You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/27/2014 3:22 PM Title: The Spiral

Oh, you take my breath away with your details and your care for the story. I love this story. I feel the weight of Spock's death and his parents' grief, as well as Gorkon's alien nature. Phenomenal job. Thank you.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/13/2014 8:00 PM Title: Weeping Statues

Aww. I feel Amanda's pain and I know where she's coming from, but at the same time I get Sarek's point -- protocol must be observed. And poor Gorkon, stuck watching this unfold .... You did a fantastic job with this chapter. You continue to shine.

Author's Response:

This chapter is really the beginning of a journey, a descent into the true depths of the Vulcan mind and the Vulcan culture. We already understand as readers how humans grieve, how humans deal with death. But now, as Sarek, Amanda, and Gorkon descend by shuttle to the surface of Sarek's home, it's my job as a writer to help the readers understand how Vulcans grieve, how Vulcans deal with death.

As part of that journey, I'm slowly making shifts in the language that I use in the story as one means to signal the shift from a human to a Vulcan kind of mindset. For example, throughout this chapter Sarek's homeworld is called "T'Khasi" instead of "Vulcan," and will be referred to as such for basically the rest of the story, except by outsiders.

And the fact that Gorkon feels like an outsider is very important, because like the readers he doesn't understand what is happening around him. He doesn't understand the words he hears, he doesn't understand the depth and the meaning behind those words, he doesn't understand this culture that he is penetrating deeper and deeper into with every passing minute. In many ways, Gorkon has assumed the role of a mirror, both for Sarek and for the readers of this story. :)

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2014 11:19 PM Title: The Prophecy of "G"

They're going to Genesis.  Daggone.   This story was epic before, now it's super duper majorly epic!  I'm hoping Amanda gets some answers about Spock's death, and that everything goes well with the trip.  The details in your writing give me chills.  The interplay, the connectivity, all of it is so delicious.  Thank you for the update.  You're the best.  Really.



Author's Response:

First of all, I'd like to say 'thank you' for your patience and for your kinds words. As somebody who reads fanfiction, I know it is frustrating beyond belief when authors drag their heels when writing and posting 'that next update' or post, at best, sporadically. Two things I'm definitely guilty of.

But as a writer, there is a weird plus side when it comes to taking as long to write a story as this one has. Basically it boils down to the fact that I have a lot, and I mean A LOT, of time to think about it, about the storyline, about how the various plot points fit together, etc. etc. etc. Back when I was writing chapter 6 "A Moment of Great Upheaval" (which, based on the story reviews for that chapter, was about two years ago -- to my shame!) I was rereading Richard III, as it happens to be one of my favorite Shakespearean plays (along with Henry V -- can you tell?) And I came across the Prophecy of G. It got me thinking about the 'G's of that story (Clarence and Richard), and how we often don't see the danger that is right in front of us because we're too busy being worried about something that seems threatening, but isn't. And then I got to thinking about the 'G's of this story (Gorkon and Genesis)...and once my brain made that connection, it was one of those moments where I said "Well, THAT absolutely has to work its way into this story." It wasn't in my original intent when I brought up the comparison of Gorkon to Richard versus Henry in that chapter. That comparison I made simply to highlight the different ways that Klingons and humans view Klingons. But once I made the connection, it was awesome. And that connection wouldn't have happened if I wasn't such a glacially slow story writer/updater.

One of my favorite things about writing a series of stories that all fit together is the issue of connectivity. Individual stories are not isolated events; they are simply one episode, a snapshot, in a much bigger picture. That gives me the chance to connect my stories in various ways. For example, the "vision" that Sarek had was from part of a scene which I had written for McCoy all the way back in the story "Reflections." Likewise, the scene where Jim and Spock are visiting Mt. Seleya was lifted straight from the story "Lamentations and Consolations." And maybe you're catching on to/remembering some of the scenes and plotlines that I wrote for Admiral Nogura in "Lamentations..." too. Maybe not. I'd love to flatter myself and think that my readers remember everything of mine that I've ever written that they've read, but that would be a pretty big act of hubris on my part.

And I certainly enjoy the opportunity to write about the same time period from multiple perspectives. As such "Reflections" (Wrath of Khan) is told through Jim's eyes, "Lamentations" (The Search for Spock) is told primary through the eyes of Jim, McCoy, and Saavik, while "Smooth Runs the Water" lets me bring in the viewpoints of Sarek, Esteban, Gorkon, and all of the other Klingon players in The Search for Spock. It's fun, spinning and weaving all these webs, making the connections, and providing a much wider scope of events than I'd ever be able to do in a single story.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2013 2:15 AM Title: Interpreting Prometheus

I apologize. I keep forgetting about this story, and then you repost a chapter and I am reminded of the very deft hand you have in weaving together the different cultures into a a very sophisticated tale.  I especially love the way you handle the Kiingons, who, from a TOS point of view, are highly underrated.  This is a wonderful story.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/30/2013 1:57 AM Title: Ghost in the Machine

The use of the keethara in mediation is brilliant.  Did you find this in research or come up with it on your own? It seems very eastern but I'm not familar with meditative techniques.  I like the use of the visions to move the plot along and add detail.  Nicely done.



