Reviews For Spot
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 07/04/2016 8:36 PM Title: The Smell of Blueberry Pancakes

A deep, caring, tender story of befores and afters, of painful cuts and of the courage to go on and try to make a difference yet again. As always, splendid writing and thanks for sharing.



Author's Response:

You clearly got what I was getting at, angelocustode.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2016 4:03 AM Title: The Smell of Blueberry Pancakes

The horror of waking up and realizing that everything you had is gone. McCoy was suffering just as much. I'm glad that Spock reconsidered eating those blueberry pancakes. Having a memory of something that brings you joy and sadness at the same time is difficult. Perhaps, in this instance he's made peace with the sadness of that memory. I'm sure the moment he tastes those pancakes, he'll smile to himself and remember, the good times. Thanks for this my friend.



Author's Response:

Dealing with any loss is difficult.  Losing everything at the same time would shake the strongest individual.  We can tell by the fact that Spock is now an ambassador that he did find a plan for his life so he did recover, but the path he took would be interesting to know, wouldn't it?  Thanks, D, as usual for your comments

Reviewer: Jane Herrell Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/30/2016 2:08 AM Title: The Smell of Blueberry Pancakes

Lovely.

And heartbreaking. As usual.



Author's Response:

Thank you.

Reviewer: Logic_and_Reason Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 06/29/2016 6:17 PM Title: The Smell of Blueberry Pancakes

Well that ending tore me apart. I'm not sure what I was thinking not expecting that.

 

Great writing and a great story. Thank you!



Author's Response:

Thank you!  Hopefully next time I will have something happier.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/28/2016 8:56 PM Title: The Smell of Blueberry Pancakes

Some how this seems so right  an idea for the immediate aftermath of generations. Spock set adrift, the fleet changing and incomp conning to the fore. The line about having no idea what he was going to do just grabs you and encapsulates loss simply 



Author's Response:

Thank you!  I have kicked this idea around for a while, and this is the final of several derivations.  To me, losing Kirk would certainly set Spock adrift, and having him admit it to McCoy just made the idea that much stronger.  When faced with loss, I think a very normal initial response is to be overwhelmed and confused.  How do I go on without this person?  What does my life look like with out this person?  Spock may be Vulcan, but he is human enough to have a similar response.  Thanks again!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/21/2016 3:13 AM Title: The Smell of Blueberry Pancakes

It's amazing how certain smells can bring back memories. In this case we see Spock remembering a wonderful time between him and Jim where they both are enjoying a breakfast of blueberry pancakes and then that same smell of pancakes comes out of nowhere with devastating results. Poor Spock, what he must be going through. Looking forward to the rest of the story.

Author's Response:

I read somewhere once that the memory of smells is our strongest and most evocative response. That given, it would seem likely under the circumstances that blueberry pancakes would bring memories to Spock.  I hope you will like the last chapter which should be posted soon

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/20/2016 6:58 PM Title: The Smell of Blueberry Pancakes

Absolutely brilliant I am looking forward to th next chapter



Author's Response:

Thank you!  The next chapter should be up within the next week or so as I am proofing it now.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/21/2015 12:19 AM Title: All the Little Doggies

I feel really shocked by this fic. But it ireminds me of real life. Jim holding it together for the admiralmage and for the crew. This is the scene we never saw  those continuous points post death when the realisation that there is no return keeps hitting you. I'm glad that spot  was there to ease Jim's passage from Admiral to grieving bondmate and that he had McCoy to collect him. 



Author's Response:

Unfortunately, it is all very much real life that people must continue, even in the face of death.  It is easy but ineffective to beat one's head against the reality again and again, but it doesn't change anything.  In my mind, this is what Jim Kirk would do - continue on as the captain, the responsible person, even though every fiber of his being hurts.  But even heroes have limits, and sometimes grief is expressed because of other triggers.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 05/08/2014 4:23 PM Title: Interlude

So sweet, homely and warm! I love the confidence between the two, the ease with which they try to protect the other in little things like a night's rest!



Author's Response:

I'm sorry it's taken me so long to respond.  I thought I was getting notices for new comments, but I realized today I'm not getting all of them.  Thanks for your comments.  They are always appreciated.

