You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/05/2015 8:12 PM Title: Amid the Great Greys

Things had been a bit too idyllic, so I'm glad you gave the guys a problem to cope with.  I also liked hearing that there were more hybrids than there had been and that Vulcan society had changed and accepted them.  Nice work.

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 10:46 PM Title: Onto the Deep Blue

What a wonderfully clever idea for a new life for Kirk and Spock!  It suits them beautifully; I'm thrilled that you thought of this.  I wish the people who'd written the movies had your imagination!

 

Reviewer: WeirdLittleStories Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/13/2013 6:22 AM Title: Out of the Big Black

Lovely!

 

Reviewer: Bi trekkie Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/01/2013 6:21 AM Title: Out of the Big Black

I am waiting for how picatd meet and fell in love with a Q named Q

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 7:54 PM Title: Beneath the Azure Skies

What a lovely, lovely series.  I like the ending.  I picture kirk and Spock finding the perfect island for their family, their crew and I love the idea of Picard and Q sailing the seas (almost as much as I did the idea of kirk and Spock when they first came up with that plan).  This is such a positive series - leaves me feeling good and makes me wish that THIS was how TOS ended (or continued).  Thanks for writing this series.  I highly recommended it.

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 3:41 AM Title: Beside the Emerald Seas

I'm thinking about a story, shorter than these, in which the boys were conceived with a surrogate (Betazoid? Another telephathic race or mixture of both?).  Am I remembering right (or thinking of another author's story?  It would be on my old, unreliable computer (maybe).

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 2:57 AM Title: Beside the Emerald Seas

Holy cow.  Wow.  I never read this before.  I'd read the others, but never knew about this one.  It's wonderful.  It fills in some gaps I hadn't noticed existed.  Am off to re-read it.  Wow again.  Sorry if I sound like a 9 year old fan-girl, but wow (no offense to any 9 year old fan-girls out there).

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 2:13 AM Title: Onto the Deep Blue

This was every bit as good as the first story and even more exciting because we can see them begin their new life.  This is a wonderful idea - the two of them on a sailing ship in this new career with whales (nice tie in to the movie).  Sigh.  This is lovely.  I see a long night ahead of me as I read each story all over again (I find new things every time I read).  Chris

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/28/2013 1:01 AM Title: Out of the Big Black

Reading this story again is like meeting a beloved friend after a long separation.  It's wonderful from the very first word.

 All relationships are joyous, loving and the humor is just lovely.  The love-making is off the scale.  

Highly recommend this series, this author.

Reviewer: mapleshadechris Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/27/2013 10:17 PM Title: Amid the Great Greys

I am beyond excited that Rae Trail and her stories are here!!  I have been a fan for so long.  The Big Black series is my favorite and I have mourned the loss of downloaded copies of her stories when I change from one computer to the other or my computer crashes.  I am so happy to be able to write to this author and thank her for the many, many hours of enjoyment her stories have given me.  Every phrase, every plot, every story is a craft of art.  Characterization is detailed and in depth and spot on in accuracy.  World building is amazing - I want to live in the Big Black world.  Well, I get seasick so I would like to live in that world and visit these people when they are on land.  :)  Thank you a million times for your wonderful stories and I am so glad to see you here.  Best, Christina Horvath (mapleshadechris).

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2013 3:06 PM Title: Beneath the Azure Skies

Hurricane Yvonne was really frightening! I have never been on a sailing ship and I have never experienced a hurricane, but now I feel as if I had.

It was a beautifuly story and I was really sorry that it was the last part of this series. After I finished reading it, I kept on thinking about their lives, what they would do, if they would ever settle on land and where they would go. I even dreamed about them last night!

If you ever decide to continue this, I would love to read something along the lines of "Ten Years Later", because I just want to know the rest of it.

Thank you again for this wonderful series. I`m certain I will read it again and again, just like your other stories.



Author's Response:

You are a wonderful reviewer. Thank you. I hope you do continue to enjoy them. And a 'Ten Years Later' story isn't such a bad idea... let me think about that.

Very warmest regards

Rae

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2013 3:00 PM Title: Amid the Great Greys

This part was lovely and heartbreaking and sweet and I was so sad at the end. I felt with Jim, letting his sons go to Vulcan to learn more mind discipline, but I could so understand how hard it was for him to let them go.

Again, you original characters were wonderful, I would never have thought to meet a gay Romulan prince!

Jim and Spock having difficulties, just like any couple, made it all so very real.

It moved me very much.



