Reviews For War Games
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/17/2013 6:54 PM Title: Two

Thank you very much for this challenging story! I knew something was wrong but then I thought it was all right and then.. wham!! Jim is taken away... again...

Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thanks very much!  I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: wyndsung Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2013 10:05 AM Title: One

*jaw drops*  This story has just taken over my life for the last few days.  Holy crap, you can write.  This was amazing.  Like other reviewers, I would adore a sequel, should you ever write one.  Just... wow.  Thank you.

Reviewer: wyndsung Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2013 10:05 AM Title: One

*jaw drops*  This story has just taken over my life for the last few days.  Holy crap, you can write.  This was amazing.  Like other reviewers, I would adore a sequel, should you ever write one.  Just... wow.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it!  (There is a sequel and a fic set before War Games and after You'll Get There in the End) on AO3.)

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/26/2011 9:22 PM Title: One

This. THIS is what I want to see in XII. All this palaver with 80-page-treatments-that-are-not-scripts-yet could be so easily solved if they would just get you to adapt "War Games". I would pay money/blood/my first-born child to see this on screen.

This is superlative writing. I'm going to shut up now before I embarrass myself with excessive application of squee, but I freaking LOVE your work.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Tech_Duinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2010 1:52 AM Title: One

I love you so freaking much I can't express it in words.

Lurve and smooches, you beautiful creature.



Author's Response:

*glee* I have no idea what I did, but I am all about the affection. Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2010 2:57 PM Title: One

Wow!!  This is a great story, a true labour of love.  Such a lovely detailed bit of worldbuilding, which is a great favourite of mine, as is the political stuff, done here with an exquisite balance between cynicism and hope.  An exercise in the honest portrayal of c'thia -- and btw, kudos for the Duane-related bits, I personally follow about 90% of her Trek-world as me own fanon, so this was right up my alley.

It reads like maybe there are other, previous stories I haven't seen, but there's plenty of exposition without being excessive; it was easy to pick up what I'd missed and figure out what was happening.

I hope to perhaps see a future story in this timeline -- I really wonder what will happen next as far as the colony's decisions, and why, if he approved the new rules, did Sarek then help our boys?  Curious, involved, and wondering what happens next -- these signs tell me this was very well done!!



Author's Response:

I'm hoping to tempt myself into doing a third story for KiScon, but so far, even thinking of another novel makes me twitchy. Not that I didn't love writing it!


Diane Duane's work with Vulcans was pretty much instrumental, especially with them taking a dark path here and God knows she can characterize gorgeously.

Others--besides "You'll Get There in the End" , there's a super short story set directly after that one where Jim is still getting over the effects of the pon farr.  In all honesty, War Games surprised me; I hadn't realized I'd been waiting for something like ten years since I was in Voyager to write this fic.  *g*

Thanks so much for your feedback.  Especially with your history wiht the fandom and with the pairing, it's an honor.

Reviewer: Calimora Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2010 2:50 PM Title: Two

This is a spectacular story, not just for fanfiction. It easily fits into the progression of events set up by Abrams and brings its own levels of complexity. The only critique I had was that spock seemed kind of passive, the observer and narrator of his story, but rarely the initiator of action. I din't think that this was a deliberate characterization on your part, but rather a side effect of the way you focus on Jim and Spock differerntly. Jim thinks about plans and talks while he's doing things. Spock observers Jim and others, muses about the interpersonal relationships, bunt not about the people themselves. Most of his active parts are written in passive settings or covered in breif. Your spock reacts decisively, but doesn't show us that forward thought in his narration. That said. I like the character, and think you've struck and some very good points in making him your narrator. I also love the periferals you've written in. The shifting philosophies and expectations that were triggered by the fall of Vulcan and the impact that Kirk's generation will make is fascinating. I hope you write more in this universe.



Author's Response:

You're right on the passive versus active approach; it's not that Spock strikes me more an observer than a participant, but I really love writing how he sees things, and it's hard to stop.  Thanks so much for the lovely feedback!

Reviewer: Ivy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/30/2010 1:24 AM Title: Two

I absolutely ADORE the way you write the Kirk character! I have to say, that in all the many wonderful K/S stories I've read, I think your Jim is one of the best.

I love "You'll Get There..." and this story so much, and I wish you'd write another long, juicy one in this universe, as I'm SURE you have no RL commitments and nothing better to do! ;o)

Thanks for posting!



Author's Response: Thank you so much! I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: ATHENS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/29/2010 12:40 PM Title: One

To use simple words, this is a masterpiece, one of the greatest works of fanfiction that I've ever read. Reading it confirmed my belief that you should indeed write the screenplay for ST XII.
It's wonderful to finally see this diamond here. Thank you so much for this gift.
Live long and prosper.

Author's Response: Thanks very, very much!

You must login (register) to review.