You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2014 9:33 PM Title: Chapter 5:Beyond Antares

You seem to know a lot about the subject matter. Nonetheless it's still awesome.

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/27/2014 12:22 AM Title: Chapter 1: Playing House

I absolutely love what you've done here and I love the references to the show House. Love that show!!! It was heartbreaking to see Spock succumbing to this disease but it was also inspiring to see Kirk standing by him instead of running away. The right turn you took at the end with the misdiagnosis was epic. It would have been nice to see some foreshadowing that Dr McCoy and Dr M'Benga made a mistake But still it was epic. Who would have known Spock has celiac disease! Rock on!!



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review. Perhaps I should look out the follow on and post it. But essentially it sort of fits with the fic posted on this archive which has McCoy chasing Spock to Gol. The follow on is in a KiSCON zine I should post it here. Essentially  McCoy loses his confidence in his diagnostic abilities he also hits the bottle realising the danger he leaves the ship and  becomes a recluse. He's supposed to be looking at the Fabrini archive but is drUni most of the time and also alone as he fell out with Jim. The fic is told from his housekeepers point of view and ends with him sober and exited he's been drafted and is reporting to the enterprise, he's a little scared but for the first time in three years he feels alive. One of these days I will link them as a series. I suppose that I should also give rge alternative version a try where this is not a misdiagnosis. I started the fic with a desire to put safe sex into fandom but since writing the complexities of risk taking have hit home . Perhaps logic and lust and retroviruses rather than cloaking devices being a secret Romulan weapon. A dark fic designed to destroy, a new twist on the Gol story you have certainly activated the muse

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/06/2013 12:19 PM Title: Chapter 2: Has: Lunikkh tav'vik

I just wanted to review at this point and tell you I am so sorry, I can't read this.  I should be shot for 20 types of a wimp, but I can't handle it.  I lost a friend to AIDS when I was younger and I don't know if I can read about it with no repercussions.  You are doing a wonderful job as a writer and I applaud you for taking this on.  Maybe someday I'll be able to return to this story and finish it.  I apologize so profusely.



Author's Response:

Damn just deleted a missive. I find horror difficult to read so can understand entirely. I cringe now as thaogical was far too medical and a little hobby horsish. I didn't understand the value of a beta reader in my eagerness to post and have a greater comprehension of slash as a gendre. But at the time I felt there was a lot of unseats sex and that Kirk and Spock would be responsible in this respect. 

The denouement is a misdiagnosis of Housian proportions and Spock recovers. However Bones doesn't he hits the bottle .

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 9:20 PM Title: Chapter 1: Playing House

I enjoyed the story.  It was different from most fan fiction I have read.  The medical terminology was a bit above my head since any medical training I have I have done myself, but I could follow the story nonetheless.  Also, I liked the theme of even the best medico screwing it up.  My body chemistry is quirky, and I have to be on constant guard to make sure than I don't get some prescription med that is going to kill me.  So I totally sympathize with Spock's situation.  Thanks for this unusual read.



Author's Response:

Thanks it started life as a safe sex message for K/S but morphed from then. If I wrote it again I would probably have killed Spock off and had Jim in a penetentairy after killing Bones, mixing tragedy with rescud not so good an idea but was my first attempt. Maybe by may and end of term will have chance to put rest of Fics in a series to show that this stale is part of a story arc.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:42 PM Title: Chapter 6:Splitting Hairs

*cheering* YAY, HOUSE!

~AKO

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:40 PM Title: Chapter 5:Beyond Antares

*haunting memory of Uhura singing THAT song*

~AKO

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:37 PM Title: Chapter 4:El lucevan le Stelle

"inexorable deterioration"

*weeps*

~AKO

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:34 PM Title: Chapter 2: Has: Lunikkh tav'vik

Oh, the meditation is breathtaking!

~AKO

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:34 PM Title: Chapter 1: Playing House

*happy dancie* oh, goodie, my two favorite genres in the Universe: House and Trek!

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thanks for all your reviews. It's good at the end of a busy Mother's Day to get a bunch of emails when you set the alarm on the mobile.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:29 PM Title: Chapter 7:Recovery

I thank you from the bottom of my katra for this story, this magnificent experience.

