Reviews For Future Imperfect
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/23/2017 1:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

It was a pleasure meeting you and being able to tell you in person how much I love your work.  I saved this to start during the 4.5 hour plane flight home.  Just finished tonight.   I admire so much how you capture the pain of separation they both must have felt.   The Scarlet Letter was one of the few books other than To Kill a Mockingbird that I had to read in school and enjoyed.   When I first saw the footnote at the end I thought what a perfect book to draw from and the quote was bang on. 

P.S.  On the plane ride home I watched "LION".  Thanks for the move recommendation as well. 

Reviewer: mightymads Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/08/2017 7:39 AM Title: Chapter 1

I enjoyed this novel the first time I came across it and now, after re-reading. The dystopian atmosphere is very realistic. Thank you for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for reading and commenting! I'm really glad that you enjoyed it. I wanted the world I created for them to feel real. So nice to hear that I succeeded. :-)

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/15/2017 2:48 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is one of the most fascinating stories I have read here so far. I love the worlds you created, their story, their past and present, the hope for their future. I loved it how naturally the attraction between the two men grows, no angst,  few doubts. When they separate it is painful, it's heroic and there seems absolutely no way they can meet again. All the better is  the final development. 

And of course the story is a plea to us all, to humanity, to finally open up our eyes and act before it is too late.

This goes into the list of my favourites.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2014 8:26 AM Title: Chapter 1

Something like that I have not been read before.

Author's Response:

It is somewhat different, but concerns a subject that concerns me! I hope you liked it.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2013 6:33 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for a most entertaining tale, an example of skilled wordsmithing.

ofmgood



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it, and thanks so much for the wonderful comments. They are greatly appreciated.

Reviewer: Chanel Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/02/2013 12:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

What an amazingly fantastic story. I reminded me of the city of ember series.



Author's Response:

Glad you liked it. I haven't read that series so I might have to give it a look. And thanks for reading and for your lovely comments!

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/18/2013 6:56 AM Title: Chapter 1

Magnificent!

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm very glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/06/2012 7:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

You have simply created a master piece!This fiction remains in the memory and moves the heart in so many ways.A true StarTrek fanfiction.One that makes you think twice about what goes around you.Thank you so much for sharing.



Author's Response:

You're very welcome! I'm thrilled the story affected you as it did, as the subject is an important one to me. But nothing makes a writer proud as receiving such praise as this! Thank you for reading and for your truly lovely comments.

Reviewer: Mtnhi32 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 1:20 AM Title: Chapter 1

Oh this is wonderful! The art work enhanced the incredible dialogue. Their sadness at being separated was palpitible and I got teary eyed when Spock left. I couldn't put it down and. Read it all in one shot. Again, absolutely wounderful! 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your wonderful comments! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. And isn't the artwork just gorgeous? I couldn't have asked for more from either of these talented artists.

Reviewer: Amaryllis Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/12/2011 6:05 PM Title: Chapter 1

I am always thrilled when someone posts a nice long story. Finished it last night, and I agree with the reviewer that said that this story captures the heart of Star Trek. The fact the there is no panacea, only the long slow journey of repair for Earth is also a commendable choice. I liked the development of the K/S relationship (wellAdjusted!Spock is a favorite of mine). If only I could share this story with non-K/S folks for the moral! But perhaps your story will raise awareness a little among the K/S shippers. I encourage you to keep publicizing it on other sites as well for tht reason! It's a subject very close to my heart.

Well done, and I agree that you should have more reviews for such an awesome story.

Author's Response: I love that the story worked so well for you, since, as is probably obvious, it's a subject very close to my heart as well. And while I may have liked to give Kirk and Spock a more suitable future, I knew that wouldn't have been true to the spirit of the story. We, unfortunately, reap what we sow—or those who come after us do. The story has been posted on my LJ and at AO3, though how much awareness it will raise, I can't say. But thanks so much for your wonderful comments. They are very much appreciated.

Reviewer: bluefeathers Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2011 9:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

Gem of a story, one that I'll be reading again (and again)!!  Thank you for this.



