You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/01/2019 4:51 PM Title: The Epoch of Belief and Incredulity -- Part One

Love this tale 

Reviewer: LSPINGLES Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/21/2019 12:09 PM Title: On Account of Ghosts

Even though I saw this was WIP and not touched in 4 years I could not stop myself from starting to read it.  I've always wondered about Jim's grief after Spock's death (I barely survived the end of the movie when I saw it in theatres).   I thought it was great that you brought T'Pol into the story and that it was means to show how Spock changed over time.  I very much like that Spock regretted his actions, as he really could have harmed McCoy.  Nogura's portrayal was brilliant.  Too often he seems to be portrayed as since brilliant, but with no feeling or integrity.  Here you showed that he does care all at the same time as doing his duty as he sees fit. 

There were many tiny bits I loved as well that demonstrated a wondeful attention to other characters. Scotty recognizing that all people have their place - even Captain's in drydock!!!. 

If you ever pick this up again.  I will be there.  I am excited to see you do have a number of finished works in the Tapestry series.  Looking forward to getting started on them. 

Not sure if you still receive notices on your works, but hoping you see this. 

Reviewer: T_akira Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2016 4:31 PM Title: Prelude in Minor: What Came Before

After a very long time away from ST fandom, the 50th and Nimoy's death have brought me back with renewed passion. I was thrilled to find this site and to see so many familiar authors/stories. I've been going through the archive from A-Z and after rewatching TMP, I did my usual 'skip' of WOK (I refused to see it until TSFS came out) and watched III last night. Looking for a companion story, I found this and it's *beautifully* done.  I devoured the 9 chapters in one sitting and didn't realize it is still a WIP - I thought "where's the rest? I need MORE!" As a movie III may not have been great film, but for us, it was gold. This provides the underlying fabric we know is there - the true nature of the relationship. Also love how the implication of Saavik and David being together was handled - would have to go back to the novelization, but I thought that's where things were going.

So now that I see this is not finished, I'll add my voice to the others' before me:  more, please!  Thank you for this. Can't wait to see this continued and for the same treatment of the rest of the movie series (I won't mind if you 'skip' TFF  ;-D)!!!

Reviewer: Ms Moxie09 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2015 2:18 AM Title: On Account of Ghosts

SOO when are you going to update this already?!?!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/06/2015 9:25 PM Title: On Account of Ghosts

Can I just say your works are epic?  I mean, seriously, I couldn't get this level of writing done if I suddenly channeled J.K. Rowling.  I feel Jim's grief acutely, and his confusion at being told to "just let go".  No one should be told when their grief is over.  I'm concerned about Carol being in "custody".  Weird, but considering what she and her son did, I get it. I would love to see more of this, in your time of course, not mine.  Just keep making magic like you are.  Thanks so much.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2015 6:14 PM Title: Prelude in Minor: What Came Before

I am glad of this update and recommend this fic to all readers. It's not just a retelling but a fic that captures the esence of fleet relationships the machinations and the friendships In a military body. It gets into the raw masculinity of the characters in a way that much fanfic fails to do. But most of all it carries in the words both said and unsaid  a subtle sense  of both forboding and opportunity. It is quite simply one of the best written covers of the search for Spock and well worth waiting for updates

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/11/2015 4:25 AM Title: Orders and Regulations

What a disappointment that there is no more to this fic. The characterisation is spot on and although we know the story it's like having all the missing bits of the script

Reviewer: kane41 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/03/2013 8:58 PM Title: Prelude in Minor: What Came Before

Beautifully written. Your characterizations of Kirk and McCoy are particularly wonderful and poignant. I really do hope that you decide to complete this story.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/19/2012 1:09 PM Title: Prelude in Minor: What Came Before

Great work. Love your details. Where is the rest ?

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/17/2011 5:22 PM Title: The Garden of Eden

Your thoroughness and dedication to telling your story the right way mean so much to me.  I ate this chapter up with a spoon.  Jim is worried about Bones, who for all intents and purposes seems better off than Jim is himself.  Bones doesn't remember anything, which is par for the course, but Spock is screaming for his t'hy'la inside.  He doesn't want to go to the Hall of Ancient Thought.  Jeez.  Jim is falling apart, literally and physically.  And people keep getting up in his business.  It's like the world is out to get him.  While he cried for death to take him after Spock died, I don't think Jim's a danger to himself.  I think if he were able to grieve openly about his sa-telsu's death, he'd be okay.  Wait, Nogura knows.  He had the flight-deck tape translated.  So he knows exactly how close Jim and Spock were.  Wow.  But like you wrote, after years of protecting their secret, it's second nature now.  I have to say, even though I know TSFS and I know how it ends, things seem bleak right now.  You're doing a fantastic job with this story.  Keep up the great work.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/17/2011 4:18 AM Title: The Garden of Eden

