You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: pointyears Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/08/2014 11:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was recommened to me on the star trek fic finder. I did a prison fic request :) and, I'm not dissapointed! Very, very well written, and I thiank you for sharing this with us!!!



Author's Response: Thanks so much, pointy ears (loved your name), for your comments. I'm glad the story didn't disappoint. I appreciate that you took the time and trouble to respond.

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/07/2014 9:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wonderful story and loved it that we saw it thru a third party's eyes

Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response: I love a third party's viewpoint, especially when he/she doesn't know Kirk and Spock the way we do. Thank you for your lovely comments and for responding.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2014 9:23 PM Title: Chapter 1

I feel compelled to add two things to my earlier review. The image of the black cloak is haunting me, I get the feeling there is more to it, that it symbolizes something important. Maybe it stands for compassion, for that deep love that makes someone able to recognize the other's suffering and to try to alleviate it. Maybe that's why Barack insists on taking Spock with his cloak on, because he actually desires more than his body, is fascinated by more than the Vulcan's physical appearance. And it 's perhaps the reason why Spock in the end hands it over to him, asking him to take care of the others. Barack has been changed by the encounter with Spock and he is now clothed in mercy, in compassion.

The other thing I ask myself is why in the beginning Barack doesn't want to be called Mister, and in the end asks for it. I think that probably in the end he feels that his interrogator respects him as a human being and he himself acknowledges the other's desire to help by truely understanding. He therefore accepts to be put on the same level with him while at the beginning he refuses the title because it seems an empty formality.

This story truely enters under the reader's skin!



Author's Response: Hi again, angelocustode. It pleases me no end to think that my story caused this response from you. It's always so lovely to think that some of what I was thinking actually made its way onto the printed page. Yes, the cloak came to symbolize Spock's caring and the handing it over to Barak at the end meant that now Barak would assume that role. I do think Miles respected Barak from the beginning and would have continued to call him Mister Barak but for Barak's denial of the title. I think that at the end Barak himself realuized he had taken on Spock's caretaker role and thus gave himself the respect he deserved.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/26/2014 10:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

The first time I started reading this story I couldn't finish it, it was too painfull. I gave up too early, before the light started to illuminate the pit. I read it all today and I am so touched by it. It is one of the saddest but at the same time most enlightening things I have read on this Archive. The way you show how dignity and deep, careing love is able to illuminate the darkest places! Sacred ground indeed, where true love comes to completion, every place can be sacred. I don't know how to thank you for a reading that touches so deeply.



Author's Response: Hello again, angelocustode! Thanik you so much for this wonderful review. I've got the biggest grin on my face. I'm so pleased that you didn't give up on the story, and that it satisfied you the second time around. I so appreciate that you took the time and trouble to respond.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/15/2013 9:42 PM Title: Chapter 1

That was ... that was ... I'm not sure I have the words for what that was, and I'm usually a very verbal person.  What an incredible writer you are, and what a stunning piece this is!

 

 



Author's Response: Wow! I'm thrilled that my story touched you. Your lovely comments made my day. Thank you so much for responding.

Reviewer: museattack Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2013 1:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

A dear friend recommended this to me, and I am so happy I read it. I really liked Barak and how you developed him through the story. He came across as sympathetic in the end. I especially liked how Barak described things which the reader understands, even though he didn't, like Jim slapping Spock out of his healing trance. This was very sad but quite lovely! 



Author's Response: Thank you for those lovely comments, museattack. I'm so pleased you enjoyed my story. It's so nice when someone responds to something one writes. Thanks again.

Reviewer: skaylin Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/23/2013 4:28 AM Title: Chapter 1

I'm happy to have stumbled upon this story and at a loss for words to describe its awesomeness. Grwat use of the Vulcan details from the outsider POV - the nerve pinch, Spock's confrontation with the prisoners, the healing trance, what Jim says about the Forge and T'Khut (interesting, now, that these names obviously mean nothing to Barak, but nevertheless he remembered them). Overall, a brilliant job of taking the darkest setting and conveying a sense of  hope and wonder that we love about Star Trek.



Author's Response: Thank you for your very kind comments, skaylin. I'm so glad you enjoyed my story. I suppose Barak remembered those names because he had fallen in love with Spock and remember the smallest detail about him. (I know I would!) ;-) Thanks for responding.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2012 8:34 AM Title: Chapter 1

In times like this, it really annoys me that my first language is not English.I wish I could tell you how wonderful this story really is and use the right words to do so but I don't know enough big poetic words to do so.I can only say that this story almost brought tears to my eyes and you have certainly captured true love in your amazing story.Thank you for sharing this amazing amazing piece of work.



Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely loc, argona, and I think you express yourself just fine in English. I'm glad you took the time and trouble to respond, and that you enjoyed the story. You made my day!

Author's Response: Thank you so much for your lovely loc, argona, and I think you express yourself just fine in English. I'm glad you took the time and trouble to respond, and that you enjoyed the story. You made my day!

Reviewer: Aelin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/19/2011 10:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh wow. That was just indescribably beautiful. You write love better than almost any author I've read. And the goodness, the nobility of those two men...I remembered why *I* love them. This was a fanfiction that depended almost not at all on the preexisting characters and world; I imagine I would have loved that almost as much if I'd never heard of Kirk and Spock in my life. As it is...I'm devastated by the beauty of it. Thank you.

