You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Foxglove Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2016 1:06 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Fantastic work!

Throwing Sulu and Chekov into the mix was a lovely twist, well done!!

And also, I really loved the perspective shift between flashbacks and current events, and the way it neatly came together in the end

I also like that you kept it platonic between the two junior officers, people seem to find romantic or sexual relationships imperative to this kind of plotline and it just isn't the case. Just their friendship was enough to make spock realise.

Personally I have never shipped S/C as anything other than platonic partly because it’s such an easy thing to succumb to since they sit on the same panel, but also it is my headcanon that Sulu is asexual.

Reviewer: Another sky Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2014 3:00 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

So beautiful. I love the concept of Spock, scientist, observing the devotion of Sulu to the injured Chekov and concluding logically that not only does it have merit, he feels the same towards Kirk. A wonderful sense of discovery during a precarious situation. Spocks own rembrances are revelations themselves.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I wouldn't describe myself as a Chulu shipper, per se, but I do enjoy speculating on the nature of their closeness, and so I wanted to leave it ambiguous and up to the reader to interpret, while using it as a jumping-off point for Spock to look at what he feels and why he's so afraid of it. I'm so pleased you enjoyed!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/25/2013 7:45 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Masterly structured, great idea to have the action restricted to the smallest space in order to allow the emotional dinamics evolve between observation and recalled situations.

Having only just finished reading the completed chapters of your "spice" I couldn't help a sigh of relief when Spock finally understand that there is nothing to be feared.



Author's Response:

You know, thinking back, I'm pretty sure I wrote this at a particularly angst-filled moment of Spice (is there any other kind of moment in Spice? I hear you ask...) and it was quite cathartic for me, too, to be able to get them to a point where Spock was able to let go of his fears and acknowledge his love for Jim. I'm really pleased you enjoyed this, and thank you so much for your review.

Reviewer: Elise Madrid Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2013 2:40 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

I just read this in the zine and had to find out if it was archived here. I'm so glad to find that it is, because I enjoyed it immensely. A truly wonderful story.



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, thank you so much! It's such a thrill to get a comment like this from a writer whose work I admire so much. Thank you!

Reviewer: kagasaki6 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/11/2013 7:04 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

I do however think you are a good writer, and while I find reading through a Belfast accent/writing style to be too difficult to read through this was quite clear in it's intentions...

Or rather Spock was clear, hehe! ^_^

 



Author's Response:

Oh, I understand, believe me! We're twice as incomprehensible in person, I'm told :-) I'm very glad you enjoyed this one - thanks so much for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: CountryDoctor Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2013 9:55 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

I just read this and you're now one of my favorite authors.  As I was reading, I was writing all kinds of notes.  You nailed all the characterizations.  I love it!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!! I'm really thrilled that you enjoyed it. Could NOT ask for higher praise than to hear I got the characterizations right. Thank you!

Reviewer: EarthQuote56 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2013 4:22 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Enjoy reading this one-shot. Love the characterization of Spock and Kirk and their relationship; very fitting. Love the splash of Chekov and Sulu in there as well. Look forward to reading your future works. Until then, take care.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: T nash-veh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2013 3:51 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

I love this.  It is so sweet,  A masterful job.  



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I had a lot of fun writing it. I'm really glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: mila Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 4:58 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Incredible story.  I love the way you portray the relationship between Kirk and Spock.  Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

And thank you for this kind review! It's my very great pleasure to spend time writing these guys and getting feedback like this is wonderful. Thank you!

Reviewer: ImperiousTiberius Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2012 4:13 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Thank you for posting this superb story.  I’ve been incredibly impressed by your writing since the first instalment of your Always Shall Be series, and every new story you post in the archive just confirms what an amazing talent you are.

A Dance in Shadow and Silence is going straight to my Favourite Stories list.  Well done - and please keep those TOS stories coming!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm... kind of blown away by this wonderful review! Thank you!!!

Reviewer: Miltonway Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2012 12:23 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Absolutely wonderful.

This is one to keep and re-read.  It's a beautiful portrayal of Spock's journey of self discovery, of his realisation of his feelings for Kirk.

You capture the characters so well, and as usual your use of language is so poetic, so descriptive.

It's a fantastic story.  You are quickly becoming one of my favourite authors, and with Spice too, you spoil us.

Thanks for this amazing story.

 



Author's Response:

Wow, thank you so much! Writing is pretty much my entire waking life (I'm generally either writing, planning what I'm going to write, or wishing I was writing!) so I feel like I'M spoiled rotten when I get to do this thing I love with all my heart and then people say lovely things like this about it... :-)

Reviewer: Blackbird Song Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/05/2012 3:31 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

This is gorgeous. It was a lovely read in the zine, and it's just as lovely here. Beautifully thought-out, nuanced examination of Spock's thinking and self-discovery via ordeal. The flash-backs to his conversations with Kirk are lovely, and the last one is so poignant - especially when tied in to Spock's musing that he should have let Kirk win the argument - that it nearly made me tear up. (That's hard to do.)

Thank you for this lovely piece. I have the zine by my bed, and am likely to re-read this a lot.

Catherine



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I couldn't ask for any higher praise than to have my fic re-read! The zine is so beautiful - I just love that I was able to be a part of it, and to get this sort of feedback is absolutely wonderful. Thank you!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2012 12:39 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Loved this story. addidng to my favorites. It never ceases to amaze me how well you capture the characters espcially im. Spectacular. I bow to your awesomeness. 



Author's Response:

*Bows right back* Thank you so much! I tend to think of myself as a Spock kind of gal, so it's really great to hear that I'm getting Jim (I find him tricker!) I'm so glad you enjoyed this - and thank you for this lovely review!

Reviewer: chrissy Signed starstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2012 10:06 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

So-o pleased to see this wonderful story here now! I want everyone to read it! This one has quickly become one of my top ten desert island stories and I'm still finding new things to love iwhen I reread.  Well done. 



Author's Response:

Wow - really? Thank you!! I can't tell you how wonderful it is to hear praise like that! Thank you so much!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2012 9:00 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

I very much enjoyed reading this the first time, being the lucky ones to own the zine. Love how you show Spock through Sulu, that even though the odds of death are apparent, there is always that hope that he may live, and we must always take that chance when he is your friend.

Brilliant ma chere...



Author's Response:

Going to have to wax lyrical about how gorgeous the zine is again - but isn't it beautiful? Thank you so much, my friend! You're always so lovely in your reviews :-)

Reviewer: SpirkTrekker42 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2012 5:08 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Aw, that was so sweet! :)  Great job.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! :-)

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2012 3:42 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

This is amazing.  Memery and reality gently dance together. 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Aelin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2012 3:34 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Oh. The love just sings through this piece. THANK YOU.



Author's Response:

And thank you! That makes me so happy to know that :-)

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2012 1:26 AM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

FINALLY! Oh, Spock's misunderstanding HURT! Thanks go to Sulu and Chekov for showing Spock the light. And Bones knew all along.
These two. Just wow.

Author's Response:

Oh yes - Bones KNOWS! :-) Thank you so much for this!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/01/2012 11:02 PM Title: A Dance in Shadow and Silence

Thank you for this wonderful story.
The characters are very good described. I love it.
Sera.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!! I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

You must login (register) to review.