Reviews For A Common Odyssey
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Foxglove Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/31/2015 2:00 AM Title: Chapter 1

(((I forgot to add that it was really gripping and I couldn't put it down)))

Reviewer: Foxglove Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/31/2015 1:53 AM Title: Chapter 1

I literally read this months ago but I've been so busy I never got around to reviewing it. I am always cautious about posting reviews because they always end up being same old, same old, so usually I save them for the most unique and best written stories.

This certainly counts. I don't really know where to start with this because it's such a long story (the longest fanfiction I have ever read, in fact! And certainly the best.

 

 

I really like the premise, it's complete lack of cliché, and the perspective on Romulan culture. Many fics where they get kidnapped uses Klingons or other more violent races in order to create pure, unabated action and drama but I think looking at Romulans is more interesting because though they can undoubtedly be ruthless, they are far more humane and developed, (a strong example being in the TNG episode "The Chase" (*spoilers*) where while the Klingons and Cardassians expressed hatred and disgust at sharing common ancestry, the Romulans, like Picard and Crusher took it as a good reason to view peace and friendship as a necessary inevitability in the galaxy)

 

 

Anyway back to A Common Oddessy, I also loved the in depth character development of charachers who are not Kirk or Spock, and I particularly enjoyed Ranulf's story arch. Admittedly, I found him irritating at times because he wouldn't leave Spock alone, but I'm really glad he redeemed himself before his death, that he learned to be content with himself, and died happier, died considering Kirk and Spock his friends, and knowing they, too, considered him to be a friend.

 

 

I could honestly go on for so long about how amazing this story is but I really need sleep and I don't want to leave too many spoilers in case people accidentally stumble upon this review so I'm more or less going to leave it at this.

 

 

I am fairly certain I have read other stories by you, which were also fantastic, but none stick in my mind as strongly as this one (I actually pulled an all-nighter to read this) but I do plan to go back over my favourite stories and favourite authors at some point and reread everything so no doubt you'll hear from me again.

 

 

Until then, keep up the good work, & LIVE LONG AND PROSPER

 

 

P.S.: I rated this 10/10

Reviewer: FanficTrekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/25/2015 11:13 PM Title: Chapter 1

Love this story though it made no sense to me why Kirk abruptly forced Spock out of his healing trance by slapping him repeatedly.  Spock usually did his trances sitting up since it wasn't like a darn nap - and always did them alone so never needed slapping to come out of it.  Just wld have made more sense if a guard was coming and Kirk has some reason to slap him out of the trance early.  Anyway no biggie just seemed a tad pointless :-)

Reviewer: FanficTrekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/23/2015 5:38 PM Title: Chapter 1

Love this story though it made no sense to me why Kirk abruptly forced Spock out of his healing trance by slapping him repeatedly.  Spock usually did his trances sitting up since it wasn't like a darn nap - and always did them alone so never needed slapping to come out of it.  Just wld have made more sense if a guard was coming and Kirk has some reason to slap him out of the trance early.  Anyway no biggie just seemed a tad pointless :-)

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/14/2015 11:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

I honestly thought I had left a review on this story, but obviously not! It's been on my favourites list for the past couple of years - a story I keep returning to. Thank you!



Author's Response:

You're very welcome! I'm so glad to hear that you've enjoyed this story so much. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: KeBo Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/24/2014 4:27 AM Title: Chapter 1

That story was intense. It's one of those stories where you can't stop reading while wondering what happens next. I also liked the small parts where you showed how Bones and Scotty cope with the fact that their friends are dead (that's what they think at least). But I also loved Scottys remark after they found out that Jim and Spock didn't die.



Author's Response:

Though the story was obviously mostly about Kirk and Spock's "odyssey," I did feel that it was important to show the reaction of those they'd been forced from. I'm so glad that it worked for you and that you enjoyed the story.

Thanks so much for reading and for commenting. It's always greatly appreciated.

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/19/2013 2:04 AM Title: Chapter 1

This was lovely, your characterisation is really good and the plot is great. So sad that Ranulf died!

I've really enjoyed reading it, can't wait to see what else you've written. 



Author's Response:

I've had a lot of responses regarding Ranulf's death. It's very gratifying when one of my OCs made such an impression. :-)

And really glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/22/2012 9:37 AM Title: Chapter 1

Such a wonderful story.Very well-written, in character and with a greatly developed plot.Not to mention you have done a great job dividing proper attention on both main characters.This can easily be a great new sequel to a StarTrek movie.Thank you for sharing.



Author's Response:

I'm so glad the characters, and the story, worked for you. It's sometimes hard balancing plot and character development, so it's always nice to hear when I've succeeded. Thanks for reading and for the great comments!

Reviewer: Moonlightie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/04/2012 3:17 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow, just wow. I couldn't put down this story, even though it took ms hours to finish it. What a fantastic story - even if waaaaay to short :)

Author's Response:

I think that's the first time this story has been called too short. ;-) I'm so glad you enjoyed it, length and all. And thanks so much for the really lovely comments.