Author's Response: Thank you so much, Aelin. I'm pleased that you enjoyed my story. It's nice to know I transmitted some of what I feel for these two incredible men. Thank you for responding.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/15/2011 9:12 PM Title: Chapter 1

A great fic one worth reading several times for the fic itself and fore technique



Author's Response: Thanks so much, SORAL179. I'm glad the story held up for you over repeated readings. You made my day.

Reviewer: ironland Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/24/2011 1:28 PM Title: Chapter 1

Tonight I spended two hours to read this story again. Their love,their mercy,their noblenes......every charcter is perfect.It is a real ST story.Life maybe is a Pit,but never give up faith,and people should try to become a better person. It makes me very moveda292;can I translate it into Chinese?

Author's Response: I'm so glad you enjoy the story enought to want to translate it. Sure, go ahead. I give my permission, and thank you for asking.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/24/2011 4:02 AM Title: Chapter 1

I read it again and again.
It's miracle.
Sorry my English is so poor,I can't tell you how I fell.Only can say is :THANK YOU.

Author's Response: I think your English perfectly describes what you felt, and I thank you so much for your comments. I'm floating on air.

Reviewer: Tech_Duinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/27/2011 12:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is one of the most intriguing K/S stories I’ve ever read. I love the format, and the plot seemed very much like something you would see in an episode, with Kirk getting himself caught for some reason or another and Spock throwing caution to the wind to come after him. I also love the gritty realism of the prison, and the clear and distinct voice you gave Barak. The story got a little romance novel for me with the part where everyone but Barak looks away as they make love and the offerings they’re given afterwards, but I get what you were going for. It was very, very good.

I look forward to reading more.



Author's Response: Thank you for your lovely and very kind comments. I'm glad you enjoyed the story. When it was printed in the zine, I was able to keep the format more like a report, but unfortunately this site doesn't support that type of format. I smiled at your comment about the story becoming "a little romance novel" at the end there. LOL. You're right but I for one, need a liitle romance novel in my K/S.

Reviewer: marroniere Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/07/2011 5:49 AM Title: Chapter 1

I think I must thank you for this amazing story. It's moral aspect kind of reminded me of Dostoevsky.

I loved the ending and the scene with a boy dying of fever the most. They came out wonderfully. They're sad and really impressive.

 Just... wow. It's the best K/S I have ever read. I'm not good at writing reviews and my English really sucks, but I think I just had to say something. :)



Author's Response: To be compared with Dostoevsky in any way is amazing, and I thank you. I'm so glad you liked the story, and I think your English is as far from sucking as it's possible to be. Your comments made my day!

Reviewer: dyk0523 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2011 5:43 PM Title: Chapter 1

Dang read it for the seventh time now even with midterms two days from now i'm doomed but the story is still beautiful. It's really awe-inspiring to see Spock as some being analogous to Jesus, or Buddha. I'm sorry if I offended anyone's Christianity by stating this :( as for Buddha, I'm a Buddhist myself :P



Author's Response: Thank you so much, dyk0523, for your wonderfully kind locs! I'm so glad my story touched you. I've always felt Spock was an incredibly good person. Good people shed their light on others and make them better than they ever intended to be. Now back to those books. [Sorry, it's the teacher in me. ;-)]

Reviewer: dyk0523 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/29/2011 3:52 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. I am currently reading this story for the sixth time and I'm sorry I didn't write a review sooner. This is SUCH a riveting story. I got shivers (in a good way) when I first finished reading it. Please write more and I love the other story you wrote Duet for One Voice (I am sorry if I got the title wrong D:). I think you do a superb job with your fictions with first-person voices, be it TOS characters or an OC of your own creation. Thank you so much for writing this.

Reviewer: leafy365 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/11/2010 7:27 PM Title: Chapter 1

That was really powerful and emotionally heartwrenching to read about. Just one question: Kirk hitting Spock is because of the whole Vulcan healing coma thing, right? I think it would be nice clarification if Barak knew about that, but other than that small nitpicky detail, excellent story!

Author's Response: I'm afraid the whole story rests on Barek not knwing that much about Vulcans. He believes that Kirk is abusing Spock which relates to his own experience with the woman he loved. Thanks for your comments. Glad you enjoyed it.

Reviewer: titC Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/29/2010 7:23 AM Title: Chapter 1

OMG, fantabulous!! the POV, the setting, the characterization... I wish I could have had such skill and ideas, but I'll very gladly settle for reading and enjoying your stories, they make my day ;-)



Author's Response: titC, your wonderful LOC made my day! Thanks so much for responding and letting me know my story touched you. I was trying for something a little different. It's nice to know you think I succeeded.

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/28/2010 1:28 AM Title: Chapter 1

That was simply superb.   As far as prison stories go, this is on par with Greywolf's Folsom Prison Blues - one of the best K/S stories I've ever read.  You've just been added to my "I'll read anything you write" author category.

Hope there is more to come....



Author's Response: Thanks so much for your very kind comments, Wendy. It's a great compliment to be linked with Greywolf's story. And to have my story be someone's "one of the best ever" just blew me away. Wow!

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/21/2010 12:35 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. That was utterly spellbinding from beginning to end. Beautifully written and structured in such an effective way. I think what I love the most is the way seeing things through Barak's outsider POV is like having a guide take you through exactly why Trek in general and Kirk and Spock in particular are so special. A really wonderful story.



Author's Response: Thanks so much, Simone. I think you hit the nail on the head as to the reason we might be drawn to a story from an observer's POV. I love it when others find out what exceptional people our heroes really are.

You must login (register) to review.