Reviews For The Enemy Within
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/29/2013 1:57 AM Title: The Enemy Within

It's different, but I liked it a lot, great idea infact, retelling the story in the form of a log entry. And if it doesn't accomplish entirely your intents it certainly comes over as a lovely character study of Kirk. We see Spock through his eyes and through his heart and you manage to convey the warmth, the depth of his feelings, the awareness of having something so rare and precious in this friendship, the will to protect it and the thankfulness for the gift it is.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! One of these days, I really must get back to this series... Thanks for reading and for your kind review!

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 12:35 PM Title: The Enemy Within

I liked the format!  There are one or two that would be great from Spock's individual log as well.



Author's Response:

It may very well happen! I love writing Spock's POV and he would be the most deliciously unreliable narrator....

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 12:23 PM Title: The Enemy Within

...so I googled Sonnet 20 because I don't remember them by number at all, and now I am going to imagine that Gary got equally drunk and wrote it there.



Author's Response:

YES!!! You Googled the sonnet? I officially love you for doing that. Sonnet 20 is just LOADED with slashy significance! Since Kirk doesn't remember it even happening, I never came to any decision about who wrote it there but Gary works for me!

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 12:16 PM Title: The Enemy Within

Wow.  Wow. Wow.  WOW.  That description of the sensation of the transporter.  Just. Awesome.



Author's Response:

YAAAAYYYY!!! I have a soft spot for that description because it's something I think a lot about (too much time on my hands? Quite possibly) and you're the first person who's ever loved it too! Made my day XD

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2011 1:16 PM Title: The Enemy Within

Wonderfully done. Kirk just got a big surprise, didn't he? Nothing like having that little twinge of something, like a tiny knat flying around your head, to suddenly come into full focus. This ties in wonderfully with the Mudd's Women story, because it each gives their own POV which compliments each other. Little things are changing inside each one, as they both analyse their own growing and shifting feelings towards each other, and new discoveries within themselves. Shatner and Nimoy captured this so beautifully in those three years (whether it was intensional or not) because their real life relationship on the set developed in a similar manner...they did not particularly like each other in the beginning, but a real friendship developed between the two, and that in turn helped develop the relationship between their characters.

Reviewer: Aelin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2011 12:40 PM Title: The Enemy Within

Every time I read an installment of this series, I fall in love with it all over again.  You give such depth to their characters and relationships.  It's completely unforced, but always manages to draw out the element of slash that's only latent in the episodes themselves.  Keep it coming at its wonderful pace--you have me entirely strung along!

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/03/2011 6:04 PM Title: The Enemy Within

Wow I loved this - your Kirk characterization is great!

I wonder what will happen when Kirk finds out what Spock's comment to Rand was. It was extremely inappropriate considering her assault and deserved a serious reprimand.

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/03/2011 10:00 AM Title: The Enemy Within

Original, well-written and really quite touching. I very much enjoyed this. Thank you for sharing it.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2011 8:10 PM Title: The Enemy Within

I have to tell you, I wasn't expecting this direction, I believed you were going to give us something that has been done before. I was amazed, and found this a refreshing piece. Because, where else can we truly hear what Jim is thinking..after the events, but in a recording. We would hear him say bits and pieces to himself and that is it...

But for him to give us a step by step narrative of what he believed occurred is brilliant. The method you chose is unique and it makes sense. A recording of said events ...is like keeping a diary and writing what has happened to you..in every detail...you stop, you start again.

The slash was there....but in tiny increments which was lovely to read.

I could say more...so I shall just end this review by saying, you showed us a side of Jim's soul...his two sides ..that sometimes we ourselves wonder..could we be violent...could we attack someone...are we capable...there is a wolf in all of us...just as there is a innocent lamb...

You must login (register) to review.