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/09/2011 9:01 PM Title: Chapter 1

This is one of those stories that make me regret each and every day I wasn't in the Trek fandom before- seriously, I've read so much fantastic fic since I joined in, and this is one of those stories that once again remind me just why I love this site :) Great fic!



Author's Response: Thank you! Really glad you enjoyed the story. And welcome to the fandom! As they say, better late than never. *g*

Reviewer: Elemental_Mage Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2011 4:14 AM Title: Chapter 1

beautiful. frickin beautiful. love the plot, the characters - ugh! I'm so jealous. :)



Author's Response: Well, that's quite a compliment! ;-) I'm so glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks so much for reading and for your lovely comments!

Reviewer: Lina03 Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/16/2011 7:22 AM Title: Chapter 1

Beautiful story...I still feel very bad for Ranulf, he was an interesting character and very well developed to just suddenly die like that. Anyway, thanks for sharing, I truly enjoyed this little fic. Keep up the great work! ^_^

Author's Response: Thank you! I have to admit, even though at the time it felt right to let Ranulf go, it wasn't the easiest of decisions. I'd come to like him, too. Again, thanks, for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: Kittysnape Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2010 5:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

forgot the stars ^^



Author's Response: Thanks! *g*

Reviewer: Kittysnape Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/16/2010 5:07 AM Title: Chapter 1

This story was very nice and very well written, especially considering the challenge you took taking the main characters out of their usual setting and adding some OC that were just right by the way :)! Now i hate a little less the Romulans XD And i too found Ranulf to be endeering and was sad when he died. He died happy though, and in peace, and he deserve that peace.

thx again for your beautiful writing, won't miss the new fic you've posted and start the old ones :) And i really love the lenght of your fics :) I find it easy to really get into the mood of the story ^^

kisses

2 tumbs up

Kitty



Author's Response: Thank you! I do tend toward being, well, rather long-winded, so it's especially nice to hear that you actually like longer fic. And I really appreciate your words about Ranulf. His life was short but I think he finally found peace, too.

Reviewer: ATHENS Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/15/2010 8:47 PM Title: Chapter 1

Another great story from one of my favorite K/S authors.. I love your style, because it is terse and polished, it goes straight to the point yet it is never rushed.. your plots are intelligent and never predictable, and your characterization of both Kirk and Spock is always great.. also, you're very good at creating OCs (Ranulf is really well-made), and I appreciated the way you focused on McCoy's reaction to the "death" of his friends..

I think that together with the "Evolving Universe" series and "A walk in the dark" this my favorite work of yours..

I'm sorry that my review is not that original or insightful, but I just wanted you to know how much I like this story! Keep posting good stuff, we need it! :D



Author's Response: Not original or insightful? I hardly think so. :-) And I'm so glad you liked Ranulf; while he's, of course, special to me, he's made a bigger impression than I thought he would. I think that's one of the highest compliments that a writer can get. So thank you, for reading and for your really wonderful words.

Reviewer: WendyPlains Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/13/2010 7:21 PM Title: Chapter 1

You're one of my favorite  writers in the K/S universe so anything you write is a "must read".  This story didn't disappoint - it kept me entertained for days (alas, I couldn't read it all at one gulp!).  Great plot, great characters and really well written as usual.  Well done!



Author's Response: Thanks so much! And I'm glad the story didn't disappoint. :-) Thanks again for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: Kara Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2010 6:16 PM Title: Chapter 1

Amazing story, amazing writer. A wonderful read.



Author's Response: Thank you! For reading and for the great comments. They're greatly appreciated.

Reviewer: Jules Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2010 6:03 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow I just couldn't stop reading the story. Normally when a story is so long I start to drift and look at what happens in the end, but this story was amazing and I didn't peek once at the ending. I haven't enjoyed a story so much for such a long time.

I was so sad that Ranulf died, but somehow I thought he might be up in the stars with his beloved Senius.

Once again thank you it was truly amazing.

Jules x



Author's Response: Thanks for the wonderful comments! I'm so glad you enjoyed the story, enough to see it through to the end...without peeking! And, I agree, Ranulf is not with Senius. :-)

Reviewer: missfae Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2010 4:18 PM Title: Chapter 1

Very nice.  I enjoyed the way Mr. Spock took the plunge to tell Kirk how he felt but I have to admit that my favorite character was Ranulf.

I was so excited when he found peace; only to have my heart-broken when he died. 

Thank you for this and the twists and turns in the story, e.g. Tal as Senius' brother.



Author's Response: I'm so glad you liked the story, and Ranulf especially, though that meant you felt his death that much more. But it's always gratifying when a character I've created makes such an impression.

Reviewer: Euphoracle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/10/2010 9:10 AM Title: Chapter 1

Very good story



Author's Response: Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed it.

You must login (register) to review.