Reviews For Family Matters
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2012 10:34 AM Title: (complete)

You have done a wonderful job combing your story with the original universe and it had the right amount of angst witha happy ending.Thank you so much!



Author's Response:

You're very welcome. I was always intrigued by Spock's smiles in "Menagerie," and couldn't help but wonder at the change. I'm so llad you enjoyed my take on it.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/30/2011 7:23 AM Title: (complete)

You work is incredible.
They both are poor boneheads.
Glad to have a happy end.

Author's Response: Well, most people are boneheads at that age. ;-) Thanks for reading and for commenting—glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2011 4:28 AM Title: (complete)

I was pretty much aware that I'd be spending all night reading this...

...and it was six hours very well spent :) Beautiful story.

The carnival part had me giggling quite a bit, because the idea of Spock-or pretty much any Vulcan- sitting next to a huge stuffed animal is just that hilarious. Also, though it's mentioned only briefly, it was fun to see that the relationship between Number One and Spock was touched upon. I always wondered what that might've been like, and it was interesting to see it get some attention here.

And this story really made me feel sad about the fate of Sam and Aurelan, and of course I rejoiced when Jim and Spock got each other back. And it was just the right amount of angst and difficulties before that moment, not too much but just enough to make it feel rewarding. Great work, once again. :)



Author's Response: I'm really pleased that the story made Sam and Aurelan's deaths more real to you. I always felt there should have been more made of Kirk's relationship with his brother. Thanks for reading (even if it did take all night,) and for your wonderful comments. They're very much appreciated!

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/08/2010 9:31 PM Title: (complete)

This is a truly beautiful piece, and unlike one of the other reviewers, I thnk the second half works very well. I'm glad you didn't just let them fall back into each other's arms after the separation; they both had to work to overcome the pain and misunderstandings.



Author's Response: Thank you! And of course, I agree with you. *g* After such a perceived betrayal, I couldn't see Spock's reaction as being anything but to withdraw from emotions. Again, thanks, for reading and for your lovely comments.

Reviewer: 1lostone Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2010 5:47 PM Title: (complete)

This is beyond amazing.  I've come back to the fandom (reboot has drug me back lol) after awhile and know that I have missed so many wonderful stories. I really think this is my favorite of all the TOS fiction. My heart just broke, wondering if you'd keep to canon or not once they got to Deneva. I cannot thank you enough for such a beautiful piece of fiction.



Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful review! Though I never thought to change canon, I did feel that there had to be more to it, that Kirk's family deserved more than what the episode gave them. I'm so glad it worked for you. And it's great to hear that someone has returned to the fandom. Welcome back!

Reviewer: margarks Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/24/2010 1:28 AM Title: (complete)

omg. I cried through this entire story. I *ached* for Spock, and toward the end for Jim, too. So sad that they lost all those years in between, but I'm thankful for the happy ending.



Author's Response: There's no way I could ever have not given them that, especially after all they went through. I loved hearing how much it affected you; there's nothing quite like hearing that one of my stories evoked such an emotional response. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Unicorn Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2010 10:01 PM Title: (complete)

I absolutely love the first part of this story, all of the details of Kirk's family are irresistible, as well as Spock's reaction on them! I must admit that I don't like the second part that much, it is as if it wasn't fitting to the first which was so sweet. However, it is a very good ff ^^



Author's Response: Well, at least you enjoyed the first part. *g* Seriously, I couldn't imagine that their reunion would be anything but pleasant. They'd given up the innocence of youth to, ultimately, face their adult problems. I wish that had worked for you.

Reviewer: omega111 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2010 5:50 AM Title: (complete)

What a wonderful story!! Everything about it is just perfect. This has become my favorite story, one that I will be reading many, many times.



Author's Response: Thanks for the great comments! I'm glad you enjoyed it so much that you're planning several rereads. :-)

Reviewer: croatine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/25/2009 5:47 AM Title: (complete)

Usually I don't like stories in which Kirk and Spock had met before five-years mission, but I decided to read it anyway because it was written by one of the best authors here. I'm so glad I did! It is wonderfully written, so moving. And I love the way you showed gradually building sexual tension between them.

Thanks a lot!



Author's Response: You're very welcome! I'm especially glad you read the story, seeing that it isn't your normal cup of tea (and your stated reason for that made my day!) and that it worked for you. I've heard that there's quite a few people not overly fond of this particular scenario but, I have to admit, it's one of my favorites. Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely comments!

Reviewer: sundara Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/25/2009 9:12 PM Title: (complete)

Gilda, it was really satisfying getting to revisit this story online! I've always thought it was a great creative storyline for introducing our two boys well before the Enterprise. Spock's essential alienness is highlighted so well in your writing--the intrinsic differences in outlook and culture, leading to heartbreaking misunderstandings is exactly what happens with two such diverse cultures. Thank god for Bones...without him, these two might not have overcome their insecurities and heartaches. Lovely.



Author's Response: Thanks, I'm so glad you like it! It's always great to hear that one of my stories has made an impression, this one especially.

Reviewer: lobsangludd Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2009 2:40 AM Title: (complete)

what a great story!

 



Author's Response: Thanks, I'm glad you liked it!

Reviewer: FanoraJane Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/01/2009 7:44 AM Title: (complete)

Wow, you're good. I cried.



Author's Response: It's always great to hear that the story got such a strong reaction. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: Mirrorgirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2009 11:41 AM Title: (complete)

A heart-rending story spanning many years. I loved it and recommend it highly.

Author's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review. It's especially welcome since this story is so near and dear to me. It was a joy to write. So glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Ariss Tenoh Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2008 3:19 PM Title: (complete)

This was very interesting. I wouldn't have thought it possible to convincingly write a story where the two meet before they're on the Enterprise. What I really admire though is how you followed up on the repercussions of the short-lived affair and Spock and Kirk's meeting years later. Thanks for an entertaining read.

Reviewer: Idic Savant Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2008 1:22 PM Title: (complete)

This was a great way to bring young Kirk and Spock together. I liked the family you built for Jim - and, again, how in spite of loving them, he wanted to be off to the stars. Your Kirk was a trifle sweeter than I would ordinarily see him, but since you were showing him as a young man, it made sense. Poor Spock, though! Floundering in Jim's sea of emotional issues. I do so enjoy angst. Thanks for sharing this.

Reviewer: sexynelly Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/29/2008 6:17 AM Title: (complete)

Great work! I loved the title. I really enjoyed reading this and even stayed up extra late just to finish it in one night! I loved the emotions and angst throughout! Loved the bits with Kirk's family! :-)

Reviewer: christine Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/03/2006 10:28 PM Title: (complete)

I've loved this story ever since first reading it in the wonderful Beyond Dreams zine... It's a 'comfort story' for me now, one that I return to again and again... I especially love the scene in the morgue, which is very moving... Spock confessing his love for Jim even when he feels all is lost. A clever title, too.... I'd give the story an 11 if I could!

Reviewer: DS Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2005 8:23 PM Title: (complete)

I really love this story. In fact, it's one of my favorite K/S stories. ^_^ I read this story over and over again, you are so talented! Hope to see more stories from you!

You must login (register) to review.