You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2015 4:50 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

This story is so brilliantly done that it feels REAL.  I love all the little details you made up about Spock's past service and all.  Well done!

 

Reviewer: Charlie0925 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2015 9:11 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Brilliant, brilliant writing hon!  I loved this and cannot wait to read the next part! ;o)

 

 

Reviewer: yuki_nechan Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/23/2013 2:25 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Hello there! I know this histori is old, and you might not read this, but i just got to congratulate you because it was BRILLIANT! Amazing! Very silly words for describing it, but it was really good.

I cry, i laugh, i even got a little "hot" if you know what i mean... ;)

Spectacular! Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!  (And regret I didn't check here, uh, a year earlier?  Sorry for the late reply!)

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/01/2013 2:47 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Very nicely worked, with the switching in time episodes.

I loved Mccoy. Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thanks very much! 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2013 9:44 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

A very different take and captures the JTK 2009 very well



Author's Response:

Thank you very, very much!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/05/2013 7:36 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Nice and unique story.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2012 5:52 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I just re-read and was reminded how awesome this story is. It was one of the first I read and inspired me to start writing again, non surprisingly for this fandom. So thanks for that.



Author's Response:

Thank you very, very much!  And whee!  More writing is always good.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2011 8:18 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I feel like I finished the last page in a thick volume, I closed the cover, and stroked it.
As though I had a long love affair ... Sometimes I thought it would never end.
English is not my mother tongue, so sometimes it was hard to understand, not to read, understand some parts, but the way the majority quite fell into place.
It was very intriguing and fascinating



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2011 7:52 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Wow. I've read some fantastic reboot fics and this one blows them all away! No-one gets these guys like you do. Please tell me the Reboot team have been enlisting your expertise for XII.... XD

(I'm actually not even kidding about that last bit.)

Seriously, I've never read a fic which has deepened my understanding of the characters the way this one did. This is just hands down one of the best fics I've ever read in that it's not just a K/S story (not that there's anything wrong with just a K/S story of course, and I'm extremely partial to a bit of domestic fluff or PWP and, okay, everything else) but I finished this story and kind of went, Oh riiiiiiigght, now that makes so much more sense...

I loved the complex narrative structure too and a couple of moments of TOS-memories-intruding made me tear up (because I will forever be a TOS fangirl first and foremost, no matter how much awesome there is in the reboot verse, and there's just nothing I can do about it).

But seriously - who did Spock Prime marry? Does it get answered in the next one? I'm off to read it right now, so I'll shut up...

No, wait, I don't think I want to know. Ooooh so conflicted...

LOVE LOVE LOVE this fic. In case it wasn't obvious enough from all the flailing above.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2010 9:28 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

just a note to let ye know: I rec'd this story's sequel (and this one, tangentally) in the Dec. issue of the kspress.  Really well done!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I still kind of stare at it, shocked I wrote that much.

Reviewer: roswellfan Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2010 9:47 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I really enjoyed this story. I must confess to a couple of things: 1) when I first read the summary I thought it was going to turn out to be Kirk who said that, not Pike; and 2) I believed that Jim really did want to be with Spock Prime and not Spock and I was bummed out about it, preparing myself for an angsty ending. That being said I will reiterate that I enjoyed the story and I am glad you chose to post it. I like how Spock and McCoy went behind Jim's back to save him and then how everything felt like it was going to work out in the end.



Author's Response:

I'm so totally Jim/Kirk it's ridiculous--this Jim and Spock, and that Jim and Spock, and not mixed. *g*  Thanks very much!

Reviewer: ThreadUnwinds Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/09/2010 1:08 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Oh my gosh! This has to be the best reboot fic I've ever read and definately in my top 5 k/s fics ever. Wow. I don't even know what to say. Blown away.



Author's Response:

Thanks very much!

Reviewer: pomme_noir Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2010 11:08 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Sit back my dear, as I'm about to stroke your ego ao good, you might get weak kneed.

1. Your one liners are the best I have ever read. I laughed so hard I woke my husband up at 2:30 in the morning. I think my favorite is when Kirk tells Spock he's being so illogical that other Vulcans are probably trying to de-species him.

2. The plot was phenomenal. It didn't start like anything I have ever read before. It was one of those stories that you have go back and reread immediately read because: a) you can't believe it's over and b) you want to go back and bask in all the subtleties you might have missed the first time around. Your explanation for the cause of his sickness and the Kobayashi Maru was so good I was like, damn, how do they think of such genius?

3. Like previous reviewers have said, you've ruined me. Nothing will probably be as good as this story. I hope you continue writing because I'm totally in love with your style.



