Reviews For Reboot Duo
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/06/2016 6:12 AM Title: War Games

Today I finally got a chance to read Part Two, and god, this is good!  I don't know why you don't have a thousand reviews on a story like this!  It's expertly plotted -- seriously, I've read PRO Star Trek novels that weren't this well plotted -- and you've made it all so very interesting.

Jim is perfectly Jim, a tidal wave that sweeps all before him.  I usually prefer Spock-centric stories, but your Jim is just so good. 

And T'Prina!  Wow, what a great character!  She's so much like Spock and so much like Jim; it's like she's their love child, only she's too old for that. :-)

There were so many great lines I can't mention them all.  This one I do remember, though, since it was close to the end:  the rich combination of lust and warmth and the way that Vulcans feel love, fierce and protective and painful, like the delicate edge of a lirpa slicing through logic and rationality, peeling away civilization like a shed skin.


Congratulations on a seriously wonderful novel, a real tour de force!

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/04/2016 5:38 AM Title: War Games

I love the world-building you've done in this story!  You've really created a lot, and the Grayson Test was brililant.

LOVE this line:  Jim thinks it says a lot about the Vulcan species that curiosity and lust are pretty much interchangeable.

Also adored this line:  It's like having a narcotic that also provides orgasms and good conversation.

 



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it so much!  (And yeah, I loved having a part of Amanda made into Federation law.)

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2015 4:50 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

This story is so brilliantly done that it feels REAL.  I love all the little details you made up about Spock's past service and all.  Well done!

 

Reviewer: Charlie0925 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/18/2015 4:01 AM Title: War Games

Great story hon!  I loved this fic! ;o)

 



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Charlie0925 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2015 9:11 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Brilliant, brilliant writing hon!  I loved this and cannot wait to read the next part! ;o)

 

 

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 12/18/2013 12:54 AM Title: War Games

Thank you very much for this challenging story! I knew something was wrong but then I thought it was all right and then.. wham!! Jim is taken away... again...

Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thanks very much!  I'm very glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: yuki_nechan Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/23/2013 2:25 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Hello there! I know this histori is old, and you might not read this, but i just got to congratulate you because it was BRILLIANT! Amazing! Very silly words for describing it, but it was really good.

I cry, i laugh, i even got a little "hot" if you know what i mean... ;)

Spectacular! Thanks!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!  (And regret I didn't check here, uh, a year earlier?  Sorry for the late reply!)

Reviewer: wyndsung Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2013 2:05 PM Title: War Games

*jaw drops*  This story has just taken over my life for the last few days.  Holy crap, you can write.  This was amazing.  Like other reviewers, I would adore a sequel, should you ever write one.  Just... wow.  Thank you.

Reviewer: wyndsung Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/15/2013 2:05 PM Title: War Games

*jaw drops*  This story has just taken over my life for the last few days.  Holy crap, you can write.  This was amazing.  Like other reviewers, I would adore a sequel, should you ever write one.  Just... wow.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it!  (There is a sequel and a fic set before War Games and after You'll Get There in the End) on AO3.)

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/01/2013 2:47 AM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Very nicely worked, with the switching in time episodes.

I loved Mccoy. Thanks for sharing!



Author's Response:

Thanks very much! 

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/30/2013 9:44 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

A very different take and captures the JTK 2009 very well



Author's Response:

Thank you very, very much!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/05/2013 7:36 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Nice and unique story.



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: Pamdizzle Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/20/2012 5:52 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I just re-read and was reminded how awesome this story is. It was one of the first I read and inspired me to start writing again, non surprisingly for this fandom. So thanks for that.



Author's Response:

Thank you very, very much!  And whee!  More writing is always good.

Reviewer: nhrc Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/31/2011 8:18 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

I feel like I finished the last page in a thick volume, I closed the cover, and stroked it.
As though I had a long love affair ... Sometimes I thought it would never end.
English is not my mother tongue, so sometimes it was hard to understand, not to read, understand some parts, but the way the majority quite fell into place.
It was very intriguing and fascinating



Author's Response:

Thank you!

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/27/2011 1:22 AM Title: War Games

This. THIS is what I want to see in XII. All this palaver with 80-page-treatments-that-are-not-scripts-yet could be so easily solved if they would just get you to adapt "War Games". I would pay money/blood/my first-born child to see this on screen.