I really love the original series and you write it so well my dear...You have such a talent for such a detailed plot and it fits so easily like we were watching the movie....for example the next chapter...we do remember the scene where they are all at Jim's apartment and Chekov I believe asks if they are going to have another ship...and you filled in the hole that was missing. Because Jim answers him...now it makes sense. Thanks so much for backrub scene priceless...and the bit about Dr. Noel awesome to have her in your story...Can't wait for the next chapter which is Sarek's arrival I believe...getting back a bit I forgot about McCoy....that was really fun...and so McCoy...sweating and bitching about the weather...ah and the race to the top of the mountain....I do love your writing and your lovely reboot story I honestly don't knw when I will read it...it isn't the same as the original and I have a hard time getting into it...but who knows...oh one more thing...I was wondering if you watched the episode from Enterprise to get a better feel for the hall of ancient thought...that series was awesome to give us so many goodies...I only got to see part of the episode where Archer as Surak's katra..I really need to see it..I did like the scene where Archer and T'Pol were walking in the dessert heading there and they meet up with someone..can't remember who it was..and I was surprised to see a SEHLAT as a creature that would harm you..I believed it to be more a pet...would have made more sense to have lematya instead. Thanks my friend..looking forward to the next chapter...amazing writer you are....

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/20/2011 3:36 PM Title: Orders and Regulations

Oh, boy.  Morrow...I never was comfortable with Morrow.  So to see him acting like a spoiled two year old who lost his ice cream isn't a surprise.  But Nogura is more than able to handle him, smooth over his wounded feelings and get him off Jim's back.  That'll come in handy later.  Saavik and David are trying to work with Genesis and it's exciting but they don't know what they'll find, and Esteban is a stickler for rules.  Nogura is hurting, and I feel so sorry for him.  It's got to be hard to be that important and have everyone depending on you.  He's going to cover up the flight recorder data so Jim isn't shamed.  What a positively sweet man.  I hope he can make losing the Enterprise easier too.  But we all know where that goes....  Great job with this chapter!



Author's Response:

I've never been crazy about Morrow either. The funny thing of it is though...as much as we might not want to admit to it, Morrow does actually have a legitimate point when it comes to Jim's behavior. Jim is the kind of guy who does what he wants, usually without a whole lot of thought for the chain of command. It isn't hard to imagine that Jim's given Morrow more than a few headaches in his life, even with Nogura there to smooth over the worst of the rough edges (on both sides).

Everyone's bound by rules and regulations...and that's going to affect everyone in ways that they can't even begin to imagine soon enough.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2011 4:18 PM Title: The Needs of the Few

Great chapter.  Jim's taking on God Himself, and God turns out to be a family friend and someone you can count on.  Just ... not this time.  I was floored when Nogura admitted he had someone translate Jim's Vulcan declarations.  That seems, well, cruel.  I hope it doesn't leave that office.  So Nogura knows about Jim and Spock.  Maybe he'll help smooth over what's about to happen.  The ending with Saavik and David was good too.  I know you say you didn't read the novelizations so you have no clue how close you are to what was written.  They can write about those two together, but not Jim and Spock.  Shame, isn't it?  Oh well.  You're doing a wonderful job.  Thank so much.



Author's Response:

I really wanted to stress the relationship that Jim and Nogura had, to show how strong and important a relationship it is. Nogura's caught between a rock and a hard place. On the one hand, he's fighting the Inquiry Board to keep Starfleet's ranks unchanged, and on the other he has nothing but total sympathy for what Jim's going through.

He had to make a hard choice, to find out what was on the flight recorder. He needed to know what he was dealing with, so he could try to find some way, any way, of helping Jim. Sometimes being a good friend means making those really hard decisions, because you hope that in the end you can make something positive of it.

I really enjoyed this chapter -- trying to show that all of what's going on...Jim has needs...but there are others: Nogura, David, Saavik...they all have needs that are going to be sacrificed by events to come. And it's probably harder for them; Jim makes the choice to leave, but the others are simply having events acted out upon them. That's a hard place to be.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/17/2011 4:13 PM Title: The Needs of the Few

I am really excited to see where your story will be going. I love the background you gave us on Nogura and Morrow. The sadness Jim feels that he can't have the Enterprise....great job...

Author's Response:

He's holding on so tightly to the only thing that gives him any sense of security, any sense of being grounded now that he's lost Spock. It's heartbreaking to him that Starfleet would take away this last thing, the thing which Spock had died for.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2011 5:09 PM Title: The Needs of the Many

It is so wonderful seeing this story again..I have missed it so...There is nothing more special to me than the original series..thanks so much and I am looking forward to the next chapter.

