You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2017 2:46 PM Title: None

This was a wonderful story. At KiScon I told I need to check out your work.  I am so glad I did.   I am so glad it made its way from a fanzine to here in the archive.  I thought you captured wonderfully what it must be like to hide your sexuality.  I am not LGBT but rather asexual.  Sometimes that make it easier I think because I don't have to feign not being attracked to someone but I have often faked interest just to seem "normal".   And then to have to witness two people who are not ashamed when living in a society which forces you to feel shame - I actually feel sorry for the protagonist although he is not a likeable fellow which is clearly due to your skill. 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2016 10:01 PM Title: None

How I missed reviewing first time round I don't know.  what strikes me is how good a standard of short story writing this is. First of all a plot line that leaves the why are they there, where are they now in mid air. This leaves us to focus on the characters And the theme of sex versus love. This comes over in the absolute security Kirk and Spock have in their relationship's grounds.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/20/2012 6:45 PM Title: None

wow...this was a wonderful story indeed. And you gave Spock long hair!Love you for that!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it.  I love Spock with long hair, and I've written him with long hair in a couple of other stories as well .

Reviewer: Jaylee Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2011 3:11 AM Title: None

This story was absolutely amazing. I read through it thoroughly riveted the entire time, unable to tear my eyes away. Your attention to detail is nothing short of spectacular and I was able to not only visualize the events of the story as they were taking place, but also feel them. A K/S shipper through and through I normally have no sympathy for anyone who tries to come between them but I found that I had a lot of empathy for the protagonist of this story. The poor man didn't have a shot in hell from the get-go and he knew it and ultimately hated himself for it. Your gift at storytelling shines through this piece with all of the wonderful skill of a master craftsman.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for your feedback!  (I tried to respond at the time, but there was some archive problem, and it wouldn't allow me to post responses.)  I'm glad it felt so very real to you.  I find writing original characters in the first person allows me to better understand them and better convey who they are to readers.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/22/2010 8:32 AM Title: None

I am so speechless right now...What an absolute descriptive imagination you have. It goes beyond anything I can think of. Such a wonderful piece of perfection...thank you...

Reviewer: atymer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/23/2010 8:25 PM Title: None

If this one had something other than obsessive lust for Kirk I wonder how different their contact could have been? What could he have learned?

There could have been a mini revolution of one, and he would have been left with a mission of some compassion for others and not nights of useless dreams about possession unfullfilled.

Reviewer: JadeMac2442 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/26/2010 11:28 PM Title: None

Wow. My god, you can write. It's incredible. I don't know why people have asked you if it's an AU. It doens't feel like one.  But is remarkabley vivid.  It may be the best piece of fanfiction that I've ever read. It's just incredible.



Author's Response:

Wow - *blush* - thanks so much!  I'm delighted you enjoyed it so much.  I know some people assumed it was an AU because I stripped away every detail the main character would not be aware of, which only left his knowledge of his own world.  Without any of the TOS details, some people assumed it was AU.

Reviewer: titC Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 11:17 AM Title: None

OMG - absolutely great! all that's not said and that you understand, little by little, about all the characters... like a great painting, it's all the little touches that make it a great piece ;-)



Author's Response:

Thanks you!  I do like writing stories in which what *isn't* said is as important as what is said.  :-)

Reviewer: Carolyn Spencer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2010 2:53 PM Title: None

Just add me to the list of those who love this story. It's amazing that the reader is so aware of the love between Kirk and Spock when we don't hear them say one word to each other. One of the true classic stories in K/S fandom.

Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the feedback.  :-)  I realized early on that to be true to the POV I'd chosen for the story, the only dialogue could be between the main character and Kirk or Spock, but that we couldn't "hear" any private conversations between the two of them.

Reviewer: FantasyGem Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/11/2010 12:52 PM Title: None

Wow. Brilliant. You almost feel sorry for the guy, almost. The commentment that Spock and Kirk have for each other shines through here.



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the feedback.  I enjoy writing 3rd party stories, and I've written a couple from the POV of an unsympathetic character.  I always try to make them whole human (or alien) beings, so the reader can understand why they are reacting the way they are.

Reviewer: highlyillogical Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/17/2010 6:13 AM Title: None

omg this is so different it's amazing. thanks for writing it!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for the feedback; I'm glad you enjoyed it.  :-)

Reviewer: Natasha Solten Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/22/2010 1:54 AM Title: None

Ok, you got me.  The writing in this is superb.  The story is original and unique.  The coldness of the pov of the storyteller against the warmth and health of the relationship between Kirk and Spock is amazing.  Some stories of this nature can leave me cold.  But in this story, I was left actually feeling sad for the main character and impressed at the pure and whole love between Kirk and Spock that nothing can sully.  I love seeing Kirk and Spock through the eyes of another.  This really is amazing.



Author's Response:

Thank you *so* much for your feedback.  :-)  I do love writing 3rd party stories.  And - for whatever reason - I've often used an unsympathetic narrator.  I'm very glad I was able to convey enough of the personality of the main character so that you felt sad for him. 

Reviewer: croatine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/02/2009 1:23 PM Title: None

Highly original and truly captivating. I just wanted to have a look at it and see if it's interesting, and eventually read it later, but, although I should work now, not read, I was mesmerized, couldn't avert my eyes from it till the very end.

Congratulations and thank you. I liked it so much!



Author's Response:

Thanks so much!  I think "I couldn't put it down" has to be the highest compliment an author can get.  :-)

Reviewer: Semi-sweet and nuts Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2009 2:40 PM Title: None

A very original take on the K/S relationship to tell it from the perspective of a stranger, Well done! You manage to make the man both creepy and touching. Of course one begins to wonder what Kirk and Spock are doing on that planet - stranded during a mission...?



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  Yes, you've guessed the background.  I originally started writing this story as the usual "Kirk and Spock are stranded on a planet when their shuttlecraft crashes" cliche story, but then I realized the only way I could tell the story the way I wanted to was to write it from the POV of the OMC. 

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/02/2007 1:04 AM Title: None

Somehow I got a copy of this story a couple of years ago and it's been a favorite of mine ever since. I think it's the setting and the atmosphere. And of course, as I find KR's K and S to be perfectly in character, there are no complaints on that end. Thank you so much for posting it on the internet (and saving a few trees)!

Reviewer: hermit9 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/26/2007 5:20 PM Title: None

My God, this was beautiful. How you can write something so full in so few words astonishes me.

Author's Response: Thank you *so* much for the comments. I'm glad you enjoyed it. I remember when I wrote it it just "flowed", but I also give many thanks to my editor, Gayle.

Reviewer: Sahsheer Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/10/2005 3:46 AM Title: None

Very touching glimpses of Kirk and Spock. I admire the ability to write such a wonderful story through a third person's eyes.

Reviewer: Alexandra Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2005 6:04 AM Title: None

Oh, wow! That was beautiful! The language amazing, the storyline great! I've always loved stories told through someone else's eyes, and this is no exception! A wonderful story - one of my all-time favourites! :D

Reviewer: T Jonesy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2005 9:37 PM Title: None

When people ask me to name my favorite K/S stories, this one always makes the list. What an amazing story by one of fandoms best Storytellers. Enjoy!

Reviewer: Jenna Sinclair Anonymous starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09/21/2005 2:52 PM Title: None

One of the most memorable K/S stories ever written. This author says more from a distance (the eyes of the third person observer) than most can say very close in. I love this Kirk! And the Spock who is so secure in the relationship he has with his captain that he can say: it doesn't matter. A really refreshing look at an old subject, told without angst and with strength instead.

You must login (register) to review.