You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 5:26 AM Title: Chapter 10 - Family Matters

I just LOVED this part:

Okay, mostly, they just all watch the captain and Spock.

And they're very, very sure that they're all going to die every time they disagree.


*snickers* It really made me smile and totally summed up the relationships on board.

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 5:22 AM Title: Chapter 8 - Part of My Soul

*sigh*

Beautiful. The imagery at the beach was just lovely.

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 5:17 AM Title: Chapter 3- for a hundred visions and revisions

Great vignettes, you've really got your characters down pat. Again (get used to hearing this by the way), thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 5:13 AM Title: Chapter 2- Win for Losing

I like your writing style very much, and I'm quite happy to see that there is more ... *scampers off*

Reviewer: anonymous Anonymous starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/02/2010 5:11 AM Title: Chapter 1

Wonderful story! And yes, it did remind me of 'Good Will Hunting' at the start, and I loved it. The notion of some random genius showing up like that is a great start to a story. Well done, and thanks for sharing.

Reviewer: svrldsmntls Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/28/2010 11:20 PM Title: Chapter 1

AMAZING!!!

Reviewer: Kendarath Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/19/2010 11:06 PM Title: Chapter 10 - Family Matters

Oh my god. This was /so/ amazing.

I thought, when I started, that this was only one chapter. I thought it was amazing and I was prepared to go read everything else you'd ever written. And then I saw that there was /another chapter/. And then it kept happening! And it was fantastic, and I don't think I stopped grinning the entire time.

I think that this is easily one of /the best/ pieces I have read, it was just so perfect. I loved how /real/ you made every character, even Frank, who wasn't just an asshole. It was /amazing/.

This is easily something that I can see myself reading again and again. (In fact I might do that right now.)

Reviewer: spockollama Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2010 9:32 PM Title: Chapter 10 - Family Matters

That. Was. So. Epic.

I actually read chapter 1 a couple weeks back, but it was so epic I didn't realize there was more o.O

But then a friend told me to "check out this awesome story" and I realized it was multi-chapter, and-OHMYGOD. I love it. I love it so much that I created an account, because holy fuck, you so deserve to hear how awesome this story is.

Very.

Reviewer: KymYume Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/17/2010 8:35 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow... This story blew me away.  You didn't rely too heavily on the Good Will Hunting base and just... owned it.  The first chapter is a complete story in and of itself and the rest is just like, the best icing ever on this tasty cake!  Lol  I love the formatting you chose.  It flowed wonderfully, but stood out.  Your characterization is flawless.   There aren't words for how much I loved reading this.  Thank you.  ^_^

Reviewer: KaasKnot Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/02/2010 12:28 AM Title: Chapter 1

Fucking awesome! (so awesome that the A simply must be spelled out in full.) It took me about 2 hours to read this story because I kept stopping to reread certain parts and squee over the bounty of references--any author that can successfully combine Star Trek, Star Wars, Firefly, and Princess Bride, among multitudinous others, into a coherent, brilliantly written story deserves a really, really big cookie. Or something else nice like that.

I think your characterizations (and I love that you analyzed everyone's perspectives, it gives such depth and insight to see behind the scenes, or to see the other side(s) of Jim and Spock's relationship) have become my personal canon. I actually believe that maybe this is the tack that the scriptwriters should have taken. I'm not so certain now that Jim would have taken Pike up on his challenge; new!Kirk is exactly the type of guy who needs to be led to water subtly, as Anyonerelevant said earlier.

I think my favorite, absolute favorite, aspect of this story however is that you didn't show Winona as a distant mother, entirely grief-stricken and unloving. I've read so many fics where she sort of abandoned him, and while I don't have a problem with that, it sort of seems the quick and easy way out. I love that you didn't take that route, as I can say from personal experience that it just doesn't happen that way (actually, Jim and Winona's relationship is a lot like mine and my mother's, I think that's what really cemented it for me. It felt real).

This story was insightful, touching and downright hilarious. You are a writing god, and I bow before your primacy.

Reviewer: rowanlyn_mirrim Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/24/2009 2:48 AM Title: Chapter 1

I have gone back and reread this story several times in the last week. It is a great AU really showing that Kirk is infact a genius, and by far more broken then the OS version of Kirk. I love the movie and book refrances in this. It is just all to gether the most fun AU I have read... it makes me want to write my own.

 

TFW

K-

Reviewer: Alhena_star Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2009 1:41 PM Title: Chapter 1

Oh a very interesting twist of the movie´s story.

I read only the first chapter but I will read the rest of them soon. I promise!

Until now, It was worth reading!

Reviewer: swangirl Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/07/2009 1:32 AM Title: Chapter 1

Fricking A!

FANTABULOUS

Reviewer: vixis Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 3:02 PM Title: Chapter 1

awesome!

Reviewer: ahomelesspirate Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/05/2009 2:34 AM Title: Chapter 10 - Family Matters

I just thought you should know, that after lurking around here since last spring that I registered just so I could favorite this story. I love your characterization, and how you framed the story. pure genius.

Reviewer: Amanda Warrington Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2009 1:29 PM Title: Chapter 1

A Beautiful(ly Illogical) Mind is an AU version of StarTrek XI in which Pike fails to persuade Kirk to enrol with the Academy, but he heads to San Francisco anyway and works in bars.  Pike alludes to Kirk being a genius, and this is one of the few stories I’ve read where his striking intelligence and ability to understand pure math is illustrated from the very start and becomes a central part of the plot (later he uses internal ‘number crunching’ as a way to settle his nerves).
 
It’s while Kirk’s working in a bar, that he befriends McCoy and indirectly through him, later meets Spock who discovers Kirk’s ability to understand the most complex equations simply by looking at them – something that, of course, fascinates him.  Through a situation out of Kirk’s control (manipulated by Spock), he finds himself enrolled at Starfleet anyway.

The characterisations are very strong, with an intelligently reckless Kirk, Bones with his dry wit and Spock, quietly understated but interested.  What gives this story breadth and depth is the inclusion of strong supporting characters, including Uhura, Sulu and Chekov, as well as cameos by a perky Rand, a long-suffering Pike and Kirk’s mom, who comes across as quirky but cool.  All this is backed up a crisp, clear dialogue that ensures the story is well-paced.

The development of Kirk and Spock’s relationship is beautifully handled.  While Spock takes an intellectual interest in Kirk, it’s Kirk’s libido that initially leads the way in their friendship, leading to a degree of unresolved tension that builds through the first half of the story.  Even after they become lovers, there is still that occasional antagonistic spark that makes their scenes together dynamic and engaging.

This story, in the end, isn’t so far removed from the movie version and the author has built on Abram’s characterisations beautifully.  For readers who prefer canon to AU, I would suggest this is well worth giving this a go – I don’t think it'll disappoint, as it really is a superb read.

Reviewer: Anyonerelevant Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2009 12:04 PM Title: Chapter 1

Wow. This was just so smooth. Amazing characterisations. I believe Kirk more in this fic than I did in the movie. He's totally the kind of person that has to be led to water subtly, or he won't drink. :)

You must login (register) to review.