You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/04/2016 9:06 PM Title: Chapter 1

I like the working backwards idea you explored in this fic and the idea of chekov not getting the girl. Ah the lure of an older man

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/27/2015 6:00 PM Title: Chapter 1

Reading this again because I like it so much.  This story is simply perfect.

 

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/16/2015 9:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was great. I really love TOS stories (I feast on ST2009 stories entirely too much) and yours brought me such joy.  I liked the idea that Jim and Spock both took it slow enough that they could enjoy where they were in the moment and didn't move forward until both were ready.  A trait I wish to acquire someday.  Thanks for a great glipse at our favorite guys.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2014 12:17 AM Title: Chapter 1

What a lovely story!  It seems so much more realistic to me than most K/S stories that have them falling on each other like starving hyenas. :-)

 

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/30/2013 11:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

(Sigh of satisfaction)
Ohhh.. that was treat it was.

Reviewer: Vilicia Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/30/2013 1:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

Hi,
Irealy like this story. It is other to much you read. I like the building of trust and intimacy.
It is much like I expirienced love in real life. Not an all wasting force, but a slow building commitment.

I think there should be more storys like that. Not the usual love at first sight, accedantial bonding or aliens make tham do it.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2012 9:25 AM Title: Chapter 1

A ver moving and touching piece of work.I love how you have defined the t'hy'la here perfectly.Nice work indeed.

Reviewer: Moonlightie Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/15/2012 3:11 PM Title: Chapter 1

Friendship turns into love - wonderful :)

Reviewer: Fugitive Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/26/2012 9:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awww.... this is lovely, a terrific read on a cold rainy night in the wild mountains.

Thanks.

Reviewer: Doni99 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/19/2012 7:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

This was extremely well done and I loved the twist of stepping back and going forward slowly (even if the don't realize it). Lovely story!

Reviewer: Moonlightie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2012 7:40 PM Title: Chapter 1

Aawww ... that was so cute b29;

Reviewer: wanderingsmith Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2011 6:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

simply beautiful



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Unicorn Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/07/2011 4:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

A good approach on how friendship can turn to love, I liked the progress very much! But I believe you would not have needed to place the story under "adult", since there are no graphic descriptions.

Only one aspect seemed a little "illogical" to me: of course this is a k/s story, but why would Spock need Kirk in the first place? I would have expected him to need the aid of some, any kind of, female, since he was betrothed to a woman in the first place. If his longing was now directed towards Kirk, the only explanation seems to me that there ought to be a link between them, though Spock later denied it. Also, the cycle was unfortunately not mentioned, i.e. how long this next pon farr occurred to Spock after the first one, and why it did not adhere to the usual seven-year-cycle.



Author's Response:

I'm sorry that the story was less that satisfying for you. Unfortunately, it's been many years since I wrote it and the details, whys and wherefores of it aren't very clear in my mind so I'm unable to answer your questions. As for the 'adult' listing, what rating a story is given I leave strictly up to the archivist.

Reviewer: beam_me_up_13 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/04/2011 5:29 AM Title: Chapter 1

this fic makes me smile

Reviewer: Amanda Warrington Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/21/2010 9:31 PM Title: Chapter 1

Dana Austin Marsh is one of my favourite TOS K/S authors.  The reason is because she manages to combine great characterisations with great stories, and The Deep End of Emotion is no exception.

There are a number of reasons why the Enterprise is the most successful ship in the fleet - and it's all to do with her unique command team.  At the start of the story, Kirk's intuition, which plays such a vital role in many of their missions, is telling him something's wrong, even though they're on shoreleave.  I love the way Dana actually shows some of the cues he unconsciously picked up in the days leading up to the situation, showing us how in this case his intuition worked, how that brilliant mind pieced it all together to figure out what was wrong.

Of course, the reticent Mr. Spock says nothing of the fact he's gone into pon farr, prefering to die than ask anyone to help him.  Thankfully, Kirk uses his persuasive charms to talk him round.  This part of the story is almost a prologue.