Author's Response:

I know how much you -love- TOS, Denise. Be assured that I share that love with you and with many others as well...it's why I'm doing this, and why I'm trying to be so careful and respectful of the story's integrity.

I just hope people see this as being a story worth merit, worthy of being told...rather than having a reaction like "Why is she bothering to write this? They made a whole movie. Isn't that enough?"

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2011 4:20 PM Title: The Needs of the Many

You're back! *happy dance*  Okay, this chapter is amazing, as I expected from you.  Jim's still trying to figure out what the heck's wrong with McCoy, and he's got the inspection to go through.  He's reeling from the loss of Spock and Morrow has to tell him they're yanking his ship out from under him.  Lordy.  Everyone's getting ready to go here and there for their next assignments, although Chekov has Kirk on his mind (which is sweet.)  He's meeting with God Himself.  Whoo!  I can't wait to see what new exciting tidbits you're going to give us with the next chapter.  Awesome job!



Author's Response:

Yes, there's so much that's going to be happening the next few chapters, so many "new" scenes, as it were. My imagination just seems to be running away with me, but even the things that might seem extraneous at first have been included for good reasons.

I do feel so badly for Jim: his entire world seems to be falling down around him. He's trying so hard to keep it together, but it's just so hard for him to see any way to move on from where he is.

Reviewer: Bastet Signed [Report This]
Date: 05/15/2011 3:45 PM Title: The Needs of the Many

So great to see you finally tackling this again. :)



Author's Response:

It does feel good to be working on it again, though I know that the long break I took on it was good, both for me and for the story. It's taken me a long time to work through some of my own personal issues with this movie that had been leaving me in a bit of a quandry.

And I think that writing the whole of "How to Marry a Starship Captain" before getting back to this...doing such a big writing project like that...it's given me a little bit more confidence in my voice, so now I'm not as afraid to branch away in this story any more. I'm not nearly so worried about including a whole lot of stuff that wasn't in the movie, because I think that there's a lot of story to be told that was missing, and I feel capable of telling that story now. (Or at least not making a complete hack of it.) :)

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/29/2010 5:42 PM Title: Concerning Vulcans, Mindmelds, Logic, and Love

MOR PLEEZE!  This is going so well, I swear you've got some incredible insights as to what was happening in these movies.  I can't wait to see where you're going with this one.  I'll be watching and waiting.  15/10!!



Author's Response:

Well, after a long hiatus (and a lot of soul searching about more details on this story than I care to think about at the current moment), I'm finally back to writing this story! Hopefully you will find upcoming installments as enjoyable as the chapters that have already been posted. :)

*crosses fingers*

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2010 11:30 AM Title: Concerning Vulcans, Mindmelds, Logic, and Love

My god woman where do you get your ideas that was utter perfection. I am speechless..To use T'Pol and the reference to Pecan Pie. Hey was there really an episode where Surak's katra was transferred to Archer.. i mus watch...Wonderful way you tied it up all at the end...YOU WILL NEVER CEASE TO AMAZE ME WITH YOUR TALENT....i will chat with you later about this...loved it..



Author's Response:

I'm so glad that you didn't think that this chapter was too crazy, or portrayed Spock in too cold or harsh a light...

Yes, there was a three part episode where Archer carries Surak's katra, and crazy shenanigans take place. ENT: "The Forge", "Awakening", and "Kir'Shara".

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/12/2010 10:54 AM Title: Concerning Vulcans, Mindmelds, Logic, and Love

Brilliant. Spock talking to T'Pol about the concept of the katra. Him realizing his error in tranferring it to McCoy, knowing that it could damage or kill him. His initial 'distaste' of human emotions (T'Pol acting un-Vulcan and a human carrying a katra).



Author's Response:

It was interesting to think about what Spock's mindset must have been like as a Starfleet cadet. Certainly his mother was human, but being raised in the Vulcan way it has made him prejudiced against (or simply not in touch with) his human side. But, having rejected his father's wishes for him to attend the Vulcan Science Academy, it must have felt like he had been partially cut-off from his Vulcan heritage, too, hence his strong interest in aspects of Vulcan culture not previously known to him.

I knew almost from the start that T'Pol was the only choice for Spock's mentor. She wants to see more Vulcans learn from humans, as she has. Plus I think that dealing with humans is much easier for T'Pol than most other Vulcans, since her trellium-D exposure made her emotions much harder to control (just as Spock's human heritage eventually brings his emotions to the forefront). That and I just like T'Pol, and thought that talking about Surak's katra with Spock would be an interesting way to bring a parallel story into play...

You must login (register) to review.