Author's Response:

The keethara is a part of Trek canon. Tuvok used one (and the exact same wording that Sarek used in the chapter) in the Voyager 3rd season episode "Flashback" -- which, if you're not familiar with Voyager -- deals with the time Tuvok served as an ensign under Hikaru Sulu on the Excelsior, set right as the events of The Undiscovered Country occur.

The visions also are a part of canon, in the respect that we have seen that both the Vulcan and Klingon species have meditative visions, and that both cultures put a great deal of stock in those visions.

These things, like so many other details, are a part of the rich Trek universe that has been created for us fanfiction writers to play with. It is such a fulfilling feeling that I can weave them together in ways that have not been seen or considered before. If asked, I could point out the episode where Worf tells his crewmates that the Klingons killed their gods. Likewise, I can name the episode where the story of the creation of Kortar's heart is told. I can also cite the episode where Kortar appears as the captain of the Barge of the Dead.

So many many details, collected, sorted, considered. I think my greatest delight might be in blurring the lines, so that readers are left to wonder where the details from canon end and where the details from my imagination begin.

Reviewer: pockylove Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2013 11:28 AM Title: An Errand of Diplomacy

you updated this.. and it's the best news!

and I know it might be the wrong place to ask. But Boughs of holly is one of my favorite spirk stories. Do you still plan to continue it? I'm kinda obssessed with this story.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2013 2:49 AM Title: Ghost in the Machine

Glad you updated this. Love it!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/05/2013 1:56 PM Title: Ghost in the Machine

Whew.  Spock's death has rattled them all to the core, and his rebirth is going to be even worse I'm sure.  I had almost forgotten this story, I'm glad you are still working on it.  Great job!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2013 11:12 AM Title: Henry V and Richard III

Well thought out well constructed plot wonderfully plausible link of events and arcs thank you for your careful research. The pulling together of multiple cannons is something to be appreciated 

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/17/2012 10:31 AM Title: An Errand of Diplomacy

The pain of Sarek almost is tangible.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/05/2012 3:55 AM Title: Stolen Ashes

This was wonderful.  I especially liked the Klingon fable, it is a wonderful metaphor and explains their strengths and weaknesses.  I felt badly for Amanda, what a way to find out!  

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/05/2012 2:56 AM Title: Stolen Ashes

Stolen ashes....reminds me a little of the story of the Titan Prometheus. This chapter is brillant (as is the rest of this amazing story).

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/04/2012 11:17 AM Title: An Errand of Diplomacy

Oh,no, how could you find such way to break this news to Amanda and readers?

Great job.

 

 

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2012 1:52 AM Title: Casus Belli

What an intriguing chapter... It is truly amazing how you are able to fill in the gaps and make the story more complete. The research you have done must have been exhausting...the Klingon and Vulcan language is always a fascinating one.

Very much enjoyed the conversation concerning Sarek's health and the connection that the Vulcans have among themselves...Poor Amanda has no idea what has transpired on board the Enterprise, for if she was Vulcan, she would have been affected like Sarek...

A well weaved chapter my friend....update when you can.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 4:47 AM Title: Casus Belli

New chapter was a wonderful moment shared by father and daughter.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2012 7:07 AM Title: An Errand of Diplomacy

I was intrigued that you changed direction with this story. It had ended on a sad note, and now we see the past with Sybok, later when Jim and Spock are bondmates.

What an interesting take of how Sybok differs from other Vulcans, due to what he knows, and what he claims to be the truth. Sarek isn't happy Jim and Spock has done things differently than is the Vulcan norm. Not doing the tradional Vulcan way is a big no no.

Now, years later we have Spock not too happy about the katra thingy. Jim needs to know.

Great job my friend

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2012 4:14 PM Title: An Errand of Diplomacy

I actually had to go back and re read since I have the memory of a knat.  This story is exciting, informative, powerful and addicting.  It is rare that I want to read one more than once.  I look forward to the next installment!

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/26/2012 1:46 AM Title: The Past Is Prologue

It's so wonderful to read a gem like this. You have such a way of character insight and plot development. Kudos.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2012 12:09 PM Title: The Past Is Prologue

So well written, easy to read flowing and generates such wonderful pictures. Your Sybok is masterful, the idea that his mother had all the knowledge of what it was to be Vulcan and secretly thought it wrong yet entombed for her beliefs. Did Sybok succeed iI wonder?

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/25/2012 11:50 AM Title: An Errand of Diplomacy

Your image of different culture is wonderful. Thank you very much. Waiting more.

You must login (register) to review.