Reviews For Homecoming
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: newaunty Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2013 10:26 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

Oh, thank heavens, you made it right in the end.  I was afraid this was going to end really sadly. 

I love this! I want to read more, all about adopting Lejiba ( were Spock & Kirk together then?) and having Grayson (love how you casually mention, "Spock had him," - I'm combining reviews here, I read Homecoming & went straight to Homecoming II - I want to hear about their decision to have another child, and his birth, and their challeges and his development - what will his telepathic abilities end up as?)

Your characterisation is spot on, you get them exactly right.  Your spelling and grammar are perfect (people who can't spell don't realize how important this is!) and you really know how to tell a good story. 

I hope you continue to write and post here.  Thank you so much for writing and sharing this beautiful story with us all.

 

 

Reviewer: newaunty Signed [Report This]
Date: 11/19/2013 5:20 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

I'm on chapter 1 right now, and this had so better have a happy ending! I loved Homecoming, don't you dare tear this family apart for good.

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/10/2013 1:12 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

“I am he who loves you. Go back to sleep, Jim. I am in the next room if you require any further assistance.”

guhhh

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/10/2013 12:59 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

I was halfway through a flustered explanation about the special type of cuddle daddies have sometimes when Spock pulled out of me, launching into a mini lecture about how the known majority of mature mammalian beings practice sexual intercourse for pleasure or procreation. He went on to describe in some detail to a fascinated Gray how various species of interest around the galaxy mated. It put me off sex for almost a week.


I'm absolutely dying laughing, also, imagining Spock relegated to the sofa for that little performance and griping about illogical human cultural taboos.

Reviewer: Farfalla Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2013 5:10 AM Title: Homecoming

I love how he was eating the octopus at the restaurant for revenge.

Also: "Fuck my head" has got to be the funniest "meld pls?" I've ever read. I was pretending it was Original!Them even though you said it wasn't, because I'm annoying like that, but that line was definitely Pine!Kirk :P

Reviewer: Hypatia Kosh Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/09/2013 4:18 AM Title: Homecoming

I attack a plate of garlicky grilled baby octopus with spiteful glee. She was sure it would give me a flashback and wanted to avoid a seafood restaurant altogether, but she's wrong and chewing on each and every sucker is a vindictive kind of justice that's as ridiculous as it is rubbery and delicious.

My favorite part. Farf is here and says it's awesome, too.

 

"Jim, I love you, very much and you've been a wonderful friend to me over the years, but I said this to you a long time ago and think it needs repeating: If you hurt Spock, I'll rip off your balls. Do we understand each other?"

 

Aaaaaand, cut. Great way to end a chapter.

Reviewer: PaintedBird Signed [Report This]
Date: 12/03/2012 5:58 AM Title: Homecoming

I really, really love this story.  It is so sweet and special.  I love the characterization of Spock as the patient, gentle father, and both of the kids are wonderful, too.  Kirk, of course, is stuck initially in that snarky adolescent attitude of his, but I really like how he grows into the relationship.  Well done!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/17/2012 10:57 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

Great ending to a great story.Thank you so much for sharing.

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2012 10:05 PM Title: Homecoming

I can't tell you how much I have enjoyed reading this.Let's just say I want to put this story somewhere safe in my favorites just to bring it out every once in a while and cuddle it.And there is a sequel! Thank you!

Reviewer: argona Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/15/2012 8:49 PM Title: Homecoming

I can't wait to read more of this great story.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/23/2012 9:46 PM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

These two stories are a celebration.

Thank you.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/23/2012 9:15 PM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

Dementia is dementia the Galaxy over--but not all families are this cool.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/23/2012 8:55 PM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

This sounds so much like a disease, and at the same time mechanical/technical. Oc neither excludes the other..nor the encroaching blackness.

Reviewer: oyboh Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/23/2012 5:20 PM Title: Homecoming

Read straight through--didn't review..oh golly, look--a pome!

No seriously, discourteous but complimentary. I fell into an Altered State. You have the gift of--what's a fancy word for "making you feel like you're right there"? (naah don' give me the ol' willing-suspension-of-disbelief--this is more)

Your Creature is terrifying.

Reviewer: murt Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 9:27 PM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

I loved this ..... Your writing is absolutely wonderful and I love that you explore the first person POV.

 

It's funny, normally I can very rarely accept that Kirk would contentedly live a life of domesticity as a desk-bound Admiral with Spock. If somebody had told me the premise of this story before I had read it - that Kirk would wake up missing 17 years of his memory, with most of his memories of captaining the Enterprise gone - and still decide to remain with Spock on Earth rather than trying again to captain a ship, I would have dismissed the premise as being completely OOC. I'm probably letting TOS Kirk influence the way I see Reboot Kirk too much, and I love that you implicitly considered the differences between them - especially when Kirk regresses back to a child and you describe him as hating space.

I'm still not sure if I completely buy Kirk accepting his new life so easily at the end of Homecoming I, but you made it work, and this story -- and your characterization of Kirk -- was amazing!! I love your original characters too - Gray & Lejiba were awesome, and Pui-Shan was annoying in a great way.

 

Thanks so much for posting it! I'm going back to reading it again now!

 

Reviewer: Scarlettmoon7 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 7:41 PM Title: Homecoming

Hi there,
I first read this on your lj, I think, and was blown away! Amazing writing and actually none cliche ending.
This story has stuck with me as few other have. It's not.... As obviously tragic as some stories, but when I thought about it I really really felt bad for Kirk. He wakes up with no memory and old. Yes, he has an amazing family life, but in his mind he's in his mid-twenties. I can relate. Everything he dreamed of experiencing and achiving.... It's no longer in his reach. He can't remember it so it's like it never happened. Sure he can read about it like in a story, but he'll never feel like he was captian. All the amazing friendships, beings, experiences, they're gone. And his youth has been taken. His body. He's old now (comparatively).
I see you have a sequel up... That's great! I hope it fixes everything!

Reviewer: magpie1600 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 8:13 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

I've just read these 2 stories back to back.  I cried and laughed at the end.  A perfect tale.  Thankyou

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 6:33 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

Such a wonderful story.  When Jim started to lose his memories again, it reminded me of early onset dementia, and how very horrible and painful it is for those left behind.  I wish it really could be cured by taking a dip in a pond on a faraway planet.  From that point on, the story flowed seamlessly, again capturing every voice accurately.  You managed to create new characters who seemed like old friends, particularly the children.  It might not have worked to explain how or why Jim's memory came back in detail, but I would like to know.  I love the story as it is though.  huge kudos.

Reviewer: cowgirl dressage Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 5:38 AM Title: Homecoming

Love this.  Spock is so patient and faithful.  Jim is scampering around the edges of their relationship.  Those kids were spot on!  Great job!

Reviewer: SORAL179 Signed [Report This]
Date: 08/20/2012 12:15 AM Title: Homecoming II, Electric Boogaloo

Unique and intriguing style of writing.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.