Reviews For Always Shall Be
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Another sky Signed [Report This]
Date: 07/23/2014 3:10 PM Title: Where No Man Has Gone Before

This series is unique and, to me, should be canon. This story in particular, lyrical and tonally definitive, has fabulous background and emotional structure. The voices are so clear they could be whispering in your ear 



Author's Response:

Wow, thank you! This episode is one of my favorites (how I love that they set up Kirk as not-entirely-straight from the outset, through his relationship with Gary that's so loaded with the unspoken) and I thoroughly enjoyed writing this. Also, it's the first K/S story I ever posted, so it has a special place in my heart! I'm so glad you enjoyed it, and thank you for taking the time to comment.

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/29/2013 5:57 AM Title: The Enemy Within

It's different, but I liked it a lot, great idea infact, retelling the story in the form of a log entry. And if it doesn't accomplish entirely your intents it certainly comes over as a lovely character study of Kirk. We see Spock through his eyes and through his heart and you manage to convey the warmth, the depth of his feelings, the awareness of having something so rare and precious in this friendship, the will to protect it and the thankfulness for the gift it is.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! One of these days, I really must get back to this series... Thanks for reading and for your kind review!

Reviewer: angelocustode Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/27/2013 7:24 AM Title: Where No Man Has Gone Before

I truely love the way you write Spock, his way of perceiving, the will to learn, understand, adapt to human ways of expression.

Looking foreward to reading more.



Author's Response:

Oh my goodness, my first ever Star Trek fic! It's a special thrill to see this one get a new review. Thank you so much - I'm so pleased you enjoyed it!

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/30/2011 3:03 AM Title: The Naked Time

Loved it, great job.



Author's Response:

Thank you very much!!!

Reviewer: Verdantjoy Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/29/2011 4:56 PM Title: The Naked Time

Another stunning creation!  I love your use of language. I hope you will attend KisCon 2012!!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! Yes, I'll be at KisCon 2012 - I can hardly wait!

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 4:35 PM Title: The Enemy Within

I liked the format!  There are one or two that would be great from Spock's individual log as well.



Author's Response:

It may very well happen! I love writing Spock's POV and he would be the most deliciously unreliable narrator....

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 4:23 PM Title: The Enemy Within

...so I googled Sonnet 20 because I don't remember them by number at all, and now I am going to imagine that Gary got equally drunk and wrote it there.



Author's Response:

YES!!! You Googled the sonnet? I officially love you for doing that. Sonnet 20 is just LOADED with slashy significance! Since Kirk doesn't remember it even happening, I never came to any decision about who wrote it there but Gary works for me!

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 4:16 PM Title: The Enemy Within

Wow.  Wow. Wow.  WOW.  That description of the sensation of the transporter.  Just. Awesome.



Author's Response:

YAAAAYYYY!!! I have a soft spot for that description because it's something I think a lot about (too much time on my hands? Quite possibly) and you're the first person who's ever loved it too! Made my day XD

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 4:03 PM Title: The Corbomite Maneuver

Also I love your dialog.  Often I have a hard time knowing where the script breaks off and you start (well, I haven't seen the episode in a long time either).  Do you use a transcript or video?



Author's Response:

Yay, I'm delighted to hear that I'm able to combine my writing with the episode writing! That's great to know, thank you! I usually only use the transcript if there's something I can't make out on screen (since the transcript doesn't tend to give the slashiest details, like the smouldering looks and the random touches) - I keep the DVD running in the background while I work and there's a lot of flicking back and forward between windows!

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 3:12 PM Title: Where No Man Has Gone Before

I'm usually not a big fan of present tense, but you rock it SO HARD in these stories.  Also I like your Gary a lot.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I'm not sure why K/S makes me write in the present tense, but I don't think I've written ANYTHING past tense with these guys! XD I'm glad you liked Gary - it's something I worked hard on, because he's not one of my favourite characters but I wanted to make sure that didn't get in the way of drawing him in this fic. Thanks so much for this review!

Reviewer: HybridTheory Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 10:35 AM Title: The Naked Time

Thankyou so much for posting this. I've been looking forward your take on this episode ever since I worked out that you were writing about each ep. in order and you didn't disappoint.

