Reviews For The Naked Time
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/21/2018 1:50 PM Title: The Naked Time

This series was just wonderful to read.  I have seen others analyze the slash aspects of these first few episodes or show how the characeterization of Spock was evolving as Leonard Nimoy settled into the role; but, you have take this wonderfully beyond that to create a cohesive storyline.  Which is amazing given we all know back in the 60s each story really stood on its own.  It all built wonderfully to that moment when Spock confesses his shame at feeling friendship (which I think for many of us was the moment we fell in love with Spock). I like that you explored Jim's response to Gary's death and Spock's attempt to comprehend what has meant for him.  Overall, it was a joy to read because your characterizations are spot on, your interpretation plausible and word choices perfect (e.g. eviscerating gaze (perfect for McCoy), self-flagellation (who does this better than Spock).  

When of my favourite moments was not connected with a particularly noted scene in TOS.  It was how you captured a little moment and made us see the significance of it. Spock's awareness of Jim's behaviour and how he has adjusted to that knowledge in his own actions.   Below from your take on Mudd's Women:

As if on cue, a fight breaks out for possession of Ms. Kovacs’ company. With a certain sense of inevitability, Spock is less than 0.8 seconds behind his Captain in leaping in to prise the men apart, and Ms. McHuron takes advantage of the confusion to burst into tears and bolt from the room. It takes Spock 0.337 seconds to alter his direction mid-stride and head for the door; he is there almost before Kirk. For every action there is an equal and opposite reaction, and if someone comparatively defenseless charges off into danger, the very laws of motion predict that James Kirk will follow. And Spock understands physics, at least as well as he understands his Captain.

I think I need to go back and watch those first episodes again.

LLAP

 

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2011 3:03 AM Title: The Naked Time

Loved it, great job.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!!!

Reviewer: Verdantjoy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/29/2011 4:56 PM Title: The Naked Time

Another stunning creation!  I love your use of language. I hope you will attend KisCon 2012!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Yes, I'll be at KisCon 2012 - I can hardly wait!

Reviewer: HybridTheory Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 10:35 AM Title: The Naked Time

Thankyou so much for posting this. I've been looking forward your take on this episode ever since I worked out that you were writing about each ep. in order and you didn't disappoint.

When I first watched this episode a year ago I laughed myself silly at Kirk bitchslapping a Vulcan while trying to restrain my urge to hug a very distressed Spock. Excellent take on this ep (I expected nothing less) providing us with a unique look at the motivations behind their actions. I especially enjoyed your take on Spock's run in with Chapel – his struggle with her emotions on top of his own. With his acknowledgement of how flawed and short-sighted the human race can be if it suits them. I hope he gets over her touching him like that (the last thing Spock needs is to be traumatised on top of everything else).

Also loved the glimmer of pain you mention in Spock’s eyes before Kirk slaps him for the last time. As well as a mention of Spock’s mummy issues and emotional issues to boot. I could keep going on but I think I’ve flooded you enough with my rambling on how awesome this piece and series is. *here is a life jacket*



Author's Response:

Wow - thank you so much for this! Reviews like this make my day! I'm glad you're enjoying the series - I'm REALLY enjoying writing it - and thanks for these lovely comments!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 6:14 AM Title: The Naked Time

Such powerful words..my god where do you find your words. I am truly amazed how you can fill in the gaps we do not see and make it seamless. Brilliant beyond words....

Author's Response:

Aw... thank you!!

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 3:11 AM Title: The Naked Time

I like your narrative voice!  Now I must read the other ones.



Author's Response:

Hurray - thanks!

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/27/2011 8:23 PM Title: The Naked Time

lovely, utterly lovely.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

You must login (register) to review.