You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: laustic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/08/2013 3:04 AM Title: Act 2, Scene 3

Much ado about nothing is one of my favorite plays and Benedict and Beatrice are definitely one of my favorite couples.  To see Kirk and Spock portraying them is the most fantastic thing I've ever seen. 

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/21/2013 11:47 AM Title: Act 1, Scene 1: Near Pike's Home

This is so fun. Waiting more.

Reviewer: Gredorial Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/09/2011 11:04 AM Title: Act 2, Scene 3

I've always loved how well Shakespeare and Star Trek fared together :)

Reviewer: Spockaholic Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/13/2010 1:53 PM Title: Act 2, Scene 3

This is delightful!  I am thoroughly and permanently impressed with how well you have managed to combine Shakespearean and Trekkian elements. 

Reviewer: Telera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/12/2010 6:21 AM Title: Act 1, Scene 1: Near Pike's Home

Hi again! This is Telera from the LJ community! I just created this account so I could tell you how much I have enjoyed your story- it was witty, clever, funny and very well written! Those who know the Shakespearian play and Star Trek are in for a treat ^_^ I just wanted to ask, since this is a WIP, are you planning on finishing the rest of the acts? I'm so looking forward to reading them!

Hugs

Author's Response:

Yes, I have every intention of finishing the rest of the acts! It's such a delightful play, and the initial work I did on this was a great deal of fun. I need to wrap up another (huge) writing project before I can turn my full attention to this, but YES, it will get finished. :)

I am glad to know that you like what you've read so far. Thanks so much for the wonderful review!

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2010 9:45 PM Title: Act 1, Scene 1: Near Pike's Home

I'm glad you are starting to feel better. I'm glad you know what you need to do to get the best story written. I hate to pressure you - just encourage with kind of a loudish voice. ;-)

I'm kind of excited to see how you write the other characters in this play. The one I saw was in Columbus, Ohio at an outdoor theater. They performed it in the round and my friends and I actually sat on the stage. We were really up close with the sweaty actors in Mid-July. They didn't change any of the dialogue, but they were wearing modern clothing/dresses and the bad brother had his cell phone out texting while he was acting like a jerk - he also smoked on stage. The dogberry character (Michael Keaton) entered the theater on a motor scooter. very comical. The actions the actors used really gave the show a modern feel with the original language intact.

Anyhow, keep up the good work.

 



Author's Response:

I just need to take my time to get the chapters for "How to Marry..." right. There's a lot that's going on, so they take a lot of time to get the right feel and interaction in them. It makes writing the story a slow process...but quality over expediency, right?

As for this story, I tried to assign the roles to characters from Trek that might make sense, whenever possible. Obviously it isn't always possible, but one must make due. Some characters fit their roles better than others. I don't plan on including much with Dogberry or Verges -- I think it's just because I find them rather annoying characters. Most of what they have to say doesn't add a whole lot to the story, so I'm keeping them to a minimum here.

I am glad that you've seen the play recently. Hopefully having it fresh in your mind makes reading this all the more enjoyable. :-)

Reviewer: MyriadProBold Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2010 6:52 AM Title: Act 1, Scene 1: Near Pike's Home

Nice job. I just saw this play a couple if months ago - I watched the movie first just to make sure I could keep up.

You are doing a really good job with the characters. I can really see Kirk and spock's characters shining through. I also like that you made McCoy and Pike on more equal level.

Now, back to the 'other' story. You know I saw this story pop up and it wasn't How to Marry and I thought 'no no no...'

Nice job again.

Author's Response:

This story is the natural end result of my being sick. Whenever I don't feel well, I always wind up watching Kenneth Brannagh's film version of the play. This time I kept seeing Kirk as Benedick and Spock as Beatrice, which amused and delighted me to no end, so of course I just had to write it after that!

Sorry to get you all excited/disappointed that I hadn't updated "How to Marry..." Sometimes I just need to step away from big projects for a day or two when my ideas get all tangled in knots. If I allow my brain to wander onto something else I've discovered that my knots come loose easier than if I just try to continue plowing through a chapter that I'm having problems with. Such is the case right now, but I promise that I'm hard at work on it once more, and should update soon.

:)

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/28/2010 3:14 AM Title: Act 1, Scene 1: Near Pike's Home

This is real interesting ...I wish I had read Much Ado About Nothing........I like the interaction you have  going....it is written in the old style but also mixed with how we speak....I like it....looking forward to the next chapter...



Author's Response:

It's an interesting challenge from a writing perspective...how much of the old style language to keep? (I've updated all of the dialogue, to some degree) versus how much of our own conversational style to use?

I'm trying to keep the original spirit and conversational context alive, but obviously it has to be adapted for K/S, which does mean some changes. But it's a lot of fun, especially since this is my favorite play by Shakespeare. :)

You must login (register) to review.