Reviews For In the Rain
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: TRP-Goober Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2019 7:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

Really good story! One of the best I have read for the Abrams' Universe Trek!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2013 8:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, this is an amazingly beautiful little piece, sad and deeply touching and so well written. I had to re-read it at once and so I found I was able to appreciate the subtle touches of a good writer's hand, like the immage of the sun and heat of vulcan wrapping around Spock's soul like the quilt his mother gave him, that returns when he finds himself "cradled by Kirk's very soul, as if the human had the ability to wrap a warm mental quilt around the cold agony..."

I also like the repetition of "as if that mattered" first and "some disinterested part of Spock" after. It somehow manages to convey Spock's detached state of mind, what Jim does and says is perceived as across a gray haze.

The reason why he had been walking in the rain was so ... unexpected. Very touching indeed!

Reviewer: atymer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 12:50 AM Title: Chapter 1

This needed to happen. I'd like to think it did.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/13/2012 9:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

Lovely story.

Reviewer: Vulcan Lover Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2011 10:28 PM Title: Chapter 1

So far - Brilliant!

Reviewer: Jade Dazy Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2011 4:54 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wonderful. I love the beauty and the solemnity of the moment they shared, full of understanding and lacking in empty platitudes. Perfect!

Author's Response:

TYVM :)

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/11/2011 9:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

Apart from this being one of your infininitely sweet tales which make one wish one had a friend like Jim (unless it's when they make one wish one had a friend like Spock) but anyway make one feel way better about whatever--thanks for introducing the Science Officer bit. Just these days I've been thinking, the Abrams Spock isn't really very sciencey--hope they remedy that, as I think science-officer is an integral part of Spock.

Uh--the hour is 00.00--been a long day. Sorry for ramble. Great story!

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/11/2011 6:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

awwwww....  :)  suh-weeet!

me likee this!  and hey, dat's where my muse went, he's off partyin' wif' ur muse!  dang it!  ah well, dey do bring da porn when dey come back, so...

*chinhands*

Reviewer: Nocturnal Nightengale Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 7:25 PM Title: Chapter 1

TYVM for the welcome and I would like to second that "sequel" as well...well if you were in the mood for doing one, this is great as a stand alone as well^^

Reviewer: magpie1600 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 5:56 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was truely wonderful.  Thankyou.

Reviewer: KrazieKat2009 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 5:34 PM Title: Chapter 1

One word: Sequel.

Another word: Please?



Author's Response:

*sigh. People always want sequels, which turn into 100,000 sagas, lol. But I'll consider it. It does seem like we need to go a bit farther.

Reviewer: Vulcan Pearl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 10:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

I found the moodiness level to be just right!  Great little filler story.

Reviewer: Mairin Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 7:21 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was moody........... in a good way.

Reviewer: sierra scarlet Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 5:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Gah, this is so sweet. I love hurt/comfort preslash... it's got all the tender concern to it and just squee. Yeah, I might have stayed up later than I should have to read this cause I was rereading The Courtship of Spock's Father... that excuses the rather confused tone of this review, right? I have to say, rain is the best weather when you're in mourning because you don't feel quite so alone in your tears.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 4:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

Tender and sweet. Thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 2:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very nice job. Jim was great helping start off Spock's healing.

Reviewer: Fugitive Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 1:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oooh, this is so wonderful... it is always nice to glance at this site and see you as author on the latest. Always a great read.  Thanks.



Author's Response:

Yes, and it happens so very often, lol. Thanks. I enjoy your pieces as well.

Reviewer: Katrinna Le Fay Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 1:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

It's funny how life is ... curious ^^'''
I dreamed that Spock was very comforted by Jim, just as you've described in your story, but of course in my dream Jim make a kind of caretaker of vulnerable Spock and this to be a little dependent for the blond, reaching a unit form strangely beautiful, almost like a family (for the pain of the loss of Spock and all the pain that Jim have too) they supplemented.
Bones Of course, telling Jim that this dependency / codependency could only go wrong, but Jim was stubborn and it ended in an epic romance that we know.
Of course, the dreams stop at the interesting part lol, but could not fail to tell you my dream because was curious to meet this beautiful fic written by you ^ ^



Author's Response:

That is very interesting. Glad you enjoyed the story

Reviewer: Nocturnal Nightengale Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 12:55 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awww, I really love comfort stories and this was a great one! I'm new to the fandom as I only discovred Star Trek after the Reboot movie and am currently in the process of watching the original. I have been reading stories here and finally decided to sign up so I could leave reviews and I must say I love your works, I'm going through them now^^ Looking forward to your works^^



Author's Response:

TYVM. Welcome to the obession. I write some stories in reboot and some in TOS, as they call it here. I was raised on the original Trek (yes, I'm that old), but some stories work better in the reboot world.

Reviewer: shamrock220 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/10/2011 12:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

***Here's hoping you had a wild weekend with a cute quarterback, good wine and a Denebian jelly mattress. And Not another visit from the Kidney stone fairy***

Author's Response:

No, not a visit from the kidney stone fairy; I had to go out of town and deal with a family problem. But thanks for the good wishes, even though I don't really do quarterbacks. I prefer lyre-playing chess masters *sigh*

You must login (register) to review.