Reviews For Promises to Keep
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/01/2018 10:26 PM Title: PROLOGUE

I'm re-reading a lot of your work while I convalesce from a mastectomy and wait to become strong enough to undergo chemotherapy.

I've read a lot more fan fiction than I'd read when I first left you a review of this chapter, and I have to say I'm blown away by the brilliance of the strategem you had Spock come up with here.  I've read a ton of fanfic by now, and I've never seen anything to rival this, in terms of coming up with a brilliant trick for getting them out of trouble without loss of life.

Of course, I'm always amazed that TOS claims that Vulcans look like Satan.  In the depictions of Satan *I* see, he's portrayed as having bright red skin, a long tail, hooves, and horns on top of his head, none of which Spock has.  I guess depictions of Satan will evolve between now and the 23rd century. :-)

 

Reviewer: sakura Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/19/2014 2:58 AM Title: PROLOGUE

This review is difficult to write. At first I didn't like this chapter of the series because how emotionally hard is for the characters, but at the same time I couldn't stop reading. It took me more time than the previous parts because I immersed in the story so much and I felt with so intensity what was happenning to them that afterwards it was difficult to go back to normal life. And all of this was because how good you are writing this story, it's your talent that makes us feel what they are feeling and relate to their emotions.

I don't understand why this story has so few reviews and how it's not in the top ten.

Thank you so much for sharing it with us.

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2014 5:33 AM Title: AFTERWARD: McCoy's Personal Log #4 and the Epilogue

Wow.  That was amazing.  What an interesting plot, with interesting people, you've created for us.

I love it that you had Spock plead for clemency, since his shining goodness is so much of what I love about Spock.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/08/2014 2:07 AM Title: PROLOGUE

Wow.  What a brilliant, though personally risky, strategem by Spock!  But how sad that the Enterprise's team couldn't find the source of the problem and fix it.

 

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2011 12:10 PM Title: AFTERWARD: McCoy's Personal Log #4 and the Epilogue

Finally finished reading this one- it's kept me up many nights, which I guess says it all, but I'll still go into a bit more detail (more like gush all over it, because I truly enjoyed it ^^; )

First of all, I like your style of writing. It kept me hanging to each word, with each sentence pulling me deeper into the story without feeling rushed. The pacing was good, too. And as I said in the other review, this fic really brings forth emotion, a lot of it.

The plot is good, too. The themes, the mission, Kirk's and Spock's personal problems, etc are all well interwoven. Now I don't mind PWP fics in the least- I've never had time nor patience to write anything but those, to be honest- but it's great to read a fic where the work of the Enterprise crew gets such a lot of attention. The detail put into the alien societies and races is also rather impressive.

And finally, the characterization of the canon characters is very good. Beside Kirk and Spock and their interaction being spot-on in my opinion, I also liked that McCoy got a bigger part in this fic. Same thing with Uhura- I always felt that her character had potential for so much more than what was shown in the series, and seeing her get to take command and be generally awesome really put a smile on my face. And the OCs are good as well.

All in all a satisfying, enjoyable read that I feel was well worth the time that went into reading it. It's one of those fanfics that make me wanna thank the author for writing it, really. Great work!



Author's Response:

Hello, Sige, and thank you for giving me your thoughts on Promises to Keep.  I'm so glad you enjoyed it!  I haven't heard anybody comment on McCoy and Uhura in a long time, and you talking about them brought back some really good memories.  One of my initial goals in writing the Sharing the Sunlight series was to feature a secondary character in each major part of it.  That sort of fell by the wayside eventually, but I did manage to get the spotlight on Scotty, McCoy, and Uhura.  The scene when Spock is in pon farr and Uhura makes the offer to be with him?  I had that in mind *forever* before it finally found expression in this novel. 

Thanks again for your kind words.  It's so nice of you to write a review.

Yours,

Jenna

Reviewer: Sige Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/16/2011 6:30 AM Title: PART THREE B: chapters 17 through 21

Oh My. Those last two lines really hit the mark- I'm all teary-eyed right now. Seriously, this fic makes me wanna be in love- that's a terribly sappy thing to say, but this chapter (and all the previous ones too, of course) evoke so much emotion. It conveys the feeling of how much Spock and Kirk long to meld again very well, it really makes me feel with them. Great work! Will go on to read the final part now.

Reviewer: Gryffens Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/16/2009 2:36 AM Title: AFTERWARD: McCoy's Personal Log #4 and the Epilogue

Oh My God that last exchange just blew me away. Beautiful. Everything else was wonderful too, of course, but yeah, wow.

Reviewer: lobsangludd Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2009 4:04 AM Title: PART TWO: McCoy's Personal Log #2 plus Chapters 8 through 11

This story is so sad!  I can barely stand it :(

Reviewer: tmelange Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2009 6:09 PM Title: PROLOGUE

Great to see the rest of this posted. It was engrossing until the very end. I look forward to reading the rest of this series (and am very relieved to know that the rest is already written!). Bravo!

Reviewer: silvertoekee Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2009 4:57 PM Title: AFTERWARD: McCoy's Personal Log #4 and the Epilogue

Just wow.  You sure know how to capture a readers interest until the very end.  This story was very moving seeing how Spock and Jim coped with losing there budding bond.  How McCoy handled finding out about them and eventually rebuilding his friendship with Jim.  And I even loved how strong and awesome Uhura was.  I can't wait to read more of this series and you are a great author :).

Reviewer: Flamilio Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2009 9:54 AM Title: PROLOGUE

Please, please let there be a happy ending to this! All the angst and h/c is killing me!

Really, this (and pretty much everything you write) has become one of my favorites. Keep writing!

Reviewer: mycapeisplaid Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2009 1:51 AM Title: PROLOGUE

Oh, WEEP.

I know you'll give us a happy ending, but in the meantime, I ache.

 

Beautiful.

Reviewer: tmelange Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/16/2009 12:33 AM Title: PART TWO: McCoy's Personal Log #2 plus Chapters 8 through 11

Absolutely riveting story. Very thoroughly done. Bravo!

You must login (register) to review.