Reviews For Please Come Home
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Lady_Le_Fay Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/20/2017 9:16 PM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

Ok so I've just finished reading this and, oh my God, this is so good. So so good. Beautifully written and heartbreaking in all the right ways. 

While I believe that every Jim should end up with their own Spock, I admit that I have a soft spot for the Jim/Spock Prime pairing, as long as the author acknowledges that, as much as they love each other, they don't work. Because Jim wants his own Spock and no one will ever be able to replace Kirk Prime in SpockPrime's heart  That being said, they're kind of my guilty pleasure (don't judge me) so I really REALLY enjoyed the way you wrote them.

Jim's intentions are good and I admire him for his determination... but is it really surprising that Spock still has doubts about them when he's able to witness first hand his captain's loyalty and love for another version of himself? 

But like Jim said, he owes so much to Spock Prime and he does love him so abandonning him is out of the question. Basically I am glad that you brought Kirk Prime back because, honestly, I don't see their relationship working in the long term with Jim having that kind of devotion for Spock Prime. Seriously, the man was ready to risk his own safety as well as Spock's for him. How far exactly was he ready to go for that man? 

So yeah. I admired Jim and hated him a little just like I felt bad for Spock while feeling exasperated by his behavior so thanks for the conflicted emotions I guess ? XD

Also, can we take a moment to appreciate the sweet irony of Jim being jealous of Kirk Prime? Ahah, Jimbo, my poor sweet little boy, you never would have lasted a month in Spock's shoes XD 

"When you promise not to hurt me, I am not always certain which Spock you are protecting"

This line. This freaking line. Literally broke my heart. Smashed it into a thousand pieces. OUCH. It made me want to cry and hold Spock in my arms and yell at Jim for putting him through this. Also part of the reason I couldn't see their beautiful relationship last if they hadn't rescued Kirk Prime because, seriously, how much more could Spock take? 

Can I ask you something? Reading this, I can't help but truly wonder how far Jim is ready to go for Spock Prime. Let's imagine that SP had called Jim one day to tell him that he was going through his pon farr and that his mind wouldn't accept anyone but him. What would have been Jim's reaction? 

Ok, waou, this has turned into a long rant. Feel free not to answer :)

Again, thank you for this amazing story. Definitely one of my favorite!



Author's Response:

Hi! First of all, I just want to thank you so, so much for such a thoughtful and kind comment. It means so very much to me that people read and think about my fics in such a thorough way. 

This is such an interesting question, and proof that readers engage with my ideas in ways I never imagined (which is both awesome and terrifying lol). My perspective on Jim's devotion and Spock's jealousy was rather different, I think. Jim’s devotion to Spock Prime is, in my view, completely justified and Spock's jealousy—while understandable—is not. Spock Prime IS Spock. I think Jim understands that more intrinsically than either Spock does at the beginning of the story, but which I tried to show them both coming to terms with in the epilogue. 

What I saw as Jim's error was his willingness to ignore risks, to not give enough attention to Young Spock's fears and insecurities. I do think Jim's focus on his plan to rescue the other Jim prevented him from paying enough attention to his Spock. His tendency to leap without looking takes a toll on Young Spock, and Jim doesn’t deal with that enough. In such a strange, fraught scenario, it's Jim's responsibility to make sure that Spock does feel prioritized and irreplaceable, which he fails to do at certain times. 

But Spock Prime’s situation is so horribly tragic that I think it requires the young Jim and Spock to transcend normal relationship expectations. The alternative—Jim essentially abandoning Spock Prime when he no longer served a direct purpose in Jim’s life—is a level of cruelty that Jim Kirk can’t get to, at least in my mind.

So do I think Jim would go to Spock Prime if he was in pon farr and no one else could save him? Absolutely, and I think Young Spock would need to accept that. Again, what is the alternative—letting him die?

Jim chose Young Spock. He left Spock Prime and pursued a life with his counterpart. In light of that, I think Spock’s jealousy is excessive. There’s a lack of trust there—Jim has assured him that his love for Spock Prime is the same as his love for Young Spock, but Spock doesn’t believe him. I understand why he would struggle with that, and Jim definitely doesn’t do a good enough job reassuring him. But possessiveness and the absence of trust is not something I see as a positive in a relationship, which is why I tried to show Young Spock working through that.

I’m not sure if I’ve expressed myself well enough here, but that’s my best attempt! I really enjoyed thinking about this question and would be happy to discuss it more! Thank you so much again for being interested enough in my work to WANT to discuss it!! xoxoxoxoxo

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2016 7:03 AM Title: The Way Home

Ahh soooo cuuuttee! Lovely and warm. <3<3<3



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for a lovely and warm comment!

Reviewer: DeeGilles Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 11/30/2016 12:47 AM Title: The Way Home

Warm and fuzzy with notes of melancholy. Or perhaps this was melancholic with notes of warmth.  In any case, an exquisite blend of just the right elements, just the right tone. I always love the stories in which we get to see the depth of Spock's love for Jim.  Well done!  



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! This is a wonderful comment, it brightened my day!

Reviewer: Yohtan Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2016 7:13 PM Title: Coda: Please Come Home

Oh I just read the fic before this one and this was a surprise! Thank you. It was so lovely and cute. :D



Author's Response:

Oh, wonderful! I'm so glad you liked it. Thanks so much!

