Reviews For Intake Monitors
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Zzickle Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2013 6:28 PM Title: Complete Story

I liked how Kirk didn't realize he was eating a PB&J sandwich. Also, nice bonding moment with the soup.



Author's Response:

Thanks.  Soup brings people together.  Thanks for the review. ~ RK

Reviewer: TPurr Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/01/2013 10:30 PM Title: Complete Story

Very nice! Like the humor, and your characterizations are very good. Too bad Rand is such a doofus, but I never liked the character in TOS, so no reason she should be different in the reboot. Look forward to reading more!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I try to keep the characters as much in character as I can, sometimes with a higher degree of success than other attempts. I wasn't much of a Rand fan, myself, but someone had to be unaware of the allergies, right?  Poor girl.  Thanks for reviewing! ~ RK

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2012 6:30 AM Title: Complete Story

I really want to read more.Very well-written and in character and I love that Jim found the soup delicious.



Author's Response:

There is more of the series, and I am slowly working on the next one. I'm thrilled you think everyone's in character - hope I manage to keep them that way.  And, of course, anything he's not allergic to is practically fair game to Jim's system, right? Glad you enjoyed.  Hope to hear from you again. Thanks for reviewing. ~ RK

Reviewer: Sera Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/11/2012 9:04 PM Title: Complete Story

that's nice. thank you.

Author's Response:

You're welcome!  Thank you for leaving a review!  ~ RK

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/07/2012 3:33 AM Title: Complete Story

Nice job. I really enjoyed this. 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Glad you enjoyed.  ~ RK

Reviewer: Moonlightie Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2012 8:26 PM Title: Complete Story

I just read the reviews to your story (after having read the story of course ;)) and just like a reviewer I have to say that I also thought why Jim doesn't have an epi-pen? But that Jim has his own allergy-kit almost makes that up again *lol*.
Wonderful story and I hope there's more of it? I'm going to check that out now :)

Author's Response:

Hmm, two reviewers bothered by the lack of epipens...I guess Boens will just have to prescribe one, right?  At least he's got an emergency kit, though, right?  Ha!  There are more additions to this little series, so we'll see how things progress.  Thank you for your review! ~ RK

Reviewer: Spirk-Fangirl Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2012 7:27 PM Title: Complete Story

I never did like Rand, she just annoyed me for some reason. And I guess I just saw her doing something like that, this was cute.



Author's Response:

Rand kind of bothers me, too, for reasons I cannot pinpoint.  Glad you enjoyed the story.  Thank you for leaving a review. ~ RK

Reviewer: Allos Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/31/2011 5:47 AM Title: Complete Story

I can really appreciate this story! No matter how bad your allergies are you can still be a bit of an idiot and eat what people give you without checking. I'm allergic to dairy and honey and despite that I made a fresh yogurt and honey face mask, yep instant disaster! I can't even say a lack of knowledge is an excuse for me, I used to be a nurse!

The characters are completely in character which is oh-so-perfect :D I hate mushy OOC things. Just one tiny point, he'd probably carry EpiPens or keep them on the bridge and in the mess hall. EpiPens require no medical knowledge to deploy, you just take it from the tube and jab it firmly into a thigh and get medical assistance before the allergic reaction can get worse. Sometimes a second pen is needed, which is why patients always get two pens.

Jim's allergy bag made me laugh a lot, I have one too! My mum is a nurse and I'm tremendously gifted with extreme clumsiness, so we even have non latex gloves and emergency packs of sterile dressing packs and nitrile gloves. I'm not even safe in a hospital environment so we minimise my contact with well anything really. Which sucks but who cares when I can read awesome fic!

Author's Response:

THANK YOU!  Glad you fond the characters in character - always something I strive for!  I thought about the EpiPens, actually, and was thinking of putting them in one of the future stories in this little series.  (Thanks for the extra info about them, by the way!)  I figured Bones would have a little kit for Jim like that.  Deep down he cares.  Glad you enjoyed this.  Thank you for reviewing!  ~ RK

Reviewer: SuperSticky Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/09/2011 4:45 PM Title: Complete Story

You have a talent for catching the exact tone of the characters.  Great dialogue flow.  I really love that Kirk likes plomeek soup.



