Reviews For Intimate Knowledge
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2019 4:59 PM Title: Chapter 4: In which progress is made

Living in a metric country, I've only just discovered how much a fifth of Vodka actually is.  Holy f**k, half of that is nearly 400ml, I have a pretty good tolerance but if I tried to drink that much, I'd be unconscious before I finished it!!

God help Kirk's liver if he’s got that sort of tolerance at 25!

Reviewer: MLWood Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2016 3:08 PM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

Oh my god I loved this!  It was very different from other pon farr fics I've read.  I adored Sarek in this!  That man is a stud. Lol!  That's more the route I was going with him in a fic I'm working on for AO3.  I like to think he's been around the block a few times and just might know what he's doing. Anyway, so so wonderful.  Very emotional and lovely.

Reviewer: MLWood Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2016 10:27 PM Title: Chapter 3: In which much has changed

Lol.  I'm only to chapter 3 so far.  Not only do I LOVE the Vulcan sex ed lesson and Sarek's inner commentary on it, but the end of three where Spock basically says "Let me get this straight.  You want me to put myself through being rejected by every available female on the planet, then look to the male rejects as a second resort, and finally just jack off in a cup when that all falls through?". Love it!  And the twenty questions conversation between Spock and Jim was like an awesome Abbott and Costello routine. :). Wonderful work so far.  I can't wait to get to the next chapters. :)

Reviewer: spocksass Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2016 5:45 PM Title: Chapter 1: In which many questions are asked

Just came back to mention that I read the prequel story to this and now I understand why Spock said "dumbass" :P  and that story is so sadly sweet too!!

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/13/2016 8:03 AM Title: Chapter 12: In which things go wrong

Those jim and spock last days were so intensive and exhausting mentally for me.
I was overloaded.
I gasped as I have no air.
I had to stop reading for.
If that chapters influenced me like that, I can not imagine how hard it was for you.

Reviewer: spocksass Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/06/2016 2:53 AM Title: Chapter 1: In which many questions are asked

review 2/2

(My apologies; I am using mobile Internet and there are communication issues). But everything apart from that... Just wow. I greatly appreciate the feeling that "New Vulcan" will never replace the original. I still have not forgiven the "new" movie for destroying it. I think that writers lke you have thought more about the consequences than the real 'writers' did. Your explanation of Vulcan biology makes so much sense. Ugh, if I do say so, it's so hot. And so believable. Congratulations on crafting a fic that accomplishes the dual goals of arousal and investment.

 

Reviewer: spocksass Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/06/2016 2:40 AM Title: Chapter 1: In which many questions are asked

Oh. My. God. New favourite nu K/S fic BY FAR. 

It's not even fair that a story that is mostly about pon farr sexytimes could evoke such emotion. MY EMOTIONS ARE UNDER CONTROL, DAMMIT. (Make T'Andra a canon character 2016)omg...!

Everything here is just!! So believable! You have done a fantastic job with this story. In my small opinion, it is an epic deserving of much praise. There are a few grammatical mistakes (re-read story to see what I mean), but overall, I cannot fault your vision nor your storytelling ability. The ONLY times I was drawn out of the story was when Spock said "dumbass" and when Sarek said "fucked it up". This may just be me, but I do not think these Vulcans would utter those phrases. 

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/01/2016 8:48 AM Title: Chapter 10: In which fears are faced

These last chapters so Aintinsbi, It affects me Physically. I'm exhausted and over sensitive. My breathing is heavier and my eyes moist. I'm terrified from the close ending .

Reviewer: keerawa Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2015 2:14 PM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

That was ... compelling.  Rich.  Exhausting, and not only because I stayed up until 6 in the morning reading it.  I literally COULD NOT STOP.  Thank you for that!