Author's Response:

Again, I thank you most sincerely for your wonderful review. And, of course, there had to be a gay Romulan prince. It wouldn't be my trek world without one, LOL!

Best

Rae

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2013 2:55 PM Title: Beside the Emerald Seas

I loved this part so much! I loved that Jim and Spock have babies, and those two are truly delightful.


And of course only James T. Kirk manages to meet a minor Hawaiian deity!

I loved that Spock was so amused about the media circus. And their interaction was so moving, so loving.

Thank you so much for this.



Author's Response:

It's a real pleasure reading these reviews! I got a lot of heat for those babies the first time around, but I just thought Kirk would make such a great dad. And, of course, he is always getting into the most extraordinary trouble...

Best

Rae

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2013 2:49 PM Title: Onto the Deep Blue

I loved this part just as much as the first one.

The way you created all the original characters, gave them voices and faces, I admire you for that. They truly came alive for me, and the fit so well into the story.

This was delightful reading. Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thanks again! Original characters are always a stretch in fanfiction, and I try to write them so that they work well with our favourites. Love getting your reviews!

Best

Rae

Reviewer: jimali Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/02/2013 2:45 PM Title: Out of the Big Black

I wanted to take my time reading the whole series and finally managed a day off to read.

I read this part twice because it was so moving, so beautiful, I just wanted to read it again.

"Generations" was the one movie that never made sense to me - somewhere in the comments on this archive, a few readers agreed that it is simply not canon, because Spock would have gone after Jim and gotten him out. I still think he would have! :-)

However, I loved this story so much. I loved that Jim was younger, that he was only old enough to spend the rest of his lifetime wiht Spock. I loved that Spock wrote a book about what REALLY happened in those first five years (and wouln`t I like to read that!) I loved how Picard was so gentle with Jim, understanding his confusion and being kind and understanding. I even loved the pon farr, despite its violence.

And I loved that they decided not to stay in StarFleet.

You caught their voices so well, everyone`s voice in the whole story, and in my head it now really happened like this.

Thank you.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for responding. I'm sorry it took me so long to reply. I loved Spock's book, too - I'd like to write it. You have really made my day with this review.

Best

Rae

Reviewer: dfg Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/09/2013 7:37 PM Title: Beneath the Azure Skies

I really liked this series. But, the end of this story seemed a little open-ended for being the last one in said series. Kudos for good writing.



Author's Response:

Thanks for writing back. I wanted to leave it open, because I often like to play in other writers' worlds and so like to, if possible, leave an open end for others to play in my world.

I appreciate your compliment about my writing!

Best, Rae

Reviewer: Kiwigirl Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2013 10:14 PM Title: Beneath the Azure Skies

Love the story. I would have liked more interaction between Jim,Spck and their sons. We seem to have skipped 4 years of their lives. The boys were 4 when they were sent off to Vulcan, now their 8. I was hoping to read more of the reunion of Jim and his sons. Should be fun to see how Q and Picard take to sailing they are a great couple. I am a little confused how did Jim get to be reaching 70 i thought Q had made him young. Kudos to you lol.



Author's Response:

Ah! Thanks! I left the years out because I like to write in fanfic so that the reader can fill in whatever fantasy makes them happiest. I agree though, I should probably have put some of the reunion in there. As to Kirk being 70 - he's mentally and emotionaly seventy, but he's physically much younger. the Q just changed his body, not his Self.

thank you for writing back!

Best regards,Rae

Reviewer: AKO Signed [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2013 9:35 PM Title: Beneath the Azure Skies

Incredible.

Thank you SO much for sharing this~

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thanks for writing back, I love to hear that people have read and enjoyed!

Best, Rae

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/08/2013 6:32 PM Title: Beneath the Azure Skies

Dear Rea Trail,

thank you for this wonderful series.
I enjoyed every part very much.
It's funny that Picard and Q are comming to Spock and Jim and sail with them. A nice end.
Greetings - Sera

Author's Response:

Thanks, Sera! I'm pleased that you enjoyed this one too! Thanks for writing!

Best regards,Rae

Reviewer: Sera Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/07/2013 6:24 PM Title: Amid the Great Greys

Pffff....
How sad.

They would be apart.
It would be not easy for Jim and the rest of his family.

Waiting for more. Thank you for this wonderful story.

Author's Response:

Really, I am sorry it made you sad. I thought that the boys would be better with a little specialist help to overcome their difficulty. I know that Kirk will miss all of them - but the boys will have Spock with them, and that's good, and Kirk can throw himself into his work. As we know he will. Thanks again for writing back,

 

Rae

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.