You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Charlie0925 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2015 6:03 AM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Brilliant, brilliant writing here hon!  I LOVED THIS FIC! ;o)

 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you liked it!  ~ RK

Reviewer: LunaticV Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/04/2015 4:20 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

asdfghjkl;

oh, why did you stop there. this is just so lovely :D



Author's Response:

Well, because the video stopped there.  :/  I'm glad you enjoyed it.  And thank you for reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: ladymay Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/19/2014 7:07 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

I have to admit, I never was that fond of AOS!Uhura. I loved her in TOS (and god, since the TOS movies I was in love with Uhura/Scotty) but she has something on her in the reboot movies which rubs me the wrong way. The only purpose she has is showing Spock’s human side, making him more human and that’s a sad approach the writers choose to use her character. She only remains a plot device. I always enjoyed Star Trek because of the friendship between Kirk, Bones and Spock and the friendship to the other crewmembers and not some forced love story like in the reboot movies.

 

Now I will stop with my complains about AOS and finally come to the important part. Reviewing your story – I did love it very much. Like everything you write, I cannot not love it. I loved the scene in the restaurant were Spock with his superior Vulcan hearing heard all these humans speaking about him, about what happend with Vulcan and the Vulcans. Poor Spock. And then his nearly panic attack and later him fainting make me pitying him even more. God, I have a thing for hurt!Spock. And the Spock in your story is so confused with all these thoughts/memories about tos!kirk and aos!kirk and he’s still hurting from what he had lost because of Nero and Uhura doesn’t make it better and god, I really want to hug Spock. And waking up in the Starfleet medical facilities – did he expected to see Kirk? And no wonder Spock doesn’t like doctors – as a hybrid he probably was prone to illness when a child and being treated more than a lab rat than an actual living being. And I really loved the end of this story – where Spock looked so content when looking at Jim.



Author's Response:

I, too, am not an enthusiast of nu!Uhura...at all, really.  I could talk about the plethora of reasons, but - honestly - I'm too tired right now.  *chuckles* 

Hope you watched the video this was inspired by, because it is quite something!  Yes, he did expect Kirk there because he "remembered" via Spock!Prime's memories that he once woke up in Sickbya to a hovering Kirk.  Spock was definitely expecting Jim there.  Glad you liked this one, too.  ~ RK

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2013 8:45 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Nice story although I must admit I felt a little bad for Nyota.Spock could have been a little nicer.Then again he is hurt and he can't exactly care about other's emotions.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  You are correct, he is hurt still.  It isn't that he doesn't care about her feelings, but he is still all kinds of messed up with Spock Prime's memories shooting through his mind, he's still on the emotionally compromised side, and a little hurt that out of the majority of those involved in the Narada Crisis, Nyota was the only one not present.  That stung him, and he had no other way to respond but in flat out facts.  It wouldn't be fun to be in her position, but at the end she can at least see that he is content which he never was with her. Thank you for reviewing!  Sorry it took me forever to get back to you! ~ RK

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2012 4:45 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Thanks for a well written series of stories I enjoy your style



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm glad you enjoyed.  I haven't had time for writing as of late, but it's coming...eventually.  More is coming.  I just need the time.  Thanks for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: stardrop Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/26/2011 10:05 AM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Poor Nyota!!! Beautiful interlacing of Shat-Kirk and Pine-Kirk moments & revelations.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Sorry it took months to respond.  Been away from this archive for far too long!  Thank you for reviewing.  Glad you enjoyed it.  Please check out the fabulous video from which I based this - I have to give most of the credit to it.  Thank you, again. ~ RK  

Reviewer: KRVAN Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2011 12:06 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Angst! It seems that it won't show my full comment! NUUUUUU.
I'll try to send a message!
*bows down to your sheer awesomeness*

Reviewer: KRVAN Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/08/2011 12:05 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

YES YES YES!!!
The first time my eyes skimmed over to the summary I recalled ImaginarySanity's work and Bluefairy1113's!
It was somehow realistic, it's not 'too fictional', which, is a strange description I am aware--I can't explain it; I can actually imagine it being in the sequelDx!
Please sneak your way in to the cast and crew!D,x

Author's Response:

Thank you!  I only wish I could shove/sneak myself into the crew but alas, I cannot.  However, we can always wish something like this will occur in the sequel.  *giggle*  Thanks so much for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: biddygirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/07/2011 2:10 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

I loved the video and this story compliments it perfectly.

