Reviews For Absolute Horizon
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/29/2014 6:40 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

That was VERY well done.  I couldn't be said to like it, but I certainly recognize and applaud the skill with which you wrote it.

 

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/09/2013 8:45 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

This is a heartbreaking piece of fiction.  As much as we want Kirk and Spock to be together successfully, it has always been clear that the odds are against them.  Kirk is a perpetual boy and wants the world.  Spock's good qualities - his loyalty, self-sacrifice, etc. - are good qualities but they are also vulnerable to the infamous Kirk charm.  We all want the happy ending, but sometimes there is none.  Thanks for this rather bleak interpretation of how things would most likely be.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 05/23/2011 2:39 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

I think you pick up some of the reality here of  the effects a certain actor's popularity had on the other and how it spilt over in the later films.

I don't like sad endings but it is difficult to realistically believe that Kirk and Spock were always going to be hapily ever after, Crash and burn was always Kirk's style.

Will it stop here are end in even worse tragedy?

Reviewer: Kirkinadream Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/02/2011 8:45 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

Very sad and touching view of a flawed relationship where love doesn't die but doesn't live either.  Seems odd to thank one for a sad story, but thank you.



Author's Response:

Seems odd to say 'you're welcome' to someone who was reluctant to thank you, but you're welcome. :) I know what you mean.

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2011 2:28 PM Title: Too Long a Time

Oh!  Oh mercy, this was just as sad!  Please tell me this continues in some way shape or form.  I would hate to think this is end of it all.  I want more!  You did a terrific job with these stories and I'm glad you posted them for us to read.  I'm honored, actually, to have read them.  Thank you.  And now...more please??



Author's Response:

It does continue, you can check out my FFN account if you're curious. I never uploaded the stories to this site, because K/S are mostly implied there. And I have to warn you that this storyline gets easier, if you please, but the sadness lingers. Don't blame me, blame canon.

Thank you for reading. :)

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/21/2011 2:17 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

Ohh!  This was sad, and beautiful, and poignant, and I can't describe all of the emotions it stirred up in me.  Wow.  I never saw the movies like that, and I'm glad I've read your story.  I'm going to read the other one now, and hope that things get better for our boys.  Thank you.



Author's Response:

I'm afraid the other one won't be too optimistic, either. Sorry. :)

Thank you for a lovely note, it makes me so very happy that the story was provoking emotion-wise.

Reviewer: ladyguenievre Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/16/2010 10:12 AM Title: Da Capo al Coda

This is amazingly well-written as everything you've done, but God, so incredibly depressing. It never stops to amaze me how people can hurt the ones they love and rip their hearts open by assuming they know what's best for them and what they really want, instead of being honest with them and admitting their own fears. COMMUNICATION, folks! So many heartbreaks could be avoided, so many disasters prevented. Jim and Spock's love is epic, such a beautiful thing; it could never have been easy due to the demands of their jobs, but it was so painful to see it come parta like that. Jim resented Spock for assuming, yet he does the same thing assuming he's doing what's best for Spock when Spock only wants him. Now they'll both be broken on their own, alone, instead of helping each other through the crisis. What a fucking waste. I do have some trouble understanding how Jim managed to ooze enough indifference and anger to fool Spock into thinking he truly didn't want him anymore in chapter 2, when it's obvious in chapter 3 he still does... or maybe was that an example of Spock bringing out the worst out of him when he is there? *sigh* I know things like that happen in real life, which I why I always hope in stories at least the ending can be an happy one... Anyway, as I said, wonderful, powerfully angsty writing.



Author's Response:

Thank you. I apologize for an incredibly late response, RL hasn't been... allowing much. Ah, if only Jim and Spock learned to communicate without their insecurities getting in the way. But that's them, and even after so many years together, they are still them. *sighs* Essentially the same, the both of them, which is why it's sometimes so effortless between them and sometimes tough as hell.

Thank you very much for the thoughtful, honest feedback! <3

 

Reviewer: Glitchie Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/21/2010 12:39 AM Title: Too Long a Time

Guh! No, please don't let James be dead! Not when they were so close to peace again.



Author's Response:

Sorry, that's not me, that's TOS canon. D: But no, I don't actually believe he's dead here. ~

Reviewer: Glitchie Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2010 11:39 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

Aww, this is so SAD!!!

Reviewer: Glitchie Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2010 11:02 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

Aww!!!

Reviewer: Glitchie Signed starstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2010 10:42 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

Poor Spock!! I hope things work out between them. I am still new to the Kirk/Spock fandom though ages ago, I watched TOS, TNG, DS9, and Voyager, what is C in C? I don't remember that.



