about his reaction to Spock's confession and the whole healing process. I really liked how the whole idea - what if she was a wife and a mother and had other priorities in her life, maybe she could have lived without affecting the timeline - was presented as a realistic possibility and Spock not being able to trust Kirk with knowing this. Great story. 

btw - add Christine Chapel's name to the list of characters as a warning for Spock/Chapel 
I skipped reading the note in the begening where you mention it and it hit me in the face while I was reading the story, ew. 



Author's Response:

Only just realised this site allows you to respond to reviews (I'm new around here.) Thank you for this. Yes, I agree people often seem to underestimate how events in this episode would have affected Kirk. To me it was also obvious that Spock, seeing  that pain, would struggle to deal with it. And that Kirk would attempt to protect him from being exposed to such raw grief. A rich seam for a writer to mine. Thank you for this. Not sure about a sequel although I'd like to continue to explore these themes.

You must login (register) to review.