You did such a great job.

I loved whe Spock said "I did not return to this ship for you, Nyota."

I cheered!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I bet if Jim heard SPock there he would have been internally cheering with you.  Thank you for your review. ~ RK

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/05/2011 4:35 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

This was amazing.  I loved it.  I always wondered if it was solely the influence of his elder self that prompted Spock to return to the Enterprise, and now we know.  I thought you did a great job with the story, although I wanted more at the end.  But that's just me being selfish.  I loved your observations of the video (I've seen it before and it's wonderful) and how you drew out the reason Spock joins the crew in the end.  Great job!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Now we know, indeed.  Sorry there wasn't more at the end...but it was also the end of the video.  I wanted to follow it as closely as possible (even though Sarek isn't even in it - I just felt he needed to be thrown in there).  Thanks for reviewing and reading! ~ RK

Reviewer: lilyj Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2011 8:37 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Mwahahahahahahahah! Lovely! (and yes, the devilish laughter is necessary) It's just that I can't stand Abrams' Uhura. She's hot, but also a stuck up bitch, while the original one was all elegance, class and professionalism. Cheers!

Author's Response:

Thank you for reviewing.  I agree with you, by the way, especially about TOS!Uhura.  She was also imperfect in her area - how she failed miserably at translating into Klingon - but I think that was what also made her much more enjoyable as a character.  The new one seems very unprofessional, egotistical, way too perfect in her communications abilities, and bossy - which is very different from a well-developed strong (female) character.  I could go on, but this is not the place.  THank you for reviewing and reading! ~ RK

Reviewer: arosefire Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2011 6:37 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

This was so completely awesome, it just blew me away. I listened to the music as I read, and it fit nicely. I loved Spock's introspection as he worked through memories he had absorbed from Spock Prime through Kirk.

Spock did not dare to breathe ... Kirk he knew was already as beautiful <- I loved that bit :)

I thought his dealing with Uhura was well done. You made it clear that he dumped her because she made him uncomfortable, that they are both very young and that she couldn't see him as the Vulcan he was and he didn't have the experiance to deal with her as a Human.

Kirk's understanding of Spock and Vulcan decorum was nicely worked to show that he wasn't just the "dumb hick" the movie sometimes made him appear to be.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I had the video on a loop the whole time writing it. Yes, there was just some awkward miscommunication between Spock and Uhura that would just never pan out well.  Also, Kirk's got a serious advantage there with the mindmeld.  He kind of understands instantly how to handle Spock.  Unfair to Uhura?  Probably.  But oh well.  Thanks for reviewing!  So glad you liked it! ~ RK

Reviewer: VWalk Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2011 4:04 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

I thoroughly enjoyed (loved) this fic. I watched the video (about eighteen times) before reading and was captured by the fic. I love how closely you followed the video and captured the emotion and intensity perfectly. I've already added this to my favorites and am now off to read some of your other postings.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I watched the video a ton of times before the idea for the story hit me and it wouldn't leave me alone until I got permission to write it.  I can't take credit for the plot too much, because it was all there in the video, but I definitely wanted to stay as close to it as possible.  Thanks for favorite-ing it!  So glad you enjoyed it! ~ RK

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2011 1:53 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Very very very good! Exquisitely woven, details perfect, threads leading to all the right places and none dangling.

Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  Glad you enjoyed the story.  You are most welcome for the read.  Thanks! ~ RK

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2011 1:31 PM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Very well-written, but Spock seems more cruel to Nyota than I would think he would be. But of course, if she's clueless, maybe he has no choice.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Sometimes when someone just can't take a hint, seeming cruelty and bluntness is really the only way to go.  And she certainly couldn't take the hint.  He wasn't being cruel.  He was just left with no other option.  Thanks for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2011 9:54 AM Title: Dark Curtains Drawn

Nice.  I liked the mix of TOS and Abrams trek.  Poor Nyota just doesn't seem to get it... very sad.



Author's Response:

Thanks!  Glad you enjoyed it.  Nyota does not understand how to deal with Spock's Vulcan heritage, indeed.  I actually feel bad for her.  THanks for reading! ~ RK

You must login (register) to review.