Reviews For Courts of Honor
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Carolyn Spencer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/16/2016 5:02 PM Title: Original Acknowledgment

I've just finished my annual reading of The Price and Courts and reaffirmed my opinion that these works are the best K/S has to offer. Thank you, from the bottom of my heart for writing them.
It was a thrill for me to meet you at KiScon and express my gratitude in person. I crossed a continent to do it.
May you live long and prosper.

Reviewer: Ymas Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2014 3:20 PM Title: Original Acknowledgment

Great novel, gripping, awesome plot and terrific original characters. Wow, just incredible.

I don't read much gen, but here I wouldn't have missed the K/S for the fantastic plot. As there is some, all the better.

Another fact that shows how good this story is: Usually, constantly changing POV's put me off a story immediately. Here, it was just mildly annoying and gladly overlooked for the overall genius of the story.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/29/2013 2:07 PM Title: I

My God, it gets worse and worse by the minute (the situation, not your story, yes?), I'm not sure I can stand it.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/29/2013 10:33 AM Title: XXXVIII

OMG! I read through to chapter 38 before realising I've read this before!!!! I must've borrowed it from somebody, and it was many years ago, and I don't remember the first half at all (maybe I just skimmed it back then?) but I remember reading these next chapters over and over again, so powerful. 

A wonderful story, thanks so much for posting it here.

Reviewer: Jariyan Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/19/2013 11:27 PM Title: LIV

Enjoyed reading the story. Actually spent one of my few days off -and half the night - reading it, neglecting my long overdue tax return... Will there be any sequel? 

Reviewer: DarkAngelBlossoms Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/04/2012 11:07 PM Title: LIII

WoW! One of the best fanfics everrrr. It was so emotional. I was palpitating.

Reviewer: SilverSymbol Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2011 3:51 AM Title: LIV

Wow.

Reviewer: cathepsut Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2011 7:45 PM Title: Original Acknowledgment

Thank you for providing a Kindle version with artwork. Really looking forward to reading this, THANK YOU!

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 4:49 PM Title: LIV

1) I wish I could give constructive criticism but I don't know how in a field that isn't mine :)

2 x 100) THE ILLUSTRATIONS ARE AWESOME!!!!!

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 9:12 AM Title: LIV

I finished your ( story???) novel at 2.30 AM after and am still trying to think of what to say and/or how to say it. Superlatives are hiding their faces in shame.

Thank you times 100,000 for starts.

As do all marvelous things, after our admiring and praising and sighing replete, this tale inspires an even greater hunger--I for one am greedily and (almost) shamelessly squinting into the distance for some glance of the Wanderer....

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/15/2011 4:17 AM Title: LIV

This was a really fun story with a lot of action and a lot of insight into the characters. However, I was disappointed with the last part because I felt like one of the characters was missing: Spock. Now I'll admit it, I'm a Spock fan. It's awesome seeing Captain Kirk be, well, awesome, but something's missing for me when the Science Officer isn't pulling some sort of crazy sciency stuff out of thin air. Spock can be devious, clever, and insightful too. The only sign of that he gives is with the Crazy Beaming Stunt (which reminded me so much of STXI). Ultimately, this is not a science story, but I was sort of surprised to find out that SALEE was a bargaining chip (leading to a sort of ugly loose end--why would an officer of either fleet tolerate a privateer?). I was expecting a MacGuffin. How could Spock fail to find Dilithium on Riga? Did SALEE disable the primary sensors? This is not really explained.

My biggest problem is that during the Starbase 27 section we completely lose Spock as a character, with only the dimmest insight into his feelings. Spock has spent the entire story about 5 steps behind everyone else (& events), which is okay--he can be kind of dense sometimes. But how does Spock feel about being bonded? That has to be kind of a shock. He seems to completely check out at that point... Kirk envisions him as a little boy playing with a toy. Why isn't he trying to defend the captain (and by extension, himself)? In "Court Martial" he worked tirelessly until he found a piece of exculpatory evidence. In this story, we're told that he's messing around with the case in the background, but he accomplishes ... nothing. Slacking? Spock? Does he really not give a s*** about going to prison?

At first I was sort of perplexed that Kirk and Spock weren't cracking under the pressure (like, how perfect are these people) but I realized after a bit that Spock just seems apathetic. That's not normal, even for him. Is Spock the one who had the psychotic break? Is this what the bonding does to him? If so, not a very happy ending in my book. He seems completely lost and depressed at the very end when T'Pau confers her self-assumed burden on his shoulders, with no will to even put up a token resistance. Kirk's no help because he is willingly manipulated into pursuing the same end (because the carrot is being back in the saddle with a clean record, so why look a gift horse in the mouth). Spock is just sorry, and frankly, I'm disappointed.

