Reviews For Valley of Shadows
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/30/2015 8:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

There are Fics and there are examples of writing as a craft carefully honed with though to the exact placing of each word. Few writers reach that level of skill. 

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/22/2015 7:30 AM Title: Chapter 1

Most beautiful in so many ways. One for many: the different perception Kirk has of the surrounding landscape when he approaches the valley of shadows and when he is leaving. It illustrates his inner journey better than a thousand words.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/05/2012 5:50 AM Title: Chapter 1

I read this wonderful story years and years ago in a print zine, and it was one of the ones I returned to over and over.  Syn Ferguson produced some of the loveliest K/S I have ever read.  I also loved her Court of Honor, and the poster made to raise funds for the eventual printing of the zine still hangs on my wall across from me as I type.  It is one of my favorite Trek mementoes.  I hope that wherever she went she has found some peace and continues to write with her usual talent.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/17/2011 9:51 AM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful,mystic,and gracefulz90;
The story made me think of Ursula Le Guin.

Reviewer: Jade Dazy Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/01/2011 6:06 AM Title: Chapter 1

Another one I remember from the publication I now am reminded was called Sun and Shadow. I did not know that you had written both pieces, though I should have. Beautifully written and the hopeful tone of the piece more than makes up for the depression that overtakes me when I read Freedom is Standing in the Light. This one was one of my favorites from that publication. I wish I could find my copy, but I'm afraid it has been lost permanently when my ex lost a storage unit we'd been keeping things in. Knew I should never have let it out of my sight. I am glad, though, to be able to read more pieces authored by you. The imagery in this story drew me in until I was living in the story, breathing the air with the characters. I didn't surface for a true breath until I'd finished reading and then it was quite a jolt to find myself in such comparatively mundane surroundings. Thanks for sharing your gift.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/29/2010 7:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful, wonderful, and sad.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2010 2:18 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was the first of yr stories I ever saw, a friend loaned and later gave me a copy.  So beautifully written, all the characters so very sharp and clear.  The Valley itself, the people who live there, the ones who come to help...

And the ending... Beautiful!!  Very happy to see this on the archive, hope to see more of them soon!

Reviewer: Killa Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/29/2010 9:26 PM Title: Chapter 1

I've always found this to be the most satisfying of all your short stories. The original character is one I would love to read and know more about -- one of the strongest and most memorable OCs in Star Trek fanfic, for me. I also revel in the imagery of this piece. It starts out so bleak and ends so joyously, and with such hope and redemption for all of them. The language is also breathtaking, and flawless.

You must login (register) to review.