Reviews For Convalescing
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: mightymads Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2016 2:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

Such a masterpiece of a sickfic! I read it several years ago, and love it now just as I did then.

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2016 4:38 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was perfect!

Reviewer: 4dogshome Signed starstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/27/2015 3:53 PM Title: Chapter 1

Such a wonderful, caring story!  Keeping this one in my favs!

Reviewer: C E M Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/02/2015 5:49 AM Title: Chapter 1

OMG I LOVE THIS!!! I love how you wrote Spock so vulnerable when he was sick, and also the cuteness of Parker's crush on Spock!!! BUT my truly most favourite part of the entire piece is how Jim takes care of Spock! You wrote him so caring and loving and cherishing Spock! It was truly beautiful!!!! <3 Amazing amazing work!!! a million gold stars my friend!

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2015 11:08 PM Title: Chapter 1

There were a couple of glaring problems with the medical technology which raised one of my eyebrows but I digress. Informaction is something so readily available these days we take it for granted. This was in 1986, when you could have spent all day at a library and still not gotten the correct information you needed. You did an amazing job creating the shock of Spock getting sick so quickly and suddenly and the hurt Kirk is feeling when he has to see Spock while he's critically ill. It really tugs the heart strings. This is definitely a stpry I'll be coming back to.

Reviewer: ousoonerfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2014 2:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

Loved your story....LOVE K/S

Reviewer: Sera Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2012 11:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for this beautyful story.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/29/2012 11:08 AM Title: Chapter 1

I was about to rate this story a ten (for serious) and then this happened:

After the paper had been pulled away he found himself looking at a little statue of a brown-skinned native dressed in an elaborate African costume. Beside the native was a little card. It was folded in half, and the front of it said, "To Spock". The

Vulcan opened it, held it before his eyes, squinted, then looked at Kirk.

"Jim, I am having trouble focusing. Please read it."

"Certainly." Kirk took the card. " ‘Spock, here is a token for your health. It‘s been in my family for centuries, and is a statue of the Swahilian god of medicine who is supposed to guard over the well-being of the members of the household.

What. The. Fuck.

A native???? Seriously? The fuck. (I feel compelled to point out at this juncture that everyone is a native of somewhere.) What am I supposed to be picturing, here? Something condescending and British Raj-y? And Swahili is a language, not an ethnic group. There are something like nine major ethnic groups in Kenya. According to the books, Uhura is a Bantu. And guess what, Kenyans belong to major religions like Christianity and Islam and also traditional religions, often described as "animist," which are anthropologically and culturally quite distinct from Hellenistic or Nordic paganism. Swahilian God of Medicine sounds like some sort of College Humor style joke.

Romans had the household gods, or Lars. The Vietnamese keep shrines in their houses dedicated to their ancestors. I don't know what would be typical in East African in an animist household and I certainly wouldn't piss all over multiple cultures by making stuff up. Hello, it's 2012, so even if this was the original original can't we edit for content in recognition of how far we've come as human beings so as to not burlesque someone else's legitimate culture and stereotype people based on some sort of antiquated colonialist caricature? (takes breath) Man, I get mad seeing idiotic stereotypes of Americans when Germans write K/S stories, and Germans get a steady diet of US pop culture--I can't even imagine how far off the mark this must be, and how painful for an African reader coming across this and suddenly getting knocked over by drive-by ignorance.

I hope my directness on this topic does not hurt your feelings, as the story is quite good and I was enjoying it a lot and I don't think you mean to upset or offend anyone on purpose. I just found this part very shocking since your stories are so free of the typical homophobia/homo-loathing of old-school K/S, so it made me feel as if I were reading a contemporary story and I suppose that raises certain expectations i/t/o the semiotics of race, etcet.

Reviewer: Saharra Shadow Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2011 8:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

This is such a sweet story, though I do feel bad for Parkers.

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/15/2011 11:07 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was gorgeous! I'm a sucker for lovely, domestic K/S where they don't have to deal with galactic emergencies and just get to be all in love and tender and lovely, and I basically just ate this one up. I love that you started with Spock already on the road to recovery so that we could focus on Kirk's TLC and the massive love between them as he got his strength back, and the very real fear that Kirk felt when he thought Spock was dying was already made safe by the time we joined the story, so we could just enjoy the two of them being all space-husbandly. And then the hotness at the end - OMG. Yes. LOVED this. Everything I love about the very best fic was here!

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/07/2011 3:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

sweet and believable. Thank you.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2011 4:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nice. The love between the two was sweet, but not drowning in an overly sweet-sappy monologue. I like how Kirk handled Parkers (although I'm sort of a sucker for crushes turning stalker stories, so part of me wanted a little more action and drama with the Parkers angle).

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2011 4:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

Love this fic, it was sweet and fluffy without getting too sweet- it had drama, too :) And it's a small thing, but after the Uhura-bashing in nu!Trek-fics and the Chapel-villainizing I've seen in some stories it's a relief to find one where I don't get my 'awwww, Kirk loves Spock'-mood killed by degrading caricatures of other beloved characters flapping about. You allowed Chapel and Uhura to have emotions too, but let them be professional about it and left it at that, and moved on to the important stuff- i.e, lovely K/S-fluff. Will be reading this one anew soon, I think :J

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2011 3:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

Aww.  Aww.  Okay, this is why I wish I could get the 'zines.  Stories like these are so good and I have to thank you from the bottom of my heart for posting this on this site.  It was delicious, it was detailed and moving and wonderful and I was sorry it was over at the end.  Thank you again.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2011 12:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

mmmm, yum!!  Charlotte Frost is a name I equate with an excellent read, hawt sexxin's, and general good times for all, and this?  does not disappoint!!  scary at first, but worth every bit!

plus, I hadnae read this one before so 'twas a real treat  :)

You must login (register) to review.