This is superlative writing. I'm going to shut up now before I embarrass myself with excessive application of squee, but I freaking LOVE your work.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: eimeo Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2011 7:52 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

Wow. I've read some fantastic reboot fics and this one blows them all away! No-one gets these guys like you do. Please tell me the Reboot team have been enlisting your expertise for XII.... XD

(I'm actually not even kidding about that last bit.)

Seriously, I've never read a fic which has deepened my understanding of the characters the way this one did. This is just hands down one of the best fics I've ever read in that it's not just a K/S story (not that there's anything wrong with just a K/S story of course, and I'm extremely partial to a bit of domestic fluff or PWP and, okay, everything else) but I finished this story and kind of went, Oh riiiiiiigght, now that makes so much more sense...

I loved the complex narrative structure too and a couple of moments of TOS-memories-intruding made me tear up (because I will forever be a TOS fangirl first and foremost, no matter how much awesome there is in the reboot verse, and there's just nothing I can do about it).

But seriously - who did Spock Prime marry? Does it get answered in the next one? I'm off to read it right now, so I'll shut up...

No, wait, I don't think I want to know. Ooooh so conflicted...

LOVE LOVE LOVE this fic. In case it wasn't obvious enough from all the flailing above.



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I'm so glad you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Tech_Duinn Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/07/2010 7:52 AM Title: War Games

I love you so freaking much I can't express it in words.

Lurve and smooches, you beautiful creature.



Author's Response:

*glee* I have no idea what I did, but I am all about the affection. Thank you very much!

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2010 9:28 PM Title: You'll Get There in the End (It Just Takes a While)

just a note to let ye know: I rec'd this story's sequel (and this one, tangentally) in the Dec. issue of the kspress.  Really well done!



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!  I still kind of stare at it, shocked I wrote that much.

Reviewer: Greywolf the Wanderer Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/25/2010 8:57 PM Title: War Games

Wow!!  This is a great story, a true labour of love.  Such a lovely detailed bit of worldbuilding, which is a great favourite of mine, as is the political stuff, done here with an exquisite balance between cynicism and hope.  An exercise in the honest portrayal of c'thia -- and btw, kudos for the Duane-related bits, I personally follow about 90% of her Trek-world as me own fanon, so this was right up my alley.

It reads like maybe there are other, previous stories I haven't seen, but there's plenty of exposition without being excessive; it was easy to pick up what I'd missed and figure out what was happening.

I hope to perhaps see a future story in this timeline -- I really wonder what will happen next as far as the colony's decisions, and why, if he approved the new rules, did Sarek then help our boys?  Curious, involved, and wondering what happens next -- these signs tell me this was very well done!!



Author's Response:

I'm hoping to tempt myself into doing a third story for KiScon, but so far, even thinking of another novel makes me twitchy. Not that I didn't love writing it!


Diane Duane's work with Vulcans was pretty much instrumental, especially with them taking a dark path here and God knows she can characterize gorgeously.

Others--besides "You'll Get There in the End" , there's a super short story set directly after that one where Jim is still getting over the effects of the pon farr.  In all honesty, War Games surprised me; I hadn't realized I'd been waiting for something like ten years since I was in Voyager to write this fic.  *g*

Thanks so much for your feedback.  Especially with your history wiht the fandom and with the pairing, it's an honor.

Reviewer: Calimora Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2010 6:50 PM Title: War Games

This is a spectacular story, not just for fanfiction. It easily fits into the progression of events set up by Abrams and brings its own levels of complexity. The only critique I had was that spock seemed kind of passive, the observer and narrator of his story, but rarely the initiator of action. I din't think that this was a deliberate characterization on your part, but rather a side effect of the way you focus on Jim and Spock differerntly. Jim thinks about plans and talks while he's doing things. Spock observers Jim and others, muses about the interpersonal relationships, bunt not about the people themselves. Most of his active parts are written in passive settings or covered in breif. Your spock reacts decisively, but doesn't show us that forward thought in his narration. That said. I like the character, and think you've struck and some very good points in making him your narrator. I also love the periferals you've written in. The shifting philosophies and expectations that were triggered by the fall of Vulcan and the impact that Kirk's generation will make is fascinating. I hope you write more in this universe.



Author's Response:

You're right on the passive versus active approach; it's not that Spock strikes me more an observer than a participant, but I really love writing how he sees things, and it's hard to stop.  Thanks so much for the lovely feedback!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.