Reviews For The Stargazers
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: roswellfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/12/2013 2:34 AM Title: Chapter 9

I liked it!

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 1:21 AM Title: Chapter 9

You were better to say theer would be a sequel!! Otherwise I'd have been upset that they weren't already both enrolled in Starfleet by the end...and as the chapter advanced it was obvious there wouldn't be enough time for Spock to make an about-turn as well.

Looking forward to the sequel. SPock's last line was promising, as was the fact that Jim actually hunted him down (sort of) and braved the intimidating-looking Embassy secretary :)

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 1:00 AM Title: Chapter 7

Haha, the letter arrived even before he could get back? Talk about eager! :-D Of course he aced the tests - he's James T Kirk! And the Academy definitely caught his attention and grabbed it and didn't let go. I love how Bones took up the role of "mentor" to Jim that was Pike's in the movie. And even this early in their friendship he reads Jim really well. I love how he guessed that it was more Spock's words than his that convinced Jim to come to San Francisco. I'm hoping that Jim will be able to do the same for Spock by the end of this story! They just HAVE to join together.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 12:50 AM Title: Chapter 6

I especially liked your description of the starry sky here as Jim and Spock looked at it. The feeling of awe, of being so small yet at the center of the whole universe. The few times I've had the chance to stargaze from a truly favourable place for it - far into the country with no city lights that the eye could see, the desert coast of a Mediterranean island - I exprienced the same fascination as Jim did here. you capured the feeling perfectly.

And I'm glad of the little signs of humor in Spock (his bit about the translator and Iowan dumb hicks was awesome :D) and how he is opening up with Jim, even still slowly. And lol that he totally hid his nearly-grandmaster status from Jim ;D

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 12:17 AM Title: Chapter 5

looool. It sure sounds like a date to pretty much everyone - except Jim and Spock themselves. That was funny. Interesting reaction on Winonas's part. Does she have a history with Vulcans? Or maybe she's just afraid "dating" an alien might raise the odds of Jim leaving Iowa and she doesn't want that? Hmmmm....

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/20/2011 12:02 AM Title: Chapter 4

Oh! Now you're making me curious. I love cliffhangers... especially when I don't have to wait to get the answer ;))) Oh yes, Jim's attention is definitely engaged. That he doesn't like the idea of Spock going back to Frisco soon... mmmmm :).

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2011 11:54 PM Title: Chapter 3

Oy. If only Jim knew how wrong he was! Although I'm guessing he's going to learn it. Part of me was ridiculously happy to see them clasing here. It just... makes for great dynamics. You can't be indifferent to someone you clash with and everyone knows that it's indifference that's the opposite of love, not hate :). And more ass-kicking by McCoy. Yay!

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2011 11:06 PM Title: Chapter 2

Hehehe. I like the influence Bones is having on Jim already. A good kick in the ass is just what Jim needs at this point. And Jim is STILL noticing little details about Spock when he has no real reason to, and Spock is sort of interacting with Jim instead of flat-out ignoring him.You can see they'll go far :-D And lol, I do love the image of Spock sitting in a bar with everyone looking at him with wide, wild eyes. :)

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2011 10:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

Ooooh, I remember noticing this story among the "Most Recent" pages some time ago. I didn't realize it was finished now. I'm glad I found it again! This is an interesting beginning. Right from the start you make it obvious what a small blip on the map Riverside is, and from there show how stuck, purposeless and helpless Jim feels in Iowa and this small town, where the only window on the world and galaxy at large is the shuttleport. No wonder that's where he end ups. Plus, I like how Jim's first impression about Vulcans is disappointment instead of fascination - I found that a nice change ;) - yet he still spots Spock right away and notices all sorts of stuff about him :D. I'm a big believer of the "meant to be in any universe" trope when it comes to those two :). And of course, having Bones actually throwing up on Jim instead of just threatening to was vastly amusing :). I can't wait to see how that epic friendship develops from there too!

Reviewer: marrydiamond Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/22/2011 9:43 PM Title: Chapter 9

Gah that was so awesome!! Great story! when will the sequel be?

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2011 3:51 AM Title: Chapter 8

I'm so glad you're back, although sorry to hear that you've been so ill. Apologies are completely unnecessary, given that we all get to enjoy your stories entirely at your discretion. Really, we should be thanking you.

Another wonderful chapter, and Spock's insights into Jim's behaviour are of course, spot on. Last minute indeed ...

Love it, and thanks for sharing!

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2011 10:38 PM Title: Chapter 8

Nice job with Jim telling his mom off.

I'm excited to see if Spock chooses the same as Jim.

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2011 10:13 PM Title: Chapter 5

It's funny how everyone told Jim he was going on a date.

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2011 10:05 PM Title: Chapter 4

I like Jim being assertive and going looking for Spock.

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2011 9:58 PM Title: Chapter 3

Well, Jim and Spock seem to be off to their usual rocky start.

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/06/2011 9:42 PM Title: Chapter 1

I'm kind of surprised that I haven't read this one yet. I like the little differences from the original story you've put in.

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2010 11:58 AM Title: Chapter 6

Go Spock! Now Jim is getting nudges from all directions, but I suspect it's the logical presentation of arguments from Spock that will sway the decision. He has after all, tapped into Jim's fondness for the stars. So if it's what Jim really wants deep down, I wonder what's holding him back?

Oh wait, that's where I have to kick back and wait for the next chapter *STARE* to find out.

*FLAILS*

Author's Response:

Same shit that held him back in the film - being a screwed up little hick. :P Though I admit, I expected a threat once you got to the end of this chapter, judging by your previous review.

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2010 11:52 AM Title: Chapter 5

I love the way everyone's onto Jim before he's had a chance to say much at all:


"Christ, no! What is it with people and thinking I'm dating!"

Her eyebrows just then would've given Spock's a run for their money.


Heh heh heh.

Excellent character development, and of course it goes without saying that I'm particularly taken with Bones. The way he's nudging Jim into doing something with his life, not to mention getting a head start on his crappy day but getting into the drinking ahead of schedule.

Uhura sounds like an interesting one as well, passing herself off as a student to blend in. Makes an interesting contrast with Jim who clearly has the potential but not the drive. Hmm.

Me like, and lucky for YOU, there's another chapter for me to read.

Reviewer: willowtree_16 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2010 8:36 PM Title: Chapter 5

another awesome chapter

Reviewer: willowtree_16 Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/11/2010 11:00 PM Title: Chapter 4

that was so awesome, im really looking forward to the next chapter. i can't wait to see how the chess match goes. I love watching Jim go after something he isn't suppose to have.

You must login (register) to review.