Reviews For A Shot of Courage
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/23/2014 10:04 AM Title: A Shot of Courage

It was preaty. Just as it.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/27/2012 1:37 PM Title: A Shot of Courage

Wonderful story. I love how Kirk started with simply touching Spock everywhere and how he considered Spock's comfort and specially how you ended the story with Spock saying good morning to Kirk.Very lovely indeed.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2011 11:06 PM Title: A Shot of Courage

Dammit, I had to look up that "Vulcan port" thing on Memory Alpha... looks suspiciously like Romulan ale except that it apparently sucks. Lol, I saw that episode when it came out but all I remember is Sakonna unsuccessfully trying to forcibly mind meld with Dukat. Awkward!

And you know, Memory Alpha, that might not be a contradiction if Vulcans' physiological reaction to ethanol is different than humans'. That would not beggar belief, seriously. Also, in RfM, Spock drinks some century old brandy and McCoy asks Kirk if they're up to handling a drunk Vulcan. The scene was cut from syndication.

Maybe Spock in CotK is just trying to say that Vulcans don't have the lust for alcohol that humans do, that it hasn't had a profound effect of their society. Addiction and dependence are very physiological and their physiology is different.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/14/2011 10:57 PM Title: A Shot of Courage

While I was somewhat put off by Kirk's drunken antics (and surprised that Spock wasn't, but hey, I'm not him... let me try and imagine he's a girl I like... okay, I see your point), I really liked how you wrote the sex scene. I think Kirk's continence when he realizes how nervous Spock is demonstrates more powerfully than any words could how he really feels about Spock. So, very effective. It's also nice to read a sex scene that doesn't read like an animated stroke fantasy. I have a habit of scrolling through those, especially if I was enjoying the rest of the story on its own terms.

I'm glad this fandom has moved past the need to drop in formulaic sex scenes. I think that started because of the fanzines. When the more general, grab-bag zines went away, that left K/S zines where the editors wanted to see a money shot in every story, so you get otherwise really good stories with discongruous sex scenes slotted in. I'm certainly not against sex scenes but if they don't fit in with and advance the story they become kind of silly. Why try to write a story about how much these two dudes love each other (remember that: love) and then write a series of sex scenes where they go at it like a high production value LA porno? But since it's not on video, we have to ALSO sit through the principle characters telling each other how hot they are in detail. Bleh. Not an I'm-so-in-love, "You're so beautiful," comment, of course, but "his eyes trailed over his lover's tightly muscled abs, dusted with light fur" etc. BLEH. I mean, obviously that has appeal to some people, just not me.

Nice ending, too--I was waiting for that bit. I thought Kirk's little cri de coeur about all the things he wanted was very sweet.

Reviewer: roswellfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/19/2011 4:59 AM Title: A Shot of Courage

"Clean freak." That line made me laugh, because I think it categorizes one of the best parts of their (would-be) relationship--that ability to tease one another. Well done.

Reviewer: giggilymesh Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/19/2011 7:23 AM Title: A Shot of Courage

Awww...it's so cute I want to hug something.  But there's just two things I wanted to coment on. One is that Vulcans don't drink alcohol and two I don't think they're too fond of water either, although I could be wrong.  I've just read a lot of fanfiction where they use sonics instead of water showers.  So yeah.  But other than that I OOB your writing, especially the part where Kirk goes, “Past. Fast. Heh.”

Spock felt his lips twitch, and he was grateful for the cover of darkness.

“As I said, you are intoxicated.”

“Maybe.”

Beautiful.



Author's Response: Thanks for reading, and I'm glad you enjoyed! In response to your two things: Vulcans actually make something called "Vulcan Port" and Spock has drunk Romulan Ale in the past, so they at least consume it for the taste at sometimes (I believe the port hasn't been made for a while, though, and is more exported by the time of TOS) and while fanon is pretty consistent about Spock not drinking water, that's never been confirmed by canon. :) This is why I love this fandom so much: so many different theories. XD

Reviewer: CarniVulcan Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/12/2011 12:47 AM Title: A Shot of Courage

I LOVE IT! I LOVE IT.

It started cute, it ended cute. I love Chekov coming to tattle to Spock and the good morning and AW!

Great job.



Author's Response: Thanks for reading and I'm glad you enjoyed it! Drunk fics: who knew they could be cute? XD

Reviewer: CMM Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 01/10/2011 5:06 PM Title: A Shot of Courage

Very sweet. It's been done before, of course, but you did it well.



Author's Response: Ah, thank you very much, and I'm glad you enjoyed. :) Yes, this story has been done many times; for this story in particular, it was prompt #22 in ksadvent 2010: "New Year’s party, and for the first time since he’s taken command, Kirk gets drunk. Spock takes him back to his cabin and finds that the alcohol has loosened his captain’s inhibitions…including his tongue." I probably should have made a note of this before, too. :DDD

You must login (register) to review.