~AKO

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:27 PM Title: Chapter 1: Playing House

Soral, this story is beautifully written, full of amazing heart--I can tell you poured yoruself into it and the medical and House references add so much depth to it all. I love that it's realistic, that you cover the emotions and rationale behind each charcter so fully and so accurately, that the ending leaves it open to the reader's imagination and avoids 'the simple, perfect solution' that probably a lot of folks would have preferred. I think you deserve 100 stars. (Also, I read this almost two years ago the first time, and am only now reviewing *ashamed* but in my defense, I hadn't yet created an account. PLEASE FORGIVE ME MY NEGLIGENCE!! <3



Author's Response:

The odd thing is I've only watched house once or twice in my life. It was early days and I really wanted to put safe sex into K/S. Have various bits of the end to this set of Fics and hope after academia finishes in may to string them all together.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 8:01 PM Title: Chapter 3: Revelations

My money is on triumvirate.  Not of control or government or power, of course, but of friendship.

Awesome stuff here!

~AKO

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2011 6:21 AM Title: Chapter 1: Playing House

ah, *that* story...

hate to tell ye, but I've no idea the answers to any of those questions... the story window in my head stayed open just long enough to jot down the bits I wrote, then closed for good -- well, it's been thirty-seven years and I never flashed on it again, so... sorry!!

as for never writing something yourself like that -- never say never, lassie!!  one day your Muse may gift thee just such a story, and it would not be well done to refuse the gift...  after all, the ones that hurt the worst stick in the mind the best, not so?



Author's Response:

only the really good ones stick. But thanks for your comments. You are right about the muse, ideas just fall into place.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 07/03/2011 10:26 PM Title: Chapter 1: Playing House

quite liked the microiological mumbo-jumbo, 'tis a specialty of mine from RL...

also ya got me curious -- which time that I killed Spock were ye referring to?  seems t'me I've done it more'n once...



Author's Response:

To lay me down, the one you dreamt as a cub

Its iconic K/S, I wouldn't even attempt to write a major character death scene as it would be impossible  to match that fic

Just wondered, who poisoned Spock?. Why was Jim away?. Why did the admiralty keep them apart?. Who beamed Spock out?



Author's Response:

To lay me down, the one you dreamt as a cub

Its iconic K/S, I wouldn't even attempt to write a major character death scene as it would be impossible  to match that fic

Just wondered, who poisoned Spock?. Why was Jim away?. Why did the admiralty keep them apart?. Who beamed Spock out?

Reviewer: muggy44 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 9:15 PM Title: Chapter 7:Recovery

sweet lord that was good, was so happy to see spock healthy and in jim's arm's again. look very much forward to more in the love and life with each other. xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxo



Author's Response:

Too many other stories that need Spock alive. 

Unfortunately this is a short reprieve, remember Amanda's words to Kirk...........

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 5:42 PM Title: Chapter 7:Recovery

Cool.  All a bit fluffy at the end there!  But there's going to be more angst, you assure us...  I love some good angst.

T'was a good story - thank you for posting!



Author's Response:

Its made me think, best to separate angst and fluff into separate sections. If your expecting further angst, bit of a disappointment. Will rmember that for nest installment. Guaranteed no fluff and almost every warning in the K/S book

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 5:36 PM Title: Chapter 6:Splitting Hairs

Uh.  Okay.  You ruined my sad!  I was hoping you would kill Spock with AIDS, actually... but let's see what happens now.



Author's Response:

Many apologies, but I need them both alive for the Aftermath, the preliminary draft is written but now its time to take all the reviews and think about improving the format. I suppose I am just too cannonical at the moment.

One puzzle, the Nashinahr, is this just a VLD invention or is there a story out there cannon or published book/comic that refers to them.

Just reviewing movies. Spock is so understated, its all in the eyes, that look at Kirk, just when you don't expect it. For example Decker/Ilia in sick bay...who does Spock look at !

I never noticed before just how gay Shatner portrayed Kirk. Sometimes he makes Sulu look straight.

I guess back when the movies came out either I was naive or the world was so straight we just didn't see the obvious.

 

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 5:32 PM Title: Chapter 5:Beyond Antares

Oh lord.  This is very moving indeed - all the medical stuff (which is over my head, to be honest) actually helps, because it makes a reader better understand the helplessness that the characters must feel in such a situation.  God I'm so upset by this story...

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 5:27 PM Title: Chapter 4:El lucevan le Stelle

Oh my, it's going quickly isn't it?

And what a beautifully sad aria - I love Tosca.  Onwards...

Reviewer: magpie1600 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2011 3:45 PM Title: Chapter 6:Splitting Hairs

I stopped reading, my hear was broken, but I had to go back, I couldn't not stop.  It was like an addiction.  Oh thank you, thank you thank you.  I know how Jim feels, Lets kill all bad plants and Cyrano Jones as well.

You must login (register) to review.