Reviewer: curlybear Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/15/2013 11:12 AM Title: Spot Revisited

all your stories in this series are so adorable, i love them so much. and may i ask your permission to translate " all the little doggies" and "spot revisited" into Chinese? i just want to share them with my friends in China. i will try my best of best ,and i will respect all your requests and rights. look forward your reply. thank you sooooo much.



Author's Response:

Sorry.  I wanted to look up something before I responded and lost the location of your comment in the meantime.  Two of the stories in this series have already been translated into Chinese and published.  I will try to contact you by email to discuss this further as this involves the identity of a person operating in the archives.  Thanks for your kind words.

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 06/03/2013 10:04 AM Title: Spot Revisited

A lovely trigger for reconnection. 



Author's Response:

Thank you for reading and commenting.

Reviewer: nekoii-desu Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2013 6:25 PM Title: Spot Revisited

I must admit. Had I not been such a green-horn in this Star Trek fandom (woe, spare this child, who only discovered ST late in 2012) I would have known Spock was revived.

Had a through read through "The search for Spock" and about " fal-tor-pan" , just as the redness in my eyes are receding. u_u"

Spontaneous bonds! is a definite plus.

and having a proper appreciation of the 'between the lines' events that unfold outside TOS. I salute your creativity, and heart-wrenching emotions you pull from your readers.



Author's Response:

I'm glad you discovered these stories but regret you found them so sad.  Welcome to Trek fandom!  I have lived here for a very long time and really, really love the boys.  Thanks for your comments.

Reviewer: nekoii-desu Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2013 6:06 PM Title: All the Little Doggies

I literally silently screamed, 'I don't wanna' before clicking the link anyway.

and now. I really regret clicking it.

...

... Oh man. Never thought i would see a day I cried over a bloody fictional dog... damnit.

but very much like it was for Jim... it wasn't just about Spot.

Well, you'd know. you wrote it.

;_;



Author's Response:

Hey, what can I say?  Sorry, I guess.  If it makes you feel better, the dog was not entirely fictional.  She was mine.  You know the rest.

Reviewer: nekoii-desu Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2013 5:54 PM Title: Spot

What is with these bad omens??? O_O Was scanning through the stories in the series and I saw the words character death somewhere...

Aw man, I don't know if I want to continue with this. I'm sorry, it's not your, not your story... just your.... plot? Why so scarry??? I don't like sad stories...

Very interesting concept though, Spock going all hero-mode to save a wee lil doggie. Hehe XD



Author's Response:

I apologize.  I had missed your comment when it was posted.  Thanks for reading and commenting.  Hope you enjoy some of my other work, too.

Reviewer: nekoii-desu Signed [Report This]
Date: 04/20/2013 5:36 PM Title: Interlude

Hello there, I happened to stumble upon you on the left side bar of the main page :)

Interlude, I suppose, is an odd place to start reading. This piece feels very ominous for some reason.

Will check out the related series :)



Author's Response:

Hope you found the other three!  Thanks for reading.

Reviewer: AKO Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03/04/2013 6:35 PM Title: Spot Revisited

I can't even put it into words, except, Thank you!

~AKO



Author's Response:

Thanks, V.  I love this series and would like to write some more home life fic.

Reviewer: ironland Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 02/20/2013 3:54 PM Title: Spot Revisited

It is so sweet and tend, but ...poor  Spot, RIP. 



Author's Response:

Thanks for your comments.  I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: ivycross Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 01/27/2013 2:20 AM Title: Spot

Ooohh brilliant. The character voices were perfect and this was a nice fluffy piece that I needed. Curious about the next chapters. Great job.



Author's Response:

Thanks for the revieiw.  I'm glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: VCVZ Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/23/2012 7:30 AM Title: Spot Revisited

This chapter is much happier. It will be a lot of work to get past those blanks in memories, but so very worth it

Author's Response:

Glad you enjoyed the story.

Reviewer: Tydomin Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 12/21/2012 6:03 PM Title: Spot Revisited

I really love this series.  It is so tender and loving, the characters are just perfect and it feels so... right!  I wish I could be more expressive about this but it's just one of those stories where it's understatedly brilliant rather and flashy, and I wouldn't change a thing!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like the series, Tydomin.  Right now my plans are for future contributions to be stand-alones, but you never can tell.  Maybe something will pop up.  Thanks for your review.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.