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/06/2016 4:57 AM Title: Coda: Please Come Home

A bit confusing, trying to tell whom from whom, but then I think I like it all mixed up! Come to think of it, Spock/Spock!Prime/Kirk/Kirk!Prime could be pretty hot... ;-)



Author's Response:

Thank you, my friend! I might try to clarify a little, you're not the only person to say that. But I agree—that foursome would be LOVELY. I've *never* imagined it before.... ::coughcough::

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/05/2016 6:28 PM Title: Coda: Please Come Home

Very sweet. I'm happy that you wrote a epilogue. Sometimes I was a little confused, if it was Spock or old Spock,Jim or old Jim...
(sorry my english is not sooooo good.)

LLAP
Sera

Author's Response:

Thank you so much! (And your English is great!) Yeah, that's a bit of a problem—I may go back in and try to make it clearer. Thanks so much for the comment!

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/04/2016 5:31 PM Title: Coda: Please Come Home

Absolutely perfect!

Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: nml Signed [Report This]
Date: 01/11/2016 10:39 AM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

Usually Jim/Prime is not my thing, but this was an interesting story, nicely written and I LOVE double happy endings - so kudos and thank you! :)



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! It's super flattering that you liked the writing enough to read a trope you don't usually like. Thanks a million!

Reviewer: urmeli2007 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2015 2:45 PM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

Ich bin glücklich !

Danke

Author's Response:

Bitte! Herzlichen Dank!

(I hope that's right—it's what Google translate gave me, but thank you so very much for reading and I'm glad the story made you happy!)

Reviewer: Ragdoll Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/27/2015 6:55 AM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

AnnaKnitsSpock!  At first I was confused because, like so many of us, you and I both use different pseuds for different mediums - your KS Livejournal post gave me the first clue, haha.  Although it wasn't until I looked at your profile that I put it all together.  Anyway, it was lovely to meet you at KisCon, I hope the holidays are treating you well, and I hope one day we can both enjoy another Con like the one in October!  I had a blast!

Sorry it's taken me a little while to review this - this season felt insanely busy working on my own advent fic combined with the normal shenanigans that happen this time of year!  But now that's all done I've been able to go back and enjoy some of the fantastic works that have been posted, and yours is one of them! :-) I, like you, share a love of gentle Spock Prime, seeing his years of experience, his wisdom and devotion to Jim coloring all that he does, and that shone through right away in your story.  Also, this line: "I think in many ways we are each a replacement for something the other desires" - I think that is very key to this whole fic, because it's clear to me there is love coming from all sides in this triangle (square? quadrilateral?!), but this line defines most clearly the motives of each involved.  There is a clear end-game, and everyone is aware of what it is, but of course Spock Prime would be the one to say it out loud. :-) I love his fearlessness, and his strength.  I always have.

Also, young-jealous-possessive Spock.  Is hot beyond words.  It's pretty hilarious how in the second part this tendency of his is something that's easily acknowledged as both unnecessary, sometimes cute, and sometimes irritating.  Exactly as jealously should be seen, hahaha.  And then Kirk Prime.  The feels!!  The whole story had a natural flow and shape to it, well-structured and enriched by dynamic characters who were multi-dimensional, and of course how could I not love the journey which ended in happiness for everyone involved?  Their jaunt into the Nexus was otherworldly, almost hazy and confusing at times, but I think that's the nature of dealing with an entity like the Nexus.  It almost reminds me of the Inception feel of the dream within a dream/within a dream. It was perfectly fitting (and almost leaves one constantly questioning reality, OMG!).  You're a natural, talented writer, and the whole thing was lovely, and I enjoyed it immensely.  Thank you for sharing! (And sorry for the long, rambling review. ^^;;)



Author's Response:

Ragdoll! I'm so sorry it has taken me so long to respond! I had SO much fun hanging out with you at KisCon and I too hope we get a chance to do it again! 

Please don't apologize for a long, rambling review! I love know what specific things people liked, and your words mean SO MUCH to me, since you know I revere your writing. I'm so, so glad you're writing in the fandom again! I have to catch up on everyone's stories, too—I can't wait to read yours!  

 

Thank you a million, billion times for letting me know you enjoyed this story. You are awesome!

Reviewer: AshayaTReldai Anonymous starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/23/2015 11:51 AM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

Great work, pal! 



Author's Response:

Thank you, friend! Couldn't have done it without you!

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/22/2015 3:20 PM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

Absolutely stunning work.
And you fixed EVERYTHING too. 

Frankly, I'm in awe. Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you SO SO much for your two amazing comments. This made me feel incredible, so thanks a million!

Reviewer: spock2U Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/22/2015 2:14 PM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

Stunning.



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, thank you!

Reviewer: conundrum1 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/22/2015 8:17 AM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

Thank you for this Christmas gift....I have been waiting a long time for someone to actually write this.



Author's Response:

Thank YOU for such a lovely review! I've been waiting to write it for a long time, so I hope I did it justice!

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2015 10:33 PM Title: Please Come Home (I'll Be Home for Christmas)

This is absolutely adorable. ;-)

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!!

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.