Author's Response:

*blushes* THANK YOU!  I always hope to get as close to the established tone of the characters as I can, so I get very excited when someone says something like that!  Made my day!  Thanks!!!  And I'll bet that Spock is thrilled Kirk likes plomeek soup, too.  Thanks for reviewing! SOrry it took me ages to resond! ~ RK

Reviewer: dyk0523 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2011 9:22 PM Title: Complete Story

the soup eating scene reminds me of the scene from beauty and the beast so cute xD



Author's Response:

Ha!  THat was not the intention, but I can see how it brought that scene to mind.  *giggle* ~ RK

Reviewer: logicallyillogical Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 8:04 AM Title: Complete Story

This was so nicely done (even though I do feel bad for Janice)!

My favorite part was easily the "Jim's Allergy Kit" part -- Bones, I love you.

I'm such a sucker for allergic!Jim stories, probably because I identify so much with allergic!Jim's fate:

The first time I discovered that I was allergic to something (morphine) was in the hospital, after the doctors gave it to me. Until this moment in my life, I had not known that I was allergic to ANYTHING.

And then, when they saw I was allergic to that, they gave me something else for the pain...which I was even more allergic to...

So they gave me tylenol.

And then they gave me dinner, which had pineapple in it (which, somehow, I'd gone my whole life up to that point never eating)...

And guess who's allergic to pineapple?

So yeah, I have a sweet, loving weakness for allergic!Jim stories. I loved your "Kirk voice" -- it was just sooooo Jim.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I couldn't resist Bones having a specific kit just for Jim.  (Oh my to your allergy troubles.  I, myself, discovered I was suddenly allergic to apples when all of a sudden I bit into one and had trouble breathing.  Not fun.)  Glad you found my Kirk was satisfactory - I'm always a little nervous that the voices may not be right.    Glad you enoyed the fic!  Thanks for reviewing.  I appreciate it! ~ RK

Reviewer: CoralCadence Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 12:41 AM Title: Complete Story

Oh wow. That's so cute. This is my first read of a friendship fic and I loved it.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  So glad you liked it!  I might be continuing this in a little series, but we'll see.  Thank you for your review! ~ RK

Reviewer: putigress2012 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 5:06 PM Title: Complete Story

Aww... Spock is happy Jim likes his soup. And I really like Spock taking care of Jim - making sure he's fed without going into anaphylactic shock. :D



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Spock would certainly take the job seriously as Jim's dietician.  Glad you enjoyed it!  Thank you for your review! ~ RK

Reviewer: RinRin68 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 6:34 AM Title: Complete Story

This was really enjoyable to read! I love the way you portrayed the crew. I wish there was more! I look forward to reading more of your fics in the future.

Author's Response:

Thanks!  I may continue this in a little series of one-chaptered fics, but we'll see the sorts of baby-step progress I can come up with.  THanks for your review!  ~ RK

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 6:33 AM Title: Complete Story

So, Miss Rand was too starry eyed to notice something as a red flag for allergies? hehe.

I found this story delightfuly humorous! The characters did feel right on spot. hehe. Loved that accusing line from Jim. 

Good work!



Author's Response:

Poor Miss Rand...Thank you for your review!  Glad the characters felt right!  Thanks! ~ RK

Reviewer: Tlema Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 6:20 AM Title: Complete Story

Really good for a first story. Cute friendship fic.

My only suggestion would be to add more detail, like with Spock's relationship with Uhura. Is it still going on or is it a thing of the past?



Author's Response:

Thanks for reviewing!  I'm new to writing K/S and am slightly nervous about trying it out, so thanks for your support.  Thanks also for the suggestion.  I didn't want to even try to tackle the Spock and Uhura situation yet, simply because I wasn't sure how to approach it in this story.  If I write a continuation of this, it will have to be addressed, of course.  (If anything it gives me a chance to think on how I will address it.  Yay, stalling!)  Thanks! ~ RK

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/13/2011 5:52 AM Title: Complete Story

What an adorable, well thought-out story!  I like the fact that you wove in parallels from the TOS universe without being too blatant about it.  This story has a very fluid, pleasant feel to it, and the tiny progression from animosity to the beginnings of a friendship between Jim and Spock was very believable.  Wonderful job :)



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Sorry it took me this long to respond.  I'm glad the TOS references did not seem forced.  Thanks for reviewing! 

You must login (register) to review.