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2015 7:19 AM Title: Chapter 1: In which many questions are asked

Sorry! I scrolled down the previous reviews a bit and discovered I'd left one two years ago asking basically the same question - and you'd been kind enough to reply. Didn't mean to repeat myself.  Just every time I read, I feel the need to tell you again how wonderful this fic is :-)

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2015 2:57 PM Title: Chapter 1: In which many questions are asked

I come back to this fic constantly, it's so intricately woven, every time I discover more detail I had previously forgotten. But I generally don't make it to the end before I get distracted - so I keep forgetting to ask - what happened to T'Beith? Surely Kirk would've granted her passage after McCoy told him what was happening (because we all know McCoy would've told him!) That's honestly all I want to know. Well, not all, but if I only get one question, that's it!

This fic is my anchor, especially now that you post so rarely.  It'll always be where I return to rediscover those heady days after I first found fanfic online - and even better, some of it was really, really good!  Thank you for providing that anchor, and so much of my reading pleasure.

Reviewer: Nightshade sydneylover150 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2015 4:45 AM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

Awwwww!

Reviewer: December Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/18/2014 11:18 PM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

I love how vlcans are made real not so robotic.  very good!

Reviewer: TOS oldtimer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/31/2013 2:27 PM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

I chose Comfort Food and Intimate Knowledge for my holiday reading, and I thought they were great. Excellent distractions for a stressful period. Poor Spock, he is just recovering from his grief induced breakdown when Pon Farr strikes. Your take on him is great. And your Pon Farr chapters are amount the best I've ever read. I loved Jim's strategy for getting through it. Too bad he misjudged at the end. And Sarek's story was a wonderful counterpoint. Thanks!  

P.S. Happy New Year!

  

Reviewer: DeeGilles Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/26/2013 7:46 AM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

I could write 2 pages about how many things I liked about this story.  But suffice it to way, I bow down at your feet for this story and Comfort Food.  (We're not worthy! We're not worthy! We're not worthy!)  

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2013 10:45 AM Title: Chapter 1: In which many questions are asked

This was lovely!  I wasn't expecting such a long, involved story when I opened it, but I more than enjoyed every word of it. I found your medical detail to be accurate and believable, as well your explanation of Pon Farr.  Nice to see a realistic portrayal of Pon Farr, by the way!  Poor Spock, when he was asking Stralan for an orchidectomy it nearly broke my heart, why don't Vulcans teach their kids proper sex ed?

Any chance of a sequel?  There are so many things I want to see more of, or want answers to. Is T'Andra pregnant?  What happened to T'Beith?  Did McCoy or Kirk convince her that it wouldn't be charity to accept passage off New Vulcan?

Thank you so much for writing this and posting it here, I look forward to reading your other work.

 

 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you enjoyed.

I have half-baked plans for a sequel, but really, I've got a lot of half-baked fics on my hard drive.  Glad my medical detail was lest distracting to you here than in Comfort Food.

Thanks for commenting!

Reviewer: sunshine Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/19/2013 11:23 PM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

i really love this series! i hope you write more. i want to know what happens next. :)

Reviewer: mary100859 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/09/2013 5:29 PM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

I really enjoyed this story and was sad to see it end. I wish you would have told us more about what was in the box that Amanda left for Spock and Sarek. I see that you said this was the end of the story but wish you would have just added one more chapter telling us more about the box and maybe just that Jim and Spock had finally bonded. Well like I said though I really did enjoy your story and thought that you portrayed the characters extremely well. Thanks again for writing such a really great story.

Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2013 1:39 AM Title: Chapter 13: In which yesterday gives way to today

This was really lovely.  I really liked your OCs, especially T'Andra.  It makes me happy that Sarek is able to find love after losing Amanda so horribly and abruptly.  The Jim/Spock relationship was very well done, too.  Not easy, but worth it to both of them.  Very nice.

 

Thanks so much!

Reviewer: iadorespike Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2013 4:57 PM Title: Chapter 1: In which many questions are asked

Ooohhh, very interesting beginning.  I look forward to seeing where you take this.

 

Thanks so much!

You must login (register) to review.