Author's Response:

Hey. I'm terribly sorry for the late response. C in C stands for Commander in Chief.

And yes, poor Spock indeed. Thank you for reading! ~

Reviewer: vixis Signed [Report This]
Date: 02/09/2010 6:49 AM Title: Too Long a Time

please tell me this is a planned trilogy!!



Author's Response:

It's not exactly a trilogy, more of a series. But there is no direct sequel yet.

Reviewer: Gryffens Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/16/2009 2:09 AM Title: Too Long a Time

This is brilliant! I've never read a story where Spock and Jim have such deep issues to work through, and you do it really well. Is there going to be any more?

Author's Response:

This universe (Absolute Horizon) is not finished yet. Perhaps there will be a continuation.

Thank you for reading. ~

Reviewer: sundara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/27/2009 2:09 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

How frustrating...you can't reply to a reply here. LOL As for writing that story, don't tempt me! I'll hate myself. I've got stories in process in queue now that I'd better finish, some quite ambitious (and therefore time consuming.) And I write relatively slow, usually, and that's when I get time to write.  And boy, would that Kirk-starts-a-revolution story would be huge to do it justice. Or maybe that's just me because I 'think' in big stories. It would surely be meaty, tho, and thoroughly satisfying, to read OR write. *eyes you back*



Author's Response:

LOL! Kirk-starts-a-revolution is almost the description of ST XI. XD But yes, I totally know what you mean. :P Still, if you ever want to explore the idea, I'll be happy to see the results. ;)

Reviewer: sundara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2009 8:08 PM Title: Too Long a Time

Bittersweet, oh so bittersweet.

Absolute Horizon? Is there more of this series somewhere? I confess to wanting to read until I, or, er, the characters (!) reach some sort of resolution :-)



Author's Response:

Absolute Horizon is the story that started the series, it can be found on FFN or Ad Astra. But it's chronologically earlier than any of these.

 

I'd really like some resolution, too, but instead we have the bloody Nexus. I'm figuring out its consequences still. ::sighs::

Reviewer: sundara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2009 7:45 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

Wow, I have a lot of respect that you wrote that...not sure I could have gone there to write it. It was painful enough just reading it. Intense, powerful, almost agonizing. Not a light little piece of fluff, that's for sure!



Author's Response:

No, not fluff. It was hard. I know it's a small consolation, but it hurt even more to write it than it is to read. I would have spared them that if I could. Given the storyline, I couldn't. ::sighs:: Thank you for reading.

Reviewer: sundara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/26/2009 7:43 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

You've certainly embodied Kirk's heartache and pain here...not sure how I feel about it. Too much? Hmm. It feels that way! But then again, we all feel that way when we're experiencing emotional pain...too much. In that, it's very very effective. I'm missing the pay-off at the end, tho, and hope to find it in the next piece. I'll suffer forever in a story, but I need to have that one little bit that makes it all worth it.

That said, your writing is very eloquent and rich, while not wordy. I like your style, intelligent, sophisticated, without being stuffy. Very nice.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much! Yes, on occasion I am being accused of writing a more emotional Spock than he's supposed to be or a more vulnerable and open Jim. That may be so, but that's the way I see them. I'm glad if it works for my readers, but I'm okay if it doesn. :)

Reviewer: sundara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2009 11:23 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

They were afraid of him. He was the one man who could, should he ever wish it, change the political landscape of the entire quadrant.

Mmm...I've always wanted to write that story. It would be fascinating to explore!

Meanwhile, this one is fascinating so far. Poor Spock...he can't win for losing. You've certainly captured the flavor of Jim's dispondency and restlessness from that era. I can't wait to see how you'll have it unfold.



Author's Response:

Thank you! And indeed, it would be a fascinating story to write. ::gives a Spock eyebrow:: Wanna go at it? ;)

Reviewer: kays Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2009 6:37 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

I normally only lurk around here, but oh boy, this one was REALLY touching, I just had to leave a review. The writing is brilliant, my heart is aching from the emotions that you conveyed in the story....(sighs) I relly hope you write more!



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm honored you de-lurked for me.;) I'm very pleased you liked the story.

Reviewer: littleninjakitten Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/25/2009 6:34 PM Title: Da Capo al Coda

That was one of the most heartbreaking things I've ever read.  You are such a talented writer.  Describing complex emotions is hard, but you did it perfectly and brought tears to my eyes more than once (not an easy feat).   It seems a shame that I can't give them more than five stars.



Author's Response:

Oh, thank you very much! ::blushes:: It is heartbreaking, and it was a pain to write. I'm glad it worked for you.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.