Author's Response: You're very welcome. It's always great to hear that one of my stories deserves a reread... or two. :-)

Reviewer: FantasyGem Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2011 1:24 AM Title: Chapter 1

When I got finished reading this, I had to dwell on it for a day or two before I reviewed. One thing that has always been important to me is "Does this story have Star Trek's spirit in some way?" I don't think that it did as much as it captured the heart instead. And that is something I feel is so rare with all these newer writers. This story reminded me in some ways of STIV. If we are not careful of our actions today, then we may be destroying our own future. This is Star Trek's heart beating loud and clear.



Author's Response: You can't imagine how your words thrilled me. I very much wanted the story to stay true to Star Trek, no matter that its future is not the one we've long imagined. That you found Star Trek's heart in the story is a huge compliment. Thank you for reading and, especially, for your truly wonderful comments.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2011 1:51 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. What a wonderful, intelligent, beautifully woven tapestry. Not rushed in its pace, but never felt too slow. The plot even hauntingly reflects what may very well be our own future. I'm surprised you haven't received more reviews, but it seems that if a story isn't drenching in a soap opera-ish angst filled style, it barely gets noticed. Thank you so much for this rare gem.



Author's Response: Thank you for the wonderful comments! The story pretty much grew from my own beliefs regarding our future, though the story is somewhat brighter. Still, in any future, I couldn't see Kirk or Spock being other than they are, and facing that future with courage and resolve.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2011 10:31 PM Title: Chapter 1

woo hoo, enjoyed the hell outta this one!!  have always wanted to read it, wished had $$ for tha zine, you know the deal...  now here 'tis in full artwork an' all -- and yummy art it is, too! --  yowee!

so sad the premise, way too believable to this student of science.  but even so you did not cop out and go for waving a magic fixit wand.  rather it is known that it will take much time and effort to help and the solving will not be fast or easy.  I approve!

and of course, detailed and tasty interactions between our guys, and we get to watch them fall for each other all over again, always a good story!

much obliged for once again delivering, O Author!!



Author's Response: You're very welcome, Greywolf! Giving them a fairy tale ending was something I couldn't bring myself to do. But I think they'll be all right. ;-) Thanks for reading and for your great comments!

Reviewer: Tankisst Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2011 5:28 PM Title: Chapter 1

An Utter Delight!!! Yes!!!



Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it! Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: muggy44 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2011 6:45 AM Title: Chapter 1

What a Great and Beautiful story. Wow. Just loved it so Much Cryed my Ass off. I would not have it any other way. Just Amazing. Thank you for the pure bliss of reading Your Work. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxxoxoxo



Author's Response: I love to hear when one of my stories brings someone to tears. :-) Thanks for reading and for your wonderful comments!

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 11:49 PM Title: Chapter 1

Ok. Generally, I read a story I like, I write a few lines to show my appreciation. In this case I would like to do more, so have written an actual review. I hope that’s all right:

Elise Madrid is an author I have always found interesting. Some stories I adore, some I’m not so keen on. One thing I have never doubted is the talent of the author.
And nowhere is this more evident than in Future Imperfect.
From the perfectly crafted precision of the writing to the impeccable characterisation, this story is an utter delight.
Kirk and Spock are delineated with the loving attention of a craftsman, Amanda and Sarek are as well done as I’ve ever seen them, and there is an original supporting cast no one could fail to become engaged with.
The AU Earth created here is scarily possible and heartbreaking in its consequences, yet the hope for humanity that runs through the story reflects all that Star Trek is and all that draws so many to it.
If I were to wax lyrical in even more detail, I would praise the literary references, the cheeky little trek asides, the author’s wonderful appreciation for books in all their glory, and the poignancy of the understated conclusion.
I would also pick out the joy of a story in which it is Earth that gives Spock the answers he needs.
More than that, this is a story that can stand up in its own right.
It has been said that the script for STIV was good enough to be made even if it wasn’t Star Trek.
The best compliment I can think of for this story is that even if it weren’t Trek, even if it weren’t K/S, it would still be good

Author's Response: To say I'm glad you enjoyed the story seems such a paltry response, because I've rarely received such a glowing review! I'm overwhelmed by your words of praise. Thank you so much, it's wonderful to hear when something I wrote manages to touch someone to this extent.

You must login (register) to review.