You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/10/2013 6:08 AM Title: Betwixt Man and Angell

Incredible story, but should NOT be read at bedtime.  The accompanying photos were an extra special treat!

~AKO



Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed the story—hopefully, with the lights on. :-) I've always loved horror, so it was great to be able to write some.

 

And, yes, finding pictures of the actual locale was a definite bonus.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/23/2013 12:35 AM Title: In the Season of Renewal

I am so deliriously happy I clicked the link on the home page.

And now I'm heartbroken because I want MORE!

(please?)

Is there a sequel?

~AKO



Author's Response:

So glad you enjoyed the story and that you'd like more.. which there is. :-)

The sequel is "Betwixt Man and Angell," here: http://ksarchive.com/viewstory.php?sid=936&warning=1

Reviewer: TechnoPoet Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2011 1:29 AM Title: Betwixt Man and Angell

Very creepy! It's about 2AM right now, and at one point I got up to turn on a lamp because reading a story like that and being unable to see anything but the computer screen is eerie.

I like the pictures, they added to the story. I thought the legend was fascinating - about five minutes after finishing the story, I found at least part of an online version of the Reverend's book - I'm sure it'd be the strangest thing on my summer reading list should I decide to read it.

I really enjoyed this story. :) The relationship between Kirk and Spock was written very well, and the descriptions of the settings and emotions are well-detailed and add a lot to the story.

Author's Response: Creepy was what I was aiming for, so I'm glad that was your reaction to the story. :-) The first time I read about Reverend Kirk, I knew I'd have to tie his story in somehow with our Kirk's. There's often not that big a difference between horror and scifi, so it was easier than I imagined. And, yes, his book should make for some strange reading—and inspiration, I hope. Thanks ever so much for reading and for the wonderful comments!

Reviewer: ForgottenOne Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/13/2011 6:28 PM Title: In the Season of Renewal

Aww, this was beautiful.  Honorable and dignified, the boys are in love and don't know quite how to tell each other, and it takes a meddling cousin to get them together.  I'm saving this one, if you don't mind.  Great job.



Author's Response: Thank you! I always try to keep their dignity intact; being the men they are, it's impossible for me to see them any other way. I'm happy to hear it worked for you. And as far as saving the story,how could I mind? :-) Thanks again for the really lovely comments!

Reviewer: spirk-sporked Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/23/2010 3:19 AM Title: In the Season of Renewal

I am writing this review to you at 2:12 am, in complete dismay with myself for staying up this long to read this story. Despite excessive fatigue, I found that I could not stop reading this fic. I believe that it would then make sense for you to assume that your writing is engaging and well thought out, and that it makes very tired people stay up later than they had originally intended. You could also assume that you took a risk with your plot, and succeeded quite well by keeping everyone in character, and not making it corny in the least. You can also assume that I am adding this to my favorites.

And with all of that said, I now say to you, a very defiant: GOODNIGHT.

-Spirk-Sporked >: )



Author's Response: I hope you got a good night's sleep after all that. :-) I loved hearing that you couldn't stop reading the story (lucky thing you didn't try going on to its sequel!) Thanks ever so much for the lovely comments. They are much appreciated!

Reviewer: Glitchie Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2010 10:45 PM Title: Betwixt Man and Angell

Um, oookay.... that one was just weird. LOL Not much else I can say about it. It seemed to me to go from Twilight Zone to Scooby Doo mystery. I'm glad Kirk was able to come back. Not sure if you're planning more like this, like getting Brian back, and I'm still not sure where Jessie fit into all of it either, but there were parts of it that were enjoyable for me.



Author's Response: I'll take the comparion to the Twilight Zone as a compliment but I've never seen Scooby Doo (doesn't sound good, though. *g*) I'm not so sure about a sequel. I think of it from time to time but nothing's happening. Maybe after I read the Reverend's book.

Reviewer: Glitchie Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/11/2010 12:26 AM Title: In the Season of Renewal

Ohhh..... Another good one!!! HEHEHE off to read the end.



Author's Response: Glad you enjoyed it. :-)

Reviewer: PolarStar Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/03/2009 9:05 AM Title: In the Season of Renewal

This sure is a beautiful story. Very good characterization and dialogue.



Author's Response: I'm glad it worked for you. And thanks for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: DianesLines Signed starstar [Report This]
Date: 07/02/2009 9:56 PM Title: Betwixt Man and Angell

I really enjoyed this story, but I'm disappointed that Jessica wasn't exposed as the two-faced selfish bitch that she is. Oh well, maybe Elise will write a sequel that will cover that! ;-D

Author's Response: I may just do that. She does need her comeuppance, doesn't she? It was nice to hear you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: omendreamer Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2009 4:56 AM Title: Betwixt Man and Angell

Ooo, atmospheric and creepy.  Lovely story-will definitely give me a twinge of unease when looking at the kids' Tinkerbell toys.  And as always with your stories, I adore the established relationship dynamic between Spock and Kirk.



Author's Response: It's always great to hear that a story made that strong of an impression...even if it's a creepy one. ;-) Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: Tonati Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/13/2009 3:13 AM Title: Betwixt Man and Angell

As much as I've loved all of the stories written by Elise Madrid, wow... this one is very special.

 



Author's Response: I'm so glad this story stood out for you; it really was a pleasure to write. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Reviewer: boruchcm Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/01/2008 9:54 PM Title: In the Season of Renewal

This story is a very nice alternative to what happened in TMP. This way Spock doesn't run off to Gol and Kirk catches everything in time thanks to Kirk's scheming cousin. I loved Kirk's line about how his "playing" by the lake had never been love before.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.