So the main part of the story begins - and what a great story it is.  Both men are concerned about whether their friendship can survive the intimacy they were forced to share, as they go back to being the colleagues they were.  This is the where Dana demonstrates her wonderful abilities as an author, as she deftly shows us in a series of vignettes over a period of time, how the two of them gradually become closer, gently and naturally moving from friends to something akin to 'brothers'...and of course in the end, it's only a small step to lovers as they become true t'hy'la.

It's wonderful to see how they fall in love - it's so organic and utterly believable - all testament to Dana's writing skills, as she takes us with them on that subtle journey.

It's her wonderful and profound understanding of Kirk and Spock's characters and their special connection with each other, togther with a recognition of the level of responsibility their roles entail on board ship, as well as their duty to StarFleet, that makes Dana's stories work so well.  They are so believable.

I read this story this morning, and on and off through the day it's come back to me - which doesn't often happen unless a story has affected me profoundly.  This story has been added to my favourites and is an absolute must-read.



Author's Response:

Amanda, you are always so very generous with your comments on my stories, and you'll never know how much I appreciate it. This time, you've really outdone yourself. It isn't often that a story that focuses more on gentle growth of a relationship rather than on an angst-driven plot will provoke such a response from a reader. It's a thrill for me to know that the story lingered on your mind and I thank you very much for making the effort to let me know.

Reviewer: lisa_tid Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2010 8:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

I really enjoyed it! Everything was so natural and just fell into place, not much trouble. Thanks!



Author's Response:

You're very welcome. Thank you for takiing the time to comment.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2010 8:05 AM Title: Chapter 1

Awwww!!

Dana Austin Marsh is a great author!!  Or, thee is, lassie, if so happen thee reads this...

There was a D.A.M. story in the first zine I ever bought, and I've had a soft spot for her work ever since.  Great to see 'em showing up here!!!



Author's Response:

Hey Wolf.Thank you for the wonderful endorsement.(g) Yes, I read my reviews. It just blows me away how very generous the online K/S readers are with their feedback. They really know how to take care of their authors. It's nice to hear that you're still enjoying my work.

Reviewer: GoClimbATree Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/20/2010 3:53 AM Title: Chapter 1

Another home run, my friend.  Gorgeous piece of writing, as always.  And, as alwaays, such a joy to read, and to look forward to. 

Sue

P.S I'm getting into MW from Timeless now and don't expect to stop until I'm done.  :D  So look out for an email sometime this weekend with what will no doubt be gushing thoughts.



Author's Response:

Thanks, Sue. So nice to know I can entertain you on two fronts.(g)

Reviewer: TechnoPoet Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2010 5:42 AM Title: Chapter 1

^_^ Very sweet, and well-written!

Author's Response:

Thank you.

Reviewer: mazaher Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/18/2010 8:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

Thank you for giving me this gem. I missed out on the paper fanzines, so I am happy and grateful that authors like you, and an archive like this, allow such beautiful stories to pass into digital form and on to new readers.

There are a few passages here I won't easily forget, because in their truthfulness they go straight to the heart of the matter (and mine). One tells a lot about Spock: "My life does not mean so little to me that I would lightly relinquish it ... but the cost is too high". The other tells as much about Kirk: "...making his needs seem to be strenghts rather than weaknesses".

Then there is the moment when Spock asks Kirk: "Are you suggesting that you always sleep with me?", and his logical drive to ascertain the precise meaning of Kirk's words made me recall the way my grand-grandmother reacted when her future husband asked her to marry him. He said, in the local dialect, the equivalent of "Shall we get married together?", at which she prudently asked in her turn, "Together as in the same day, or together as in you and me?"

I come down from half-Vulcan stock =)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. It's come as quite a surprise to me how very generous the on line K/S community is to their writers. I am so glad you have been enjoying these old stories.

You must login (register) to review.