I did like what became of Dia, and was intrigued by Veith. The sorrows there are simply beginning a new chapter. The pathos and the chaos were something I could really relate to.

I'm under no illusions that Tal has tamed Rho. She'll defend Veith until she can parlay that into something better. Still, it was satisfying to see her reconcile with Kirk.

Despite my frustrations with Spock as a character, the sex scenes were, indeed, really hot. Hats off because, frankly, I usually scroll through the sex scenes these days. Too many insincere, paint-by-numbers sex scenes in this fandom. Fade to black if you can't make it mean anything. I also was really glad that you didn't have them get back together and have that be the end of the story. It's the cheap and easy way to structure one of these tales, but it's rather disappointing for the reader. I enjoyed watching Kirk and Spock become more confident in their relationship with each other. I also appreciated that the story recognized that just because the crisis has passed does not mean you're finished with the consequences. (The most egregious fail of VOYAGER was not bringing the ship home for the last season, where the captain would have to answer for the choices she made and the crew would have to deal with the personal and psychological fallout of what they'd been through for the last few years.)

I'm really in awe of your use of metaphor. While the wordplay was a bit cutesy in "The Price", a stronger authorial voice emerges in "Courts of Honor", less self-conscious and precious, more communicative to the reader. The use of metaphor becomes more subtle as well.

The happy ending for Kirk seems a bit forced (though, so is the jeopardy) but I couldn't help but be reminded of the end of STIV. *happy* Also, in the interest of honesty/fairness, it behooves me to point out that Spock becoming Kirk's parasitic male (lol, look it up) does coincide with Spock's behavior in STII. Kirk screws up--but Spock forgets his place and enables him. Big mistake that costs a lot of people their lives. This is a valid interpretation of the character. (Just not one I'm fond of.)

Harnum... you have nailed the type. Sweet Schadenfreude, my friend. Wouldn't be surprised if he has a secret jones for teen male congressional pages yeomen. Something really perverted is going on behind the scenes, especially with the prurient interest he takes in everyone else's living arrangements and the uniform fetish.

Okay, my cat has just kicked me off the computer, so this will conclude my remarks. Overall, an outstanding accomplishment. Reminds me of the Vorkosigan Saga by Lois McMasters Bujold. (If you haven't heard of this series, check it out.)

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 6:02 PM Title: LIV

T'Pau as McCoy's patient? They deserve each other!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 4:44 PM Title: XLIX

aw, so cute.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 3:49 PM Title: XLVI

Amanda vs. T'Pau: fight!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 9:42 AM Title: XLIII

Sadly, the intertubes will not be booting me off and seeing that I go to bed. I will have to do that for myself. :(

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 9:25 AM Title: XLIII

"I haven't had this much sex since I was sixteen," Kirk said. "How can I keep getting hornier?"

"I have never had this much," said Spock. "There is a distinct possibility it will kill me. Are you sure this is normal?"

Okay--I don't care who you are (to coin a phrase here)--that's just funny.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 9:19 AM Title: XLIII

What could he say to match that? How explain that only Spock's need opened the way for this endless artesian upwelling? Kirk gave his whole body and mind to the endless pleasure of kissing Spock, not going anywhere, no past, no future, just ripple on ripple of blue water rocking crescents of rust red light.

oh god, that's so beautiful

ah, what the hell: time to stop being coy. damn you, story! okay, you win!

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 9:13 AM Title: XLIII

The creature reached back, its strong talons clasping his upper arms. With all his will, Kirk clasped the monster and pulled. A knee clashed with his, a hipbone bruised his own. Soft belly skin fluttered against his belly, and the creature's organ struck at him like a club. Male, then, as anguished as himself.

Um, wow. That was hot.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 9:09 AM Title: XLII

rofl over the confrontation between Kirk, Spock, and Sarek. "James is asking."

Uhura's in the closet, Chekov in the head!!!!

Not sure about that last paragraph (uh, what happened?) but the sex scene with Tal was pretty cool.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/14/2011 8:37 AM Title: XL

Biggest clichee ever--saving a buttload of kids--but it works. They're cute in a feral kind of way.

You must login (register) to review.