Author's Response:

I swear I remember answering this!  I'm so sorry for the--God eight months??????--and thank you so very much for the wonderful feedback!

Reviewer: ATHENS Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/30/2010 9:27 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Holy s***. This story is utterly amazing - one of the best K/S fics I EVER read - and from now on you will be one of my favorite authors of all time. Together with Observations this is the only reboot fic that really worked for me so far. I honestly think you should write the script for the next movie; your dialogues, your characterization feel so much better than Orci&Kurtzman's.. You managed to make me love the new Jim and I'll tell you that for a TOS!Kirk fanatic like me it was not an easy thing to do. I love your style of writing, it is terse and polished, yet and the same time poignant and enthralling. You use every single word you choose with the greatest force. While I was reading, I found myself completely entranced by the story and its development; the way you weave together the present with the flashbacks and slowly disclose the core of the plot is mesmerizing. It is such a beautiful sensation, and it's so rare to find fanfic that make me feel it.. Really, this story is a gift - one I never thought I would receive and I will preserve jealously - , a shining diamond, a gem so finely worked that my words could never be enough to describe its complexity.

Thank you so much!



Author's Response:

*pleased* Thank you so much!  I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: DB2020 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/07/2010 1:55 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I can’t even begin to say how freaking awesome this story is! I’m in awe. The first couple jumps in time had me confused at first, but once I caught on, I was so intrigued by each event happening that I didn’t know which I wanted to read more of. I think what I liked best was the characterization of both Spock and Kirk. It wasn’t just another Pon Farr story, it was a character study with a slow building progression. You nailed Spock and Kirk’s characters perfectly. In other fictions I’ve read, usually only one of the characters is accurate. Authors throw in a few choice words like “illogical” and “fascinating” and think that Spock will suddenly seem believable no matter what else they have him say or do. I was further impressed with the fact that you kept Spock in character even under the duress of Pon Farr. Even the most stoic and emotionally stifled versions of Spock have fallen apart into mushy, expressive Spock’s that repeatedly whisper “T’hyla.” Your characterization of Kirk is the best I’ve read anywhere. Maybe it was his dialogue, or perhaps that you didn’t try to insert emotions he never had in the movie… it was great.


 


I am afraid that I am ruined for other fanfictions. This fanfiction will be the standard by which I set all others, and they will undoubtedly fall short. The plot was engaging and the progression of their friendship was exactly what I was hoping to find. And all that progression led to one of the most sexually tense/charged moments... the tension is always half the fun. I’m depressed that I’ve finished reading it. Thank you for sharing!



Author's Response:

This feedback was amazing.  Thank you very, very much!

Reviewer: Ashaya-var Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/11/2009 3:57 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Fan-fucking-tastic! Originally read this on LJ, and it took my breath away. I was so confused at first as to what was going on. It was really frustrating, but in a good way, because I knew I'd get there in the end. (I wouldn't have been sure if it weren't for the title, though. ;) All in all, awesome work. Easily one of my favorite K/S fics of all time. I will be rereading this in future.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

 

Okay, the thing about the title made me laugh.  Admittedly, it also motivated me to finish it.

Reviewer: petitevanou Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2009 1:51 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

well that was simply wonderful, I could not wait to reach the ending, and when I got there felt sad it was over. You are a brilliant writer and your portrayal of both Kirk and Spock was perfect. Hope you keep writing more KS, especially first time stories, my favourites ;)



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Kerchan Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/28/2009 2:02 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Though I was totally confused forever, I couldn't stop reading and finally things began to make sense. I really enjoyed the story. Your writing style is delightful. It took me a while to put two and two together, but when I did, I was proud of my accomplishment. 8D



Author's Response:

*glee*  Thank you!  I'm glad it eventually all came together!

Reviewer: FullOfMirth Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/27/2009 7:52 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I'm delighted to see this here!  I read it on LJ.  What a great story.  It has an intriguing structure which does not assume that readers are incapable of following interwoven flash backs.  I love the action sequences and Spock's POV.  I love so much about this story, I couldn't possibly make it through the list within a reasonable word count. LOL

~ FoM



Author's Response:

Thanks very much!

Reviewer: Amanda Warrington Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/26/2009 2:15 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I'm thrilled to see this story has found its way from LiveJournal, where I first read and fell in love with it, onto the K/S  archive. 

Of everything I've read in the STR 'verse, this ties with one other fic for first place, not just as a personal favourite, but also as one of the best written, best structured, best paced and well-characterised K/S stories I've read.  It's beautifully breathtaking from beginning to end -- angsty, twisty and fulfilling.

If you don't have time to read anything else on this archive, read this!  It's worth your time.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

You must login (register) to review.