Reviews For Can this work?
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Natalja007 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/18/2013 7:33 AM Title: Can this work?

Thank you for sharing. Very beautiful!

Reviewer: Moonlightie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/05/2012 9:07 AM Title: Can this work?

Wonderful story about 2 friends that are exactly that, friends :)

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 5:34 PM Title: Can this work?

Tried to review once already, but it seems internet ate my comment... Anyway, nice story! Well-written and thought-inspiring, and sweet. Spock and Kirk really go beyond the physical or sexual aspects. A blind person could see that. :)

@Nejasna- Just to try and add a bit to the (very interesting :)) discussion of Spock's potential bi-/homo-/asexuality: as OoC as the general execution was, he did flirt with Droxine in The Cloud Minders, so he might canonically show some sexual urges outside Pon Farr/mind control/sex pollen. That may be a bit of a stretch, though. ^^;

(...Either way, on a side note- the moment Kirk calls for him, Spock instantly runs from a girl he considers "incomparably beautiful and pleasant" just to check on his captain. Yes, he has a duty to him that he won't/can't let personal matters interfere with, Kirk's situation was more urgent, and yada yada a million other possible, not necessarily homoerotic reasons, but it's still K/S candy for me. XJ )



Author's Response: urgh, I hate it when the internet swallows up comments. Thanks for typing it all out again! Glad you enjoyed the fic :) . I just like to take the bit with Droxine to mean that Spock is not immune to good looks, and so that would include his captain's ;) .

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 9:11 AM Title: Can this work?

Awwwwww :))))



Author's Response: Thanks!!! :D Glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 3:12 AM Title: Can this work?

Loved this story. It shows them in a light where they both admit being hetero...but that what they feel for each other goes beyond gender. Great job...

Author's Response: Thank you for your review! :D Yay, glad you liked it! And yes, that their love goes beyond gender and sexuality is exactly the message here, so I'm glad it came across well!

Reviewer: The_Physicist Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 2:07 AM Title: Can this work?

oh and @Nejasna

Sorry, I hit send too soon! Thank you for your kind words, btw, I'm you enjoyed the fic! :D

Reviewer: Nejasna Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 1:41 AM Title: Can this work?

@unseensorrows- "Spock and Kirk shippers tend to ignore the whole problem with them being straight ....."

Nope, we actually don't really know if they are straight.
Spock only shows interest in women when forced into it, we can't even be sure he's not asexual outside of PF in the first place :). Kirk engages in cross-species sex, says "that creature called woman" is best for physical satisfaction, is all for celebrating love in all its Earthly forms. By his acting in canon Kirk could be a homoromantic bi/pansexual - sexually attracted to all attractive people, but forming deep relationships with other men - given that Spock is the only person he managed a significant level of connection with, which is far beyond any connection with any woman he had (or a person, in general). Plus there is Gene (who openly pushed for LGBTQ in ST from the very beginning mind you) saying they are close enough for physical relationship if the Greek ideal (friend/brother/lover)is the accepted style of that century. Also - that same ideal - f/b/l in Vulcan is the word Spock uses to describe his relationship to Kirk.

That being said, I apologise for going off the topic here instead of writing a review (liked the story, a lot :)), I just can't resist when people are showed into a binary gay/straight system, completely ignoring the fluidity and diversity of human sexuality. Especially in cases like this, where there is an assumed heterosexuality based on nothing more than heteronormativity of our society, and despite all clues showing something else is a much more likely situation.

Author's Response:

Well, my fic is certainly brining on the discussions, hehe! Go for it! I'll join in ;). (and maybe this time code in paragraph breaks in HTML, because just hitting return did nothing last time, lol)

"who openly pushed for LGBTQ in ST from the very beginning mind you"

Really? I thought he said once that he was homophobic, but that he'd gotten out of that mind-set later and regretted not putting LGBT characters in Trek. So I think he was making up for that a bit with the novelisation of TMP and the hints he threw in there. I also believe he wanted LGBT folk in TNG, but was never able to do it before he died and then Berman took over and yeah, I don't think he'll ever get over his homophobia and only did the bare minimum to not get called out for his shitty attitudes.

Reviewer: unseensorrows Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 12:56 AM Title: Can this work?

Read this as soon as I got home! It was as interesting as I thought it'd be. Spock and Kirk shippers tend to ignore the whole problem with them being straight and it's awesome to see someone address it :) I'd love to read more!

Author's Response: I'm so glad it lived up to expectations ;) . "Spock and Kirk shippers tend to ignore the whole problem with them being straight" Well, I think them being straight is an interpretation just as them being gay or bisexual is and that all are equally valid. On the show we don't see LGBT characters really, not even in the more modern series leading up to the present day. So yeah, it's definitely possible starfleet is as homophobic as Rick Berman and that therefore neither Spock nor Kirk could express/discover their sexuality. I know from personal experience how much negative societal attitudes towards LGBT folk can mess with one's mind, behaviour and life choices (e.g. staying closeted). I'm going off on a tangent, sorry! XD But yes, the concept of Kirk and Spock as straight lovers isn't really something I have really seen before, but maybe I haven't read enough either. I'm sure the reason it's not common is simply because that scenario isn't exactly common in real life ;) . Hehehe, and on that note: "I'd love to read more!" Well, I did want to keep this kind of fluffy in a way, but there is definitely a lot of complicated issues that I could explore there. Might hit slightly too close to home for me at the moment though. But once I've sorted my life out, I might write some more for this fic. Or write another one in which only one of them is straight, hehe. Thank you for your review :D , and sorry for the long reply!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 12:22 AM Title: Can this work?

Forgot to rate.

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/22/2012 12:21 AM Title: Can this work?

Awe, this was so very good. :)



Author's Response: Yay! Thank you! Glad you enjoyed it :D

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2012 10:19 PM Title: Can this work?

Very sweet story about two people confrontig an entirely new situation and being those two I'm sure it'll work out- eventually.



Author's Response: Yes, it would probably take some time, but I like to think their love is rather special. Thank you for the review, glad you enjoyed reading! :D

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2012 9:58 PM Title: Can this work?

Always. ;_;
I like this idea. I've never actually heard of it outside of Star Trek. Although, Kirk's always been a ladies man and Spock has such little experience, they're willing to
try! Aww!

Author's Response: If there's actually more stories with this idea in K/S fandom i shall have to hunt them down to read! ;) Thank you for your kind review! And "aww" was definitely a reaction I was going for - true love knows no boundaries and all, not even boundaries of sexuality, hehe.

Reviewer: unseensorrows Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2012 9:51 PM Title: Can this work?

I haven't read this yet since I'm about to leave but I just wanted to say this sounds really interesting! Can't wait to read!

Author's Response: I hope you enjoy it when you do get round to reading! :-D thanks for dropping me a line.

You must login (register) to review.