When I first watched this episode a year ago I laughed myself silly at Kirk bitchslapping a Vulcan while trying to restrain my urge to hug a very distressed Spock. Excellent take on this ep (I expected nothing less) providing us with a unique look at the motivations behind their actions. I especially enjoyed your take on Spock's run in with Chapel – his struggle with her emotions on top of his own. With his acknowledgement of how flawed and short-sighted the human race can be if it suits them. I hope he gets over her touching him like that (the last thing Spock needs is to be traumatised on top of everything else).

Also loved the glimmer of pain you mention in Spock’s eyes before Kirk slaps him for the last time. As well as a mention of Spock’s mummy issues and emotional issues to boot. I could keep going on but I think I’ve flooded you enough with my rambling on how awesome this piece and series is. *here is a life jacket*



Author's Response:

Wow - thank you so much for this! Reviews like this make my day! I'm glad you're enjoying the series - I'm REALLY enjoying writing it - and thanks for these lovely comments!

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 6:14 AM Title: The Naked Time

Such powerful words..my god where do you find your words. I am truly amazed how you can fill in the gaps we do not see and make it seamless. Brilliant beyond words....

Author's Response:

Aw... thank you!!

Reviewer: jat_sapphire Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/28/2011 3:11 AM Title: The Naked Time

I like your narrative voice!  Now I must read the other ones.



Author's Response:

Hurray - thanks!

Reviewer: Simone Allen Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 10/27/2011 8:23 PM Title: The Naked Time

lovely, utterly lovely.

Author's Response:

Thank you so much!

Reviewer: HybridTheory Signed [Report This]
Date: 10/14/2011 9:25 AM Title: The Man Trap

I've read all the stories so far and I'm loving it. You fill in the blanks of each episode giving them even greater meaning to the characters. You've managed to weave in new motivations for the character's actions seamlessly with the storyline and action within the given episode. The gradually building tension between Spock and Kirk is brilliant.

Please continue this series, I cannot wait for an update.

Thanks.



Author's Response:

Thank you so much! I'm delighted that you're enjoying the series - I'm certainly enjoying writing them! "Naked Time" is currently being beta'ed so I'm hoping to update again soon.

Reviews like this just make my day XD

Reviewer: ImperiousTiberius Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/18/2011 1:02 AM Title: The Man Trap

Another great addition to your Always Shall Be series.  I'd forgotten how funny that conversation on the bridge between Spock and Uhura was.  Kudos to both you and George Clayton Johnson.

When you alluded back to the events of the The Enemy Within in this instalment, I thought it was interesting that Kirk still seems most confused by the behaviour of his "good" side as he "stripped half-naked and waltzed across his quarters at a Vulcan", and not the blatant lust of the wolf.

I also loved your line about how Kirk relies on McCoy "to be the ship's conscience, and it's not helpful when the ship's conscience takes an emotional vacation in the middle of a mission."  That describes McCoy for me in a nutshell.

I can't wait for your take on The Naked Time.



Author's Response:

Thank you! I know - I *love* that scene on the bridge and I can't even take credit for it - that's all George Clayton Johnson, Leonard Nimoy and Nichelle Nichols magic!

My feeling is that the whole love story plays out like a romantic comedy (to borrow shamelessly from the producer of Star Trek XI): you take one step closer to the romantic leads working out what's going on, and then you go right ahead and frustrate the hell out of the audience by having them rationalize it all away again. I don't think Kirk's really in touch with how strongly he's attracted to Spock at this point, and Spock's just - well, Spock. They're both very good at finding ways of explaining to themselves why they've acted in a certain way, and I think that's kind of adorable. Right up to the point where I start yelling at the screen, "OH JUST KISS HIM, FOR THE LOVE OF GOD!"

And I am *sooooooo* enjoying writing The Naked Time.

Thank you for this lovely (and thoughtful) review!

Reviewer: Bastet Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09/16/2011 2:27 AM Title: The Man Trap

liked it liked it liked it :)

Reviewer: phamtonsnow Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/15/2011 3:31 PM Title: The Man Trap

Great story,unique

Reviewer: Dahliaxat Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 09/15/2011 11:00 AM Title: The Man Trap

Great job, you are truly amazing how you can fill in the blanks to what we had not seen and add dialogue to what they are thinking. Great job, loved it..can't wait for the next episode you do..

Reviewer: HybridTheory Signed [Report This]
Date: 09/12/2011 7:35 AM Title: Where No Man Has Gone Before

WOW. I'm really loving this series and I hope you continue with it -- I'm off to read more.